Why read.cash Should Rethink Their "Non-OC" Stamp of Shame on Articles that Don't Pass Copyscape

47 118
Avatar for BetterCallPaul
3 years ago
Topics: read.cash

First of all, I know that the plagiarism syndication algorithm used here is not Copyscape (TM), but I was running out of space and they actually DO show the writers a Copyscape report, so..

Secondly, I understand that this process is automated, but the automated tool is still something that was, at one point, manually chosen as the tool to use.

The idea for this quick article came to me as I was huffing and puffing about failing the copyright check for an article of mine that I republished.

Oh, I completely understand it, and I'm not going to fight anything to have it verified. I can just rewrite the article in way less time than it would take to challenge such. My issue was that readers who see "Non-Original" on it may immediately think that I am stealing articles, at which point, my reputation would be irreparably harmed and then it's a whole other ballgame.

My thoughts -- read.cash, if things are going to continue like this, perhaps instead of marking "NON-OC," you should just leave it blank and keep the "OC" on the ones that the filter allows. You are attaching legal jeopardy to your company by opening yourselves up to a defamation of character claim.

Understanding Legal Liability and Defamation

So, just by the very nature of what we do here, the applicable laws are the federal Copyright Act and the DMCA, which amended the Copyright Act for the "digital age."

Under these laws, the second someone published something, they are able to assert copyright protection over it. This means that the publisher has full control, at least legally speaking, of where, how, and in what manner it is published.

However, the current state of the read.cash "original content" checking system brings some serious concerns for all of us who publish on this platform.

Defamation, per se

In the situation above, where my article was flagged as being plagiarized syndicated because I republished my own work on the read.cash platform, a brightly-colored notification clearly lets anyone who accesses the article see "NON-OC: Syndicated.... Syndicated or Non-OC.

This immediately indicates to the reader that the article has been stolen or plagiarized copied from someone else.

As a freelance journalist, my reputation for honesty and integrity in my writing supersedes anything else. If my work is stolen, then my readers will not stay readers for very long.

However, in this instance, my work was not stolen. It was my own work, and I can prove that beyond a reasonable doubt.

This means that read.cash's actions in applying a false statement of possible plagiarism syndication to the VERY TOP of my article will have a *detrimental effect on my reputation as a writer, from which I derive close to 65% of my income (thanks to DavidRAllen for catching this one*)

In order to be held civilly liable for an action, that action must be the "proximate cause" of whatever damage the party bring the suit alleges.

So, by their actions of implementing this terrible "originality check," new and long-time readers of my blog now have the thought running through their heads that I am a plagiarism-friendly writer.

This means that I will be looked over for freelance gigs and will likely be put on a master list of plagiarizing journalists, like Pete Buttigieg or Melania Trump (this is said in jest, of course)

Now, just saying that I plagiarized republished a syndicated article is not the problem when it comes to liability. The problem is when that statement is made and it is knowingly false.

For example, once I received notice that my article was flagged as Non-OC, I contacted read.cash and offered overwhelming evidence that the content WAS original.

Their answer was, pretty much, "Sorry, nothing we can do. Live with it."

This means that they were made aware of the error, given an offer to prove that the material was original, and they discarded this and decided to go ahead and leave the offending "NON-OC" label on this article.

Defamation (libel, in this case) is false written statements that cause harm to one's reputation.

By leaving this "non-OC" flag on top of the article for all to see, and then refusing to correct it once evidence of the contrary was proven, read.cash is now knowingly defaming me, and likely many others.

Key word here is "many others," at which case not only one action could be brought, but a large class action suit would be the likely vehicle.

I want to make it clear that I do not intend to sue over this matter. I love this platform, but as a legal professional, it is my duty to inform when I see something going on that could negatively affect a platform upon which I perform professional tasks (write articles). I do not want to see this happen, and it is my hope that those behind read.cash will read this article and realize that there is a very, very simple solution to this problem that does NOT open them to liability, but at the same time, does NOT defame writers in doing so.

The Solution

I fully understand the need to ensure that the platform is not made up of a bunch of stolen material. However, with read.cash being a platform for others to publish, the DMCA exempts them from legal action when others post pirated or copyright-infringed material.

So, the answer here is simple....

Read.cash needs to fully understand the implications of leaving this "NON-OC" tag active.

Here's my proposed solution:

  1. If an article does not pass the "similarity" test, then a notification screen should let the writer know so he can take steps to figure out the problem if the software caught it in error. Read.cash already provides such a screen that is only visible to the writer. This is perfect and should remain.

  2. To fix the issue of defamation, read.cash simply needs to omit the bright orange "NON-OC" statement that appears on articles that fail the test. On the flip side, for the articles that do pass, there's no problem leaving the "OC checkmark" on the byline. This is a simple solution that can be easily fixed and will solve this entire problem.

If It's So Easy, Why Hasn't This Been Implements?

Honestly, I don't know. Perhaps those behind read.cash were unaware that doing this would cause harm to our reputations -- for those of who have had the scarlet letters of plagiarism the syndication warning placed on our ads without reason.

The solution is literally so, so simple; and it does not require read.cash admins to give up the plagiarism syndication detection tool that the

Now, I have read all of the posts from read.cash explaining their reasoning behind using the plagiarism syndication checker in the first place. Once of these articles had a role-played hypothetical scenario where someone who wasn't the author tried to take credit for the author's work by making a similar-looking user ID.

Keep in mind, this didn't actually happen. It's a hypothetical, and it's so flawed in it's logic, here's why....

  1. Option A: Remove the bright orange "NON-OC" tag for articles that don't pass the originality scan. It would be completely fine from my point of view to leave the "OC" tag on for articles that do pass the scan, as those do not degrade those who did not pass the plagiarism syndication scanner, overwhelming.

  2. Option B: Do nothing and continue marking original content as plagiarism plagiarism by relying on an algorithm that cannot even differentiate between stolen content and republished content by the same author, which is the case here.

    The choice is simple. With option A, there are no bright letters reading "NON-OC," which results in zero damage to the author's reputation, meaning that doing this would eliminate the liability exposure that this tool has caused.

It is my hope that the read.cash crew reads this article and fully understand where I am coming from. My hopes are that they will initiate a fix to this thing, whether its scrapping it altogether or just preventing the orange "NON-OC" from the post's screen, which is the sole cause for the damages I have mentioned in the above article

I love this platform and I want to see it grow, so please understand that I write this article with the best of intentions, and those intentions are to stop seeing people from getting penalized and their reputations defamed.

That's all I've got for now. I'd love to read some comments below.

UPDATE: My article inadvertently caused a "flame war" (not my characterization) between myself and the owners of the platform.

I wanted to offer some sort of irrefutable proof that even "syndication" is not an appropriate characterization, since syndication is defined as "

  1. the transfer of something for control or management by a group of individuals or organizations

Which is not what is taking place here, at all.

So, how shall I do that, I thought?

Ahh, that should do it.

If you're not certain what the above screenshot represents, please read the "NOTE FROM AUTHOR" section that I have published at the end of my version of this article on that platform.

If you think that I have manipulated the image into saying that, well....

https://www.publish0x.com/better-call-paul/bitconnect-a-classic-cryptoscam-xlodom

.....there's the URL.

Peace.

UPDATE: Read.cash, after receiving complaints regarding the Non-OC tag from way more users that just me, have published an article explaining that they will implement the suggestions made in this article -- that is, they will be removing the "non-OC" tag from articles that don't pass, but will leave the OC and checkmark on articles that do pass.

I commend them for making these changes, and for being fluid enough to listen to the views of others. Great job, guys!

14
$ 0.67
$ 0.50 from @DavidRAllen
$ 0.15 from @Articulator
$ 0.02 from @Koush
Avatar for BetterCallPaul
3 years ago
Topics: read.cash

Comments

This nearly cause a war and I was missing it 😂. Removing the Non-OC is the more elegant solution indeed. On the other hand the OC label is a bonus for your readers to see a post is originally written for Read.cash

$ 0.00
3 years ago

o nothing and continue marking original content as plagiarism by relying on an algorithm that cannot even differentiate between stolen content and republished content by the same author, which is the case here.

Again, a lie. Show me one place where it says "plagiarism" or "stolen" in any label applied by read.cash.

Even the linked article has a section called: "But, I have the rights to copy that article!"

$ 0.02
3 years ago

I have stricken the words "plagiarism" and "stolen" to replace with "syndicated/syndication" and "copied." See, I am willing to make changes to my work based on your objections. Why aren't you willing to make changes to the platform in response to our objections?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Again, my purpose here was not to debate the process with you, it was simply to show how this could blow up. I made it perfectly clear that I am not the one who would take any further action.

I offered this as an opportunity to improve the platform.

How about this? I will go back through this article and change every instance that you had a problem with to reflect what you have said here in the comments? I will do this later tonight.

I don't want to be at odds with anyone, here....I was simply offering up a solution to the problem instead of just complaining about it like I have seen on here. I even made sure to say:

"It is my hope that the read.cash crew reads this article and fully understand where I am coming from. My hopes are that they will initiate a fix to this thing, whether its scrapping it altogether or just preventing the orange "NON-OC" from the post's screen, which is the sole cause for the damages I have mentioned in the above article

I love this platform and I want to see it grow, so please understand that I write this article with the best of intentions, and those intentions are to stop seeing people from getting penalized and their reputations defamed."

...and I still became the target of your ire.

I am not going to unpublish this article, but I will definitely make the changes that you have pointed out.

Can we come to a truce here?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Earlier today I responded with "Seems like a week ago now. I come back to a wall of discussion and realize I need to read all of the responses and see if I can figure out where things went off the rails."

So then I decided to run a little test before I came back to read the discussion. I went to my old Medium account (I have not used it for a long time but it still exists) and I grabbed the first thing I had posted on Medium and posted it here. There was no warning of a violation of the rules, so I could not see the problem in the same way as the OP had described it.

Then back here to read the thread. And OMG.

THIS type of communication problem is exactly where I hope we can find some common ground.

First, I am a sponsor (not for a huge amount) of Read.Cash and have been a fan since opening day. The ideas that created the original yours.org, honest.cash and led to Read.Cash are brilliant, and Read.Cash has been very open to suggestions and logical changes.

I read the article by BetterCallPaul and something resonated for me. I had been talking to a Bitcoin Cash supporter who had been publishing here, but decided they would no longer do that, because of the "Syndicated or Non-OC" message that appeared. He explained that he didn't feel he was being heard, was loosing his reach and moved back to publishing on Medium.

I am no longer a fan of Medium and being forced back to reading on Medium was simply annoying. Having had direct contact with the owners of Read.Cash, I thought that there must be some kind of misunderstanding so decided to keep to my own business.

That was until BetterCallPaul posted this article and I happened to be one of the first readers and posted a small tip and a suggestion for an edit as something was obviously missing. I tipped the article because it was addressing something that was not very well understood, and I expected a fruitful discussion might take place and something very positive would come out of it. I still do.

When I read the comments just a few minutes ago a FLAME WAR ensued with the usual taking sides and stronger words then would leave openings for reconciliation. At this point who is right and who is wrong is not even on my radar.

My experiment showed that I could not recreate the original problem, but the original poster, BetterCallPaul was now "over the edge" and Read.Cash who had become defensive, perhaps rightfully so, while pointing to what seemed like the most obvious explanations.

Is there a simple solution for each of the problems noted by BetterCallPaul, Read.Cash or my contact who moved back to Medium? Probably not, as anonymity has more value for some than the name you were given by your parents or partner. Will it get sorted? Yes, it will.

It is very important that we keep an open mind to realize that everyone makes mistakes, communicates imperfectly, and there is always room for improvement. I have proven to be a master of all three.

$ 0.10
3 years ago

read.cash needs to read your comment. I have been supportive of this platform since I started here, absolutely loved it...

And then I got attacked for daring to speak out against dear leader.

They should not have attacked one of their users via comments just for sharing my frustrations...it's ridiculous.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, this is why I said....

"It is my hope that the read.cash crew reads this article and fully understand where I am coming from. My hopes are that they will initiate a fix to this thing, whether its scrapping it altogether or just preventing the orange "NON-OC" from the post's screen, which is the sole cause for the damages I have mentioned in the above article

I love this platform and I want to see it grow, so please understand that I write this article with the best of intentions, and those intentions are to stop seeing people from getting penalized and their reputations defamed."

....before I got attacked to high heaven.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Let me quote a definition first: "Defamation is the oral or written communication of a false statement about another that unjustly harms their reputation and usually constitutes a tort or crime."

In your case the statement is true. The statement says, exactly: "Syndicated or Non-OC". You admit yourself that the article was syndicated (previously published and now copied). Therefore this can't be defamation, because it's truthful.

Now, having said that, you do realize that you admit you know the rules, yet you insist on breaking them.

Then you are seriously twisting things and yet you're claiming that we are defaming you.

brightly-colored notification clearly lets anyone who accesses the article see "NON-OC: Syndicated...."

It says specifically (exact wording): "Syndicated or Non-OC", not "NON-OC: Syndicated" as you claim. This actually can be a defamation of read.cash, because it's a false statement on your part, because it's false AND unjustly harms read.cash reputation.

Hovering over, it says: "(This article or its parts have been previously published on the Internet)" This again is a truthful statement.

The same label is on bottom: "Syndicated or Non-OC content (This article or its parts have been previously published on the Internet)"

It says nothing about being plagiarized.

Their answer was, pretty much, "Sorry, nothing we can do. Live with it."

We've written an extensive multi-page explanation here under "second issue". We link this to everyone who asks. It took us hours to write. To dismiss it as "Live with it" and then claim libel is beyond my understanding.

You don't have to live with this label - you can delete an article with 3 clicks: "Edit article", "...", "Delete article". Poof, all gone. It's not like we're sneakily applying this label - we're sending you a notification as soon as check is done.

We can't show a label before you publish, because it's expensive for us to test this and it's really slow process. We can't do it in real-time. If you are ready to pay $0.05 each time you hit "Save" - sure - we can implement it. But for us it's $0.05 100 articles per day 30 days = $150 for each check. If users will try 10 times each article - it would be $1,500 and that number will grow and grow and grow.

The bigger question is why do people think they need to copy their article to every possible site they can get into?

Oh yeah, and when they gave me the source link to the supposed article that I plagiarized

Again, this is a lie, nobody nowhere states anything about "plagiarism".

"Ugh, the censors flagged my article "

Again, twisting the truth. It's not a manual process, it's automated.

This means that they were made aware of the error, given an offer to prove that the material was original, and they discarded this and decided to go ahead and leave the offending "NON-OC" label on this article.

We are not applying it manually. It's an automatic process. Parts of article found - "Syndicate or Non-OC". It's not defamation, because it's true.

Now, let's talk about how many times have you provided provably false statements here that harms read.cash reputation, which is, by definition - a defamation...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Again, I've stricken "plagiarism" and "stolen" to read "syndicated" or "stolen." I will also change "NON-OC: Syndicated" to "Syndicated or Non-OC" to be accurate.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The bigger question is why do people think they need to copy their article to every possible site they can get into?

This isn't your concern...I was trying to paste my article on TWO sites...this one and another one. Are you going to further defame by claiming I "need to copy [my] article to every possible site..." because this is not true in my case AT ALL.

Why would you not just decide to remove the NON-OC to stop all of this? Leaving the "OC" on verified ones and simply leaving the "OC" off of the ones that failed.

As I said, it's not your concern if someone wants to publish their article in 300 different places. It's THEIR article. THEIR Copyright. THEIR property.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Show me one thing I said that was false. You are the one engaging in the offending behavior. Pointing that your actions are harming to my reputation is NOT defamation of your own reputation, because you are the one partaking in this activity. Whether it's manual or not, that doesn't save you from a claim.

Why are you getting so defensive? Please re-read my article, particularly this:

"It is my hope that the read.cash crew reads this article and fully understand where I am coming from. My hopes are that they will initiate a fix to this thing, whether its scrapping it altogether or just preventing the orange "NON-OC" from the post's screen, which is the sole cause for the damages I have mentioned in the above article

I love this platform and I want to see it grow, so please understand that I write this article with the best of intentions, and those intentions are to stop seeing people from getting penalized and their reputations defamed."

So, why wouldn't you want to fix something that so, so many of your users have been harmed by, instead of saying that I have provided "verifiably false" information without giving any verification of the same....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

By definition, plagiarism is the taking of something that was published somewhere else and republishing it. My point here wasn't that you were saying it was plagiarized, but that READERS would INTERPRET the "non-OC - syndication" as plagiarism AND that by telling me my article is non-original, that effectively equals plagiarism.

It's really jarring that read.cash is more worried about fighting me on this instead of simply fixing the buggy software.

Whether the process is automated or not, the software didn't just automatically appear and start marking things as "syndicated."

By saying "the censors flagged my article," I'm not saying that this is a manual process. I understand that it is an automated process, but it is an automated process that you guys initiated.... so, it's still your doing, whether it's manual or not.

Why are you so interested in degrading my article because it is critical of your processes? Funny that you're the only commenting person with any problem with my article, while the rest of the comments are from people praising me for finally saying something about it.

What's next? Are you going to ban me from the platform for speaking my mind?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We've written an extensive multi-page explanation here under "second issue". We link this to everyone who asks. It took us hours to write. To dismiss it as "Live with it" and then claim libel is beyond my understanding.

I emailed your tech people the first time I received the warning, and the response was literally, "sorry, it's an automated process, nothing we can do."

That translated to me as "Sorry, nothing we can do, live with it."

Anyone besides read.cash disagree with my characterization?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I praise you finally said it. I too faced that issues. Upvote this article who else faced the same problem.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So, here's what put me over the edge....

I went to put up the article I posted yesterday, and it gave me the non-OC tag, telling me not only that I stole it, but that I stole it from a syndicated source....

Then, when you ask for more details, it gives you the original article that they are saying you infringed copyright protection for.

The link they pointed me to way for the exact same article on MY blog. LOL. I couldn't take it anymore.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So am I not supposed to write the same article across various blogging platforms? I see some prominent authors do that without getting flagged, not sure how though.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If you see somebody doing it - please hit the report button. Avoiding copy-paste detection is a bannable offense as described here.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

According to read.cash, if their software detects that your article is a copy of another article, it will flat it and tell the world you are a plagiarizer -- no matter if you can completely verify that you are who you say you are. Now, in the real world, once you hit "publish," you have copyright protections. It's up to you to make decisions about where your work is allow to appear. There's a simple fix , wish they would do it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It will be interesting to see where this goes!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I support the idea of having a bright shining 'original content confirmed' instead of a bright shining 'syndicated content'. If both need to remain, then at least I would phrase it like 'possible syndicated content', so people know, that this is not a 100% terminal statement.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Exactly. Doing it this way doesn't defame the writer who received the non-OC rating from the software, and it gives recognition of those who passed. This is the only logical choice for this issue, because as it stands now, someone is eventually going to try to litigate this, and if the negative "non-OC" label (it's like The Scarlet Letter, really) damages the reputation of the person, then negligence can be proven and damages easily won. I'd hate to see that happen here, which is why I am trying to offer up alternative solutions.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Edit Suggestion: This means that read.cash's actions in applying a false statement of possible plagiarism to the VERY TOP of my article will have a... “Detrimental effect” ?

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Awesome catch, man....haha. I was fired up while I was typing this...apparently my brain got ahead of my keyboard skills right at that moment. Anyway, corrected, and I shouted you out*!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Seems like a week ago now. I come back to a wall of discussion and realize I need to read all of the responses and see if I can figure out where things went off the rails.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Did you read the recent article on the read.cash blog that explains that they are going to implement exactly what we discussed here? I added the update to the bottom of the article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

UPDATE: Read.cash, after receiving complaints regarding the Non-OC tag from way more users that just me, have published an article explaining that they will implement the suggestions made in this article -- that is, they will be removing the "non-OC" tag from articles that don't pass, but will leave the OC and checkmark on articles that do pass.

I commend them for making these changes, and for being fluid enough to listen to the views of others. Great job, guys!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

don't worry brother read cash will fix this kind of problems soon , i think they work hard for all members

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope so, but the responses I have received from them when I first inquired about this problem was not very encouraging. It should not matter if I "copy and paste" my own article or whether I type it. I hope they see the danger in continuing to do this, especially if a more litigious person were have their reputation hurt in this manner.

All I want them to do is remove the "NON-OC" tag. That's it. Everything else can stay the same....the problem is that this is the first thing people see when they get to an article, immediately giving the first impression the writer has plagiarized something in the article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have deleted this comment because read.cash fixed this issue. I cannot, therefore, leave up a comment that does not reflect the nature of the situation.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The major problem is that immediately you "copy and paste" to the content page for your article, the software registers the article as plagiarized one. As soon as you publish your work, "NON-OC" is put on it. Well, many writers are facing this issue as you said; but I believe read.cash will do something on it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No, it's not how it works. Our software looks for copies of the article on the Internet as soon as you hit "Publish". It has nothing to do with the actual "copy-paste" being pressed. Second, it doesn't mark article as "plagiarized", but as "syndicated".

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No, it does not mark it as "syndicated." It marks it at "Non-OC -- Syndicated."

The fact that you guys are more concerned with protecting your own mistake instead of simply fixing the "NON-OC" tag.

You realize your software told me I was publishing my own "syndicated" material, right? The material you claim was syndicated was NOT syndicated at all....the only other place it was published was on my own personal blog.

This is NOT syndication.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You miss my point. It doesn't matter what the software registers. It's the giant "NON OC" tag on an article that truly is my original content, and I can prove it. It effectively tells my readers that I am a thief and that my story is stolen.

This damages my reputation on a venue where I make part of my living. That opens read.cash up to liability for negligence, as I made it clear that I could provide any evidence they needed -- Oh yeah, and when they gave me the source link to the supposed article that I plagiarized, guess where it took me....?

Why, to the exact same article on my Publish0X blog that I had just edited and re-published here. They told me I was stealing my own s%#T.

The fix is simply....mark the OC ones with a tag that said "OC Verified" and leave the ones with a blank in that spot.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They told me I was stealing my own s%#T.

Show me where we said the word "stealing"... for a person claiming libel you provide tons of verifiably false statements.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have edited my article to strike out "plagiarism" and "stolen" and replaced with "syndicated" and "copied." I hope you realize my goal is to solve a problem, not to cause one. I have no problem making edits where you guys have objections, as long as the objection is valid.

Which is exactly the same spirit I hoped you would take my article in.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No, no....plagiarism by definition is stealing. When you say that I took something from syndication and I did not, that's effectively stating that I stole something. Please don't get defensive here, I am simply trying to make this a better place.

How about this...

Show me one thing I said that was "verifiably false."

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well I don't like Non OC label either. But I hate copycats more. And I hate the rubbish on Uptrennd and places too (10,000 rose articles is boring with one badly worded paragraph) . :) I had one incident with the copy and paste because I forgot about it. And like you I was C&P my own work. Now I know about it I avoid it. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, I avoid it too.

The reason I wrote this article was that I went through the process of deleting my old article from the other platform JUST so that I could post here.

Didn't matter, the software still flagged it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah I would just keep the old articles up. No need to take them off your other platforms. Have a few is good for bloggers of all shapes and sizes :) Keep up the great work!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The point is that they could get their point across by simply leaving the OC Verified tag on those that did pass while leaving the text off of those that did not pass. I offered this as a temporary solution to be implemented until a better system of checking can be implemented and the improvements made. This would solve all of these complaints. Why are they unwilling to make such a simple change, but have the audacity to tell me how easy it is to delete/unpublish my article?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah I agree with that idea. Seems a common sense approach to resolving the issue. I am sure that will think about it. Based on what I have seen in this official posts. Seem open to changes and improvements.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Read their responses to my article, though, and the "open to changes and improvements" feeling that I originally thought was also their attitude will disappear. Their responses calling me a liar kinda dispel any hopes I have that they will change it.

Oh well, I'll deal with it....but I hope they don't expect us to be quiet about it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah but sometimes it just takes a while to mull over. You have made your points and they will no doubt take it into consideration on this issue. Maybe a few words triggered, and some misunderstandings. I would just focus as I know you will on writing some great posts and helping make this platform the best darn one :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They actually called me a liar in the comments. I don't think that means they are open to fixing this issue.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah I did see that. Hopefully things settle down. I do think they will keep it mind tho. Look forward to your next post!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So, here's how it all started....

I wrote an article, and in the comments of that article, someone said that they would like to see someone write about the BitConnect scam on read.cash; that read.cash was the perfect platform for such an article.

I concurred and remember that I had already written a very well-received and popular article on Publish0x about the BitConnect scandal.

So, I knew about the "syndication checker" tool here, so I heavily modified my original article.

It got flagged. In the notice they show us but not the readers, it noted that it matched another article, and gave me the URL for that article.

The URL was to my own previously posted article on Publish0x.

So, I went back and unpublished my article on here, then I went over to Publish0x and deleted my article.

Re-wrote the article on here.

Nope, it still got flagged, despite the fact that I had just deleted the other article, removing it from publication.

That's when I decided to write this article.

It was supposed to be constructive -- a suggestion -- a complaint -- from a user of the read.cash platform.

I even said this:

"It is my hope that the read.cash crew reads this article and fully understand where I am coming from. My hopes are that they will initiate a fix to this thing, whether its scrapping it altogether or just preventing the orange "NON-OC" from the post's screen, which is the sole cause for the damages I have mentioned in the above article

I love this platform and I want to see it grow, so please understand that I write this article with the best of intentions, and those intentions are to stop seeing people from getting penalized and their reputations defamed."

Did that matter?

Nope.. I got absolutely crucified for daring to speak out.

So, after reading what read.cash had issue with, I went back into this article and struckthrough the parts that offended them and replaced the stricken words with the words that they preferred.

Hopefully this stops the animosity. My intention was to point out the fact that it is dangerous for them to do this, because someone could bring suit against them and win. I made it clear that I did not have the gumption or desire to do this. I simply wanted to give them this input as a way to improve the platform.

I never thought I would receive the reaction I did.

Imagine if the people behind Medium were to attack a user in the comments of his article whenever that someone attempted to make critical suggestions to improve the platform.

And now I am worried they will try to suspend my account or ban me because they have stated that I "knew the rules and decided to break them anyway" by posting my own article here.

Pray that doesn't happen....I love the articles here, I love the people here, and until this interaction, I have absolutely loved the staff here.

$ 0.00
3 years ago