Things That Make Me Happy

7 22
Avatar for Betha
Written by
1 year ago

I came across a question that asked what makes me happy. And as soon as I read it, I realized that it is something that I might want to write about. After all, each of us cling to happiness or at least we crave for it every single day. With no further ado let us talk about the things that makes me happy.

Family

My family has always been and always will be one of my happiness factors. When I see my family members, such as my spouse, my parents, and my siblings in good condition, I am automatically filled with happiness. I am happy when they have food in their tables, when they earn good incomes and when they are growing towards becoming a better person. Where I live, it is a common thing to have a feeling of oneness with your family. I learned at school that this feeling of being family-bonded is a distinguishing feature of families that live in the Orient. It is already part of our culture to feel connection with those we are related biologically. Our religious beliefs has a big contribution to this. It is evident in the way we look after one another and in the way we feel abut their successes and failures. When I learned about this, I found an answer to why I would get angry of get upset when someone in the family would misbehave, because just like what the experts say, I have a deep connection with them that is already embedded in my system, that whenever they do bad things I feel as if I would also take part in the shame and problem that it would procure.

Food

Oh no, this one is a no-brainer. Who would not be happy when there is food? I think most of us would have eyes that lit up in gladness when we are presented with yummy foods, right? I am one of the billions of people who loves eating. With this love for eating and consuming delicious food also comes the love for cooking and exploring many dishes from around the world. In fact, I am so into cooking videos and tutorials.I find it very therapeutic to look at people who records themselves in preparing their foods. I dreamed of one day being able to have my tiny kitchen where I can also record myself preparing meals and then upload it in platforms for monetization. I remember last time, my husband was looking for some anime that he wants to watch for pastime, I told him that I love watching anime that features cooking. Maybe he finds it odd but as for me, it makes me happy like a child.

Gardening

Even when I was a child, I would make tiny garden beds in our backyard, and would plant some spinach and chilies. Time passed by and I am still that kind of person who loves gardening. Last year I bought some seeds online because I was so determined to start my gardening even though we have a limited space. I went on with my plan until realize that it is not only the limited space that I had to deal with, but also the rodents and rats that would eat my seedlings and plants. I planted some lady finger in our balcony, and was happy because of all the plants that I have planted, it was the one that showed exceptional growth. It grew into an adult plant only to be murdered by a giant rat before it could even bear its first flower. There and then, I put my plans to a stop because know that with all the nasty rats around, I wouldn't be heading anywhere with my gardening. I am glad that we decided to move to a new place where there are no rats. Up to now, still have my seedlings and I am planning to continue my gardening this July. Hopefully it would thrive this time. (Fingers crossed).

Books

I love reading books! I was four years old when I started it. My mother was my mentor, and she was the one who ignited my love for books. I can still recall the name of my most favorite book, it was entitled, "Folk Literature of Central Visayas. It was given to us by our teacher in Grade 1 and I have read every single story in that book repeatedly. Most of the stories in that books were myths and legends in our region. I was so drawn towards the mystery and the characters in almost every story in it and I can still recall some of them to this date. How I wish I still have that book. Up to date, I always find time to read books each day because I feel happy when I do so. Right now, I am reading 1984 by George Orwell. Maybe I will write a review of that books when I am finished reading it. My friend says it is a very nice book.

Savings

This one right here makes me feel so old. (Laughs). I guess I really am. I never knew that when I reach my late twenties, I would be so caught up with financial security and the like. I am so concerned with the uncertainties in the future, and I want to be as secure as possible. That is why, one of the things that makes my adult-heart happy is savings. It gives me a sense of independence and security. Even though my savings says zero right now, I am not giving up in achieving this goal of mine because it is one of my many motivators why hustle hard each day and why I work hard and smart.


There you have it! Did you read something in my list that makes you happy too? What was it? I would also love to hear from you as you share the things that makes you happy. Come and join in the fun and write about it. Feel free to tag me if you like!

Thanks for reading!

6
$ 3.87
$ 3.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
$ 0.02 from @Eunoia
Sponsors of Betha
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Betha
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

UP sa foods! And da Crushes maadd ko lang for me ha haha. As for family matic na yan haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahahaha. Nakaka happy di naman pala yung crushes ano?! Bakit di ko naisip yan. Hahah

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sobra kaya hahaha 🥴🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nice happiness combo. I love good food. It matters a lot and there is family too. Family is just like everything

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are right Gianna. Family is very important it gives us a sense of belonging na di nating makikita sa kahi ano man relationship.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Uyy nice to see you again your still here in the Philippines hehe. Tagal offline huh. Yeah family and food is a ecstasy haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahahaha. Oo. Minsa ang busy ng buhay di nakapag post. Thank you for stopping by lodz

$ 0.00
1 year ago