That moment when You think a lie is a better option than honesty

0 12
Avatar for BeautyBim
2 years ago

I would like to start this article by asking if you have ever been in a situation where you think telling a lie will be a better option than honesty. Well in this article, i will be sharing my ordeal. In all sincerity, if i was asked to answer the question i asked in the first sentence, i would say there should not be any reason we should choose lie over honesty. But after i had my experience of this kind of situation, i realized that it is easy to judge an issue if you have not experienced it. Though this is not to validate lie or in any way claiming that there are not people that will still choose honesty in any kind of situation they may be.

And so it happened that during my undergraduate days, there was a clearance activity i was supposed to take part in, it is necessary for everyone that wants to graduate. My secondary school leaving certificate was necessary for me to take part in this clearance activity, it was to be submitted for the confirmation of our WAEC result. The supervisor in charge already told us the day and the time to come for the clearance, but one notable thing was that we have been going before and there was no response. It's either we stay at the entrance of the office and no response or the appointment gets cancelled. Fast forward back to when he told us the day and time to come for the clearance activity, i woke up on that faithful day, had my morning devotion, did some little chores, but i was not really conscious of the time. Actually, it was intentional, my thought was that it will just be another cancelled appointment and a waste of transport fare. My class group have an online platform where we communicate and share information, and after doing some chores, i decided to check online and to my surprise i saw an information that the clearance activity has started and the office in charge gave an information that anyone that was not around at that period is at the risk of not graduating. Imagine seeing that kind of information, i was already disorganized and anxious. I had to rush my bath, dress up in an hurry and leave for school, it was part of the days when i wished buses could fly, i can't believe my five years in school could be in vain because i am going to be at the risk of missing a clearance activity. After i finally got down from the bus that was looking as though it was extra ordinarily slow that day, if only you can relate to all these kind of experience, very funny. I rushed down to the office, lo and behold, i did not meet any of my course mate. It was then i knew i was extra late. I summoned up courage to enter the office, actually i entered with my head blank and i was also afraid. I was questioned for coming late and that i should go back home because nothing could be done to the situation and the persons in charge of the clearance activity have collected the files of those that were around at the appointment time. Honestly, at that point i just knew it can't be the end, i didn't know where the inspiration came from, i had to tell a lie that i was purging, my stomach aches and i had to wait till my stomach get settled before leaving home. To intensify the lie, i made sure i had the expression of a sick face, with one hand on my stomach as though i was ready to defecate on that spot. After the whole drama, one of those in the office said my face looked fine and radiant, so he had his own benefit of doubt if i was really sick or not, maybe i was a bad actress. Well, i didn't care at that point, instead i decided to do better, until one of those in charge said he believed me. If only i could jump and hug the man at that point for being my saviour, it was such a huge relief. Anyways, i was directed to where my mates submitted their files and it was collected because they wrote a special note for me to take along. It was after i was cleared that it dawned on me that i was perfectly fine and i need to cut the show i was putting off, and on my way home, i saw one of my course mate crying because she was sent out of the office for coming late. I didn't know whether to be grateful i lied at that point or to feel guilty. Whichever way, i just had to do what was needed at that time, begging would have made them just send me out, and if i was to give an excuse too, i really didn't have a tangible one.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for BeautyBim
2 years ago

Comments