Lies we were told while growing up

0 6
Avatar for Bdellium
1 year ago

Happy sunday to all my family here on readcash, hope you are all enjoying your weekend? And to all our Muslim friends and families we pray you celebrate more of eidel kabir insha allah.

Growing up in a typical Yoruba home, you can imagine all the kinds of lies we were told while growing up just to scare us from doing some certain things. Also different rumours of things that doesn't exist that we were told, although all these things made my childhood fun but after growing up to some certain age, I realised that most of these things doesn't even exist. It was raining this afternoon in my area and the sun was still so bright in the sky, I remembered back then when I was little anytime such thing happen my grandmother will call me to come and see that ekun(tiger) is giving birth that's why rain is falling and at the same time the sun is still up in the sky, I smiled and imagined how ignorant i was then and how I believed all those rumours.

That opened my memory to some other lies I was told, i remembered one afternoon at the age of 5, I was sitting outside with my uncle in the evening I looked up to the sky and asked my uncle why the sky is blue and had some patches of white, haaaaa his reply shocked me but I believed him because I had no idea of the truth then, my uncle smiled and said "before in the golden days, the sky was on the ground that people can see it and touch it even play inside of it but our fore fathers misused the opportunity God gave them then, he said after eating our fore fathers will go to the sky where it is on the ground and used it to clean their hands instead of washing with water that's why it has some white patches on it, then God got angry with them and moved the sky to heaven that's why it is up there up til today. Anytime I remembered this particular one I do laugh🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 because I can't imagine how possible that was.

Different lies that I can't finish sharing with us, anytime my parents wants to go out excluding me from the outing, they will tell me to go to my uncle or grandma to collect jokoje(just to sit down) pardon me I don't know the English, I will rush there just to be fast so that they won't leave me, on getting to my uncle or grandma they will tell me to sit down while they look for it, I will be sitted for hours thinking they are still looking for it until my mom comes back to pick me up, while growing I then realised that there is nothing like jokoje, i was just to sit so that i won't see them while going out or when they have visitor. My childhood was fun because all these lies and rumours contributed to the fun part of growing up in an African home.

I hope you enjoy reading this and I will be expecting your comments in my box. Enjoyyyy.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Bdellium
1 year ago

Comments