English vs Yoruba

2 11
Avatar for Bdellium
1 year ago

Happy weekend to my family here on readcash how is the Sunday going? During my leisure time I was thinking of what to write and this title popped up in my head and coincidentally my siblings were discussing about the differences between the both language that's english and Yoruba.

There are some words in Yoruba that if translated in english it will mean a different thing and vice versa. In Yoruba language different words can be spelt the same way and has different meaning likewise in English language a word can be pronounced the same way and has different meaning. Especially in yoruba language these words can be used to confuse someone who is not from this tribe. It's actually fun because you would be wondering how did the originators of these languages did that? These two languages although can be linked I think that's why it's very easy for the white men to learn Yoruba language. Going through my boomplay suggested songs I saw a song by Qdot and a white woman named Oyin I was amazed and I downloaded it wow wow wow I mean wow she spoke Yoruba so fluently and I was impressed .

Here are some words you will like to know. Although in Yoruba language these words has sign and symbols that is been imputed to it to make its meaning.

  • Ojo----------day

  • Ojo----------rain

  • Ojo----------name

  • Ojo----------leaking

    And many more .

    Here are some English words

  • Cut---------- to divide

  • Caught---------find doing something

  • Court-----------a place of judgement/ used in a relationship when they are yet to marry

  • Course-------- a study in school

  • Curse--------a negative word that work against one's destiny

  • Cause---------- to allow something to

    And lots more.

All these words has different meaning but when pronounced it sound the same.

Yoruba is a beautiful language and with so much respect in it, you can't address an elderly person anyhow you will be corrected. That is the beauty of my language am proud to be a Yoruba lady because it's such a beautiful language that has brought lots of prestige to the society.

I hope you enjoy reading this and I will be expecting your comments in my box. Enjoyyy.

2
$ 0.37
$ 0.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Offset
Avatar for Bdellium
1 year ago

Comments

Those words are called "Homophones" they have same pronunciation but different meanings

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you sir👍👍👍

$ 0.00
1 year ago