Art Block

5 17

As an artist--both traditional and digital, we sometimes experience a phase where you cannot bring yourself to out leash your ideas and creativity in making new artworks. You might handle making drawing, of course it's basic for an artist,right? But there's always this feeling of being unsatisfied with the outcome. You are expecting more because you know you can, but it just won't come out. You feel like you don't know what to do next; the sparks and excitement were lost; it seems you don't know how to apply the technique or add life to your works anymore. You felt terribly lost in art; suffocated and trapped. That exact feeling is what they call "Art Block".

I've been posting some of my artworks here but just these past few days, I suddenly felt odd. I started an artwork with positivity inside of me but I wasn't able to continue because I felt like lacking something. I don't feel happy about the outcome... I think I'm doing it wrong, I'm not good at this, not even close enough. That moment I knew it was this thing that artists hate the most--Art Block.

Last art I made that I wasn't able to finish due to Art Block

Frustrated, I googled more about it including its causes and ways on how to overcome this frightening stage. Based on my thorough review, most artists experiencing Art Block are those struggling in different ways such as mental, phsical and emotional aspects. Example of these strugglings might be in a form of exasperation and insecurities knowing that others improved in a fast pace compared to you or you're just too exhausted pushing yourself without taking breaks or without enjoying the process. These strains affects the urge and creativity of one person thus resulting to discouragement and later evolve to this so-called Art Block.

After stuffing myself with information about it, I came up with my own list on how will I be able to get up on my feet and free myself from this nightmare.

  • Go back to your previous drawings and sort it from oldest to newest. That way, you may see how much you improved in time;

  • Draw random things in front or around you. I tried drawing glasses of water, vase, stuff toys and even TV remote control! Lol;

  • Try new and fun drawing styles that you don't often do. For me, I tried caricature, animation and cartooning since I focus too much on realism portraitures;

  • Try using other medium and do some experiments. Example, if you're used to charcoal and pencils, this time try using watercolor, acrylic or oil medium. You may also try switching to digital if you do traditional art and vice versa;

  • Watch some inspirational videos or testimonies of some artists who struggled with art block in the past too. I discovered this YouTube channel Silvie Mahdal, I watched videos of her doing arts with some motivational speech as voice over;

  • Rewatch tutorials and enjoy doing the beginner's process.

Art Block is just a phase, it is not permanent and it will eventually help us to improve and develop our skills depending on how we handle things. Always remember, everything happens for a reason.

4
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Baij
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Wow!nice art.It's really looking so good.I am going to be a big fan of your art,,,

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love your art💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thank you @OverThinker ❤❤❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Keep doing arts. I would like to learn from you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks! I definitely will

$ 0.00
3 years ago