Mental Illnesses

2 59
Avatar for Baby_girl
2 years ago

Written by Favour Ifeoluwa Olanrewaju ✍️✍️✍️

My phone got spoilt 😢.

I mean last week, it fell and the screen got broken. Well, that seem like a minor issue. I actually thought I could still manage it, I could still click on the screen. And there isn't even money anywhere.

But unfortunately, mid into the following day, my phone started pouring ink.

I stubbornly still thought I could still manage it. Not because I wished to, I couldn't even type anything so I couldn't post on readcash.

Well reasons because, my school just resumed... my parents were after paying for my hostel accommodation and school fees.

I didn't even tell them. I was being considerate.

The following day, it got really worse, I couldn't chat on WhatsApp, I couldn't even call. I could only pick calls.

I became depressed people.

The most funny thing was the fact that nobody checked on me, like what's the big deal about a phone getting spoilt.

I know it wasn't supposed to be a big deal, but people it was. I was really so sad. I got to realise I really can't do without my phone. I know it'll seem like a bad habit, but that's it.

I had to inform my parents about it, my dad got angry.... like why was I so careless!

I know I am careless, but then it only added salt to the injury. My dad was angry with me, okay that broke my heart really more.

You might not want to believe if tell you I began loosing it at some points.

I'll just stay indoors all day, started over sleeping. I stopped eating. I was always sad. Even watching movies seemed boring.

The person I was staying with as at that time told me she'll take me through therapy, I'm getting depressed lolsss 😅😅😅

Wait.

All these because of just a phone.

I could not read seff, cause I believed I can only read when my phone is with me... the fact that I have all my slides as soft copies.

Well....

Reading through all these, you'll be wondering. This is actually emotional distress and should be titled emotional illness. But then, it's both.

I was down both emotionally and mentally.

I decided to talk about mental illness cause it reminds me of a task Liquorose and her team carried out on last year's shine your eyes BB Naija season 6.

Mind you, there are different types of mental illnesses.

  • Eating disordes

  • Scrizophenia disorders

  • Anxiety disorders

  • Depression disorders

  • Bipolar mood disorders

  • Personality disorders.

I guess mine started with anxiety..., then it lead to depression and getting me bipolar.

Hope you know mental illness is a disorder.

Alot of people with even beautiful faces have mental health issues. Some people you might never even expect. It could have been really shocking hearing Liquorose say that during her diary session with Biggy. Judging with the type of person she is. A person with vibes and full of energy.

Someone could even be like,what's she saying?

But then... people are really going through shit 💔.

“For the other one, I’m still in the process of trying to get out. I’m sure that after the show, I think I’ll be ready to see a therapist to talk with but I’m having it fine because, during the house, I have been able to talk to few people that ‘hey, I’m going through this or that.’ So I feel that more attention should be paid to mental health.”

I copied this out because she made two very key points here that kills mental illness.

One; She said she'll be seeing a therapist after the show

Two; she said during the house, she was able to talk to few people, that she's going through stuffs.

This again 👇👇

“I’ve kept it to myself for a while. I actually talked about one with friends and all of that and I’ve been able to get myself out of it.

Liquorose and her team even gave a talk on mental illness. You all remember what happened to Kaycee, a bbn housemate too.

It was emotional.

You might not know,but speaking to people lessen a lot of burdens. You're freeer when you talk to someone about what you're passing through. You've got to believe it.

Please note, not someone who will add to it or make you become more drained. Someone, or people you are sure will be of help, even if it is just a listening ear.

I've tried it and it works.

I mean.

I remembered, ranting to the person I was staying with. Then she asked us to see a movie, it helped a bit, even though I slept off along the line. Lolss

The next day, we watched comedies together. I laughed like someone with no worries.

Alot lot of things were piling up for me, and yes thinking about them were making me sad, but that night, I felt lightened.

Thinking about it now, if I had been able to talk to many of my friends that my phone got spoilt and it was making me sad, get any of them to take me out or asked for us to just go out or take a stroll... I mean instead of just spending all day indoors, brewing in sadness and being overly upset. Then I wouldn't have lost my mind at any point in time.

Alot of things happen we never bargain for, but then... speak out.

Wait,

do you even check on people?

I mean do you check on even your friends?

Or all you just do is to come online and catch cruise....

Do you even notice when a friend or coursemate goes offline for days?

People are going through shit... forget my example, let's call it small.

But people are going through things that, just a mere phone call or check up can get them gushing their heart out.

Saying it out alone relieves them, talk more of getting people in position or able to help.

This world revolves around having to help people in whatever way.

You're reading this right now, and you're going through mental stress... is it about paying your children's school fees, or having alot of bills to pay, or there is something you need to get urgently. Or there is something totally wrong or off.

Why don't you first talk to someone. Not just one sometimes, two, three, four, or more....

I mean that alone with get you a little bit of your sanity.

Why don't you try seeing a therapist if you think it's too weighty.

Please stop stomaching everything, it can cause ulcer.

Mind you,you need your sanity to keep moving 🥺🥺. To live life.

I don't know but I really which this helps someone, or alot of people out there.

Sponsors of Baby_girl
empty
empty
empty

Well well well, I got my phone repaired.

Oh okay, I got back my sanity. And then, it made me realize alot of things.

The absence of my phone wasn't the real problem, i decided to get rooted on a spot 😢 and I would never do that again.

Well, I'll justify myself... my friends didn't check up on me lolsss.

Once again, forget my example... you might not see it the way I'm seeing it, but try to check on people from time to time.

It's really important.

To be honest, more attention should be payed on mental health, for yourself and others.

And when someone comes talk to you, that one thing or the other is making him or her mentally drained, don't redicule it! no matter how stupid it may sound to you. The person needs just a word of encouragement, or if not anything... a ear to listen to.

Cause you wouldn't know what level of damage you could end up causing.

Atleast, first of all... tonight I've talked to myself.

Thanks for reading.

#saynotomentalillness

Could have posted in my former account but it got spammed... don't really know why though.

Been a while here though...

Sorry for that please 🙏

5
$ 0.19
$ 0.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.02 from @Gaftekloriginal
Avatar for Baby_girl
2 years ago

Comments

Eeyah, one can hardly do without a phone nowadays but we should learn to be without it for some hours if not days. Have you now gotten another one?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I repaired it ni jare, don't mind me 🙈🙈

I can actually do without it for a whole day, but I don't usually like when it's turning daysss. Especially if it's not sure I'll be getting it back soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago