Stuffed minced meat and my challange for myself in the kitchen

5 18
Avatar for BSzandra
2 years ago

6 days have passed since this year and so far I have only bought a few potatoes and onions in the market. I am proud of myself. Hehe! So I thought I should go shopping, but I finally started the year in the kitchen by unpacking all the cabinets and checking the expiration date on the ingredients and what’s in the cabinet apart from the mess.


The cabinet had a half bag of rice, several kinds of half packs of pasta, bulgur, brown rice, spices and more. I also checked the freezer where I found peas, corn, fruit, bread, ham, minced meat, breaded fish,sliced ​​pork chop, a tiny whole chicken and a little turkey breast.


So I challenged myself to make food from the existing ingredients until they ran out. And I have to do this so that the food has to be varied, I have to try new recipes and I also need to be able to put something in the “I give you eat” box. You can read about this box in this article: The first good act of the year- giving food

So I want to show you what kind of food I made today.


Ingredients:


500 grams of minced meat
1 small onion
3 cloves garlic
1 egg
1 handful of breadcrumbs
salt, pepper, red pepper, parsley
100 grams of sliced ​​ham
100 grams of grated cheese


1 mug bulgur
2 mugs of water


I chop the onion and garlic and add it to the meat along with the eggs, breadcrumbs and spices and mix it all up. I put the mixture on a piece of aluminum foil and press it by hand to make it rectangular. I put the ham and cheese on top and roll it up with the help of foil.

I bake in a preheated oven at 180 degrees for about an hour then I unpack it from the aluminum foil and bake at 200 degrees for a few more minutes until the outside is better cooked.

The top opened a little, but luckily it didn't fall apart because of it.

I made bulgur for garnish, which is very easy to make. I put 1 mug of bulgur and 2 mugs of water in a pan and start warming up. If the water boils down after a few minutes I turn off the stove and leave the pan there with the lid on. The bulgur will absorb the water. When I’m done I’m salted and it’s done. I can say that I am satisfied because the food has become very delicious.

Closing thoughs

Actually, we should all be cooking from the ingredients we find at home instead of buying new ones and I know there’s nothing special about that. But honestly, I often don’t know exactly what’s in my closet and I buy in the store what I need to cook. I'm actually messy. But not only do I want my life to change ... in many ways ... but I want to change myself. And of course I want to save money. And it’s a great way to prevent unnecessary purchases. And the less often I have to go to the store, the less often I can spend on things I didn’t originally want to spend on. It sounds like I’m scattering money, but it’s not like that, I have so little money, so I have to pay more attention to it so that I can distribute it well.

7
$ 4.81
$ 4.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 4
Sponsors of BSzandra
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for BSzandra
2 years ago

Comments

you are making me salivate already, this is a kind of meal i would love to take this morning

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have a chef here! Hell yeah!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Looked yummy Sandra 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I'm also a lazy type and it's not easy for me to go out to find ingredients, I use what I see at home and prepare a Great meal too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OMG

This looks really delicious, I think I'd need to try this out

$ 0.00
2 years ago