My Life Apart From The Guitar

17 22
Avatar for B.Mac
Written by
2 years ago

I teach in a school majorly coz they offer accommodation... They pay about 20k naira a month which is less than 40 dollars... It can barely transport me... Yesterday, I ate only in the morning,,, I slept hungry,,, and this morning,,, I'm in the school again trying to invigilate... Nothing ever seems right in this country...

The school I teach in is very unlike the school I attended in my day... The students are spoilt,,, and it seems impossible,,, but 98 percent are below average... In every class of 30 or so,,, you can only find one or two average students... They have very negative attitudes to life... They have the wrong idea about money and life in general... As young as they are,,, they keep saying school is not important,,, that the only important thing is money... And mostly,,, they don't have any noble needs for the money... At this young age,,, they have no good moral values that they would arrive to uphold someday... The teachers a lot of times try to install discipline in them,,, but their parents seem to be okay with the decadence... Mostly,,, their parents don't even have time for them...

If a student in my day reported a teacher,,, the first question would be what the student did... In fact,,, very few students had the effrontery to report because must parents would beat the child for misbehaving and being a disgrace to them... Parents cares about honor,,, discipline and good moral values...

When the students are in the class,,, and you want to teach them,,, they grumble.... They don't even hide it... They hiss at you openly and without shame... They are obnoxious and they influence those that come from a good home... When it's time for exams,,, they are perfectly fine cheating... I once mentioned to them that I never cheated throughout my school days and they didn't even think it possible... This just was sad to me...

I have very high moral standards,,, and it all began from before I was their age... I wouldn't have been proud of good scores I didn't work for... Even when I needed money,,, I never complained at their age... My parents instilled discipline in me,,, and I have never shamed them in public... The schools I went also helped... We were put in hands that were almost too strict. The result being that whatever you were,,, you remained for life... If you managed to stay bad despite everything,,, nothing could change you again,,, and if you did abide by the rules,,, you would most likely be that way forever...

The only part of my training I dropped was the religious aspect and I observed that even then,,, I was never really a fanatic... They made fellowships optional for us in the name of religious tolerance,,, and I didn't always go... I never found church fun even then...

But I'm still just as good as the real christians on the average... I help when I can and I believe in humanitarian services... I never try to enforce my believe on others,,, and I respect people's beliefs... Also,,, I'm totally free of all prejudice as I hate everyone equally... (Just kidding... I love you all)...

I wish things would go back to the way they were... That parents would instill the right values in their children when they are young... The old saying "spare the rod and spoil the child" is well thought out... Discipline above all... No matter how wealthy you get,,, your attitude towards life will always make or mar you...

There's also persistence... The ability to keep pushing... Majority of these students are weak willed... They have no depth,,, so usually you can't say clearly that these or those are their beliefs,,, and that is wrong...

I had the chance to go for a better job that would take me away from my dreams,,, but I chose to stay where I am now and hope that my beliefs would work for me... But I'd rather fail by myself than compromising everything I am and I preach... My parents don't understand this,,, and they fight me everyday... They tell me I earn peanuts and make it look like I'm a slave to others simply cuz I teach guitar and could run out of students... They demean everything I am now,,, but I'm hardly fazed because I have a focus... I have things I stand for that I believe would take me where I want...

I have a goal,,, I have a purpose... I have a dream... And I know it would become a reality...I know that in time I'll prove with my life to the younger generation that my way is the way...

I am forever grateful to you all... In you I've found friends...

5
$ 0.13
$ 0.05 from @Gemstone
$ 0.03 from @GarrethGrey07
$ 0.03 from @Oikawa
+ 1
Sponsors of B.Mac
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for B.Mac
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

As a parent,time and attention to our children is very important, to monitor their progress in school, and their attitude to everyone who's around them as for me I do believe that the behaviour of the children was also reflected to their parents. Sometimes kid's behaviour is also because of lack of attention, not because they are being spoiled. Anyway this is just my own opinion. I hope you won't hate me .😂😂🤭✌️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol... I can't hate you for stating your opinion... You may be right... Thanks for reading and commenting!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is very disheartening. Are these the sole called leaders of tomorrow? To me, everyone have a share of blame in the moral decadence amongst young people today. The media, celebrities(especially), government, parents and even the teachers. Its quite sad that some secondary school folks are more notorious than undergraduate. Some are even hardened cultists.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True talk.... Sounds personal... Any one on one experiences???

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yea, unfortunately

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol... You work in a school too????

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The educational system is totally different from our time; i can't imagine students grumbling at and reporting teachers, that's absolutely babaric btw is it a private school or a public one?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Private unfortunately... Parents totally spoil their children...!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Playing the guitar professionally is very challenging and time-consuming. It takes a great amount of dedication and daily practice to reach a decent level on which a person can play and be considered "professional". You're doing great and I salute your efforts! Just don't skip practice sessions and get discouraged if the period of laziness visits you. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Whoa... You seem to be an expert on the topic... Do you play??? Thanks for the advice... I'll try my best...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I'm playing several instruments, but the guitar is my favorite.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cool!!!! That's the comedy instrument in the world...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the piano too! 😋 check out "Mein herz brennt - piano" on YouTube

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just checked... It's a song... How do I know which is yours???

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is not my song, I just like its melodies. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol... I like it too... A bit scary though... Haha...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mein

I will... Are you the one playing there???

$ 0.00
2 years ago