Don't You Just Love Your Fantasy Novels!!!

2 63
Avatar for B.Mac
Written by
2 years ago
Sponsors of B.Mac
empty
empty
empty

Every time, I get the subject that my friends don't love a book or movie because it isn't realistic. I have the same response to them all. I ask them "don't you have enough of (brutal) reality going on around you everyday??? I hate reality!!! People die. Good guys die!!! I almost never watch any movie except it's funny, or fantasy. Same goes for books. I've seen friends who won't consider anything interesting except there's a lot of blood and gore... I really don't like this. I also get asked about horror movies. I'm not scare of horror movies, bit they simply don't interest me. Also, I don't really see why I should watch something that seeks only to horrify me. I appreciate anything good though. But I have very high standards. For example, I watched supernatural which would still count as horror. I watched vampire diaries also, and I loved those movies. I never condemn people though I may not see sense in what they do. It suffices to me that I can't understand everything. Also, as a wise man said, the perfect human is everyone put in one.

I've always had a special place in my heart for the arts. You can tell by observing how I chose to focus on music instead of what I actually studied in school. I kind of like how fantasy authors approach everything. When it's time for a little horror, they do it with perfection (definitely see how R.R. Tolkien kills it in lord of the rings!!!! I remember the part where they went to seek help from the dead...). Then when it's time for romance also, they show nothing if not skill. I remember Pug and Katala from Raymond E. Feist's magician... It was awesome. I forget the exact way he described that scene in less that three or four sentences. But what I remember goes like this "they went to a place for two where..." Whine you may not remember the words exactly, you'll always remember the message they were trying to pass. I'm this case, a slave boy from another world who was considered intelligent and valuable by his master and a native slave girl from a proud race. It was beautiful and it was innocent, and he didn't longer at all. It was a short part of a long novel that was going to live on in the reader's mind for a long long time.

These authors just make you wonder... Make you... think...

Then, there's the comedy side of it. I favor the most Christopher Moor's gospel according to Biff. It was going to be an experience for me, and I knew it since the very first page.

  • "If you have come to these pages for laughter, may you find it.

  • If you are here to be offended, may your ire rise and your blood boil.

  • If you seek an adventure, may this story sing you away to blissful escape.

  • If you need to test or confirm your beliefs, may you reach comfortable conclusions.

  • All books reveal perfection, by what they are or what they are not. May you find that which you seek, in these pages or outside them. May you find perfection, and know it by name"

  • Quoted text source: gospel according to Biff. Page 4 (ebook format) Author: Christopher Moore

Now, that's just beautiful stuff!!! If you're wondering why the intro is like this, let me give you a few spoilers.

First, it's about Jesus's childhood from the perspective of a made up friend by the author. At some point, Jesus discovering his calling would not be able to sleep we m around with women, but would pay for his friend to relate coitally with prostitutes. His explanation was if he wanted to save perks from sin, he would have to know what it felt like, so he would always ask Biff (his friend) to describe the acts to him. They would go around the world in the book and learn from different religions. At some point, Jesus showed martial art prowess. He showed genius at meditating and stuff like that. Also, I think it's noteworthy to point out that they saw a religious teacher who could multiply rice, and needles to say he learnt from him too (the implication of this part should sound familiar to christians). A lot more really funny stuff happened.

I, generally don't condemn, so I always have to put up with blasphemy now and then. This one came with more than a little humor!!!! I loved and I can't lie guys. Every bit of the novel was interesting.

I love reality for what it is, but when I want to watch a movie or read a book, it had better not be real (except on the context of the book).

5
$ 1.34
$ 1.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @GarrethGrey07
$ 0.02 from @Mictorrani
+ 1
Sponsors of B.Mac
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for B.Mac
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I've met one person who said he didn't like fantasy because it was fake. News flash: all of fiction is fake in one way or another! That doesn't mean a character's struggles can't feel real, or a made-up world can't feel real, either!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly!!!! One way to look at it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago