Creative Writing; Riding in the wind

3 29
Avatar for Azeez02
3 years ago

When I think back to that day, the one thing that swells in my mind is the wind. The wind, that pushes the trees from side to side, which made the house creak. The wind is what made that day eerie.

It was a mid-spring morning, and at about ten o'clock. I was alone at home, as it was a Saturday. Mom and my sisters were running an errand, and Dad was presumably working. I, as usual, had slept in. I walked upstairs to get some breakfast, which contained cereal and juice. As I sat down to eat, a sudden puff of wind blew over the house, in through the window, and across my face. I quivered.

I am not the one who is easily frightened by the elements. I find that if I respect the weather, it will respect me. Well. Today, there was something that got my skin crawl. So I got up to close down the window and peek out for a few seconds after I had shut it. There were only a few high, wispy clouds in the sky, and the sun appeared unusually bright.

I turned on the television to keep myself drawn away, trying to keep my attention anyway from the window. As I realized it was a weekend, and the only programs on are not my liking. I sighed in disdain.

Just Before my hand had time to turn the television off, the screen flashed off and our oven not that far from where I am, let off four loud bangs. I jumped three feet straight up.

The power had gone out. Our oven, because it manages it's power peculiarly, let out the bangs in a futile attempt to keep itself operating. By this time, my heart was beating about twice it's normal velocity, and I was quite paranoid. But, I turned the TV off nonetheless and sat down to finish my breakfast. Fortunately, I did so in a stillness, if nervous, peace.

Without anything electric to entertain me with, my mind started playing pranks on me, trying to fool me into unrest. So I decided to go for a bike ride.

Now, if you have never gone for a bike ride in the wind, let me enlighten you as to how fun it is. It is not a terrible ride going to your destination with the wind at your back, but on the way back, Ha! it is hell. Even short outings that entail strong wind wear you out,

When I arrived home I was ready to slither back into bed. My mind was no longer thinking about the oddity of the day. Convinced enough, something happened. I heard an odd crunching sound and an audible crash from out on our deck.

When I went out to investigated, I found it to be my father's umbrella and patio table that had blown off the deck. I pulled them back up, closed up the umbrella, and took one last look before I headed in.

The sun was still barely bright, pounding down on me. The wind hissed through my ears, causing a quiver to run down my backbone. I opened the door and walked in by myself, but the door seemed to tighten itself shut. It was likely just the uneven air pressure, but it still seemed scary, like some wind the monster was playing with my mind.

As I walked back into the house. The power had come back on while I was on the balcony, and a few minutes later, my dad came back home. The fear vaporized, and the day continued like any other. But I still remember that unusual bright sun, and the wind.

8
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Azeez02
3 years ago

Comments

Brilliant

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You have a strong and wise concept of writing. I really like this article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You do have a unique talent for composing a story using free-writing. Good luck champ, looking forward to seeing your next composed short story

$ 0.00
3 years ago