Remembering childhood : Making crowns from weeds

12 55
Avatar for Ayukyukyu2
1 year ago

Have you seen this weed? Maybe you've seen it grow all around you. When I see this wild plant, my memory automatically always reminds me of my childhood. I want to share my childhood story when I was a little girl of 10 or 12 years old. I always pick these weeds to make toy accessories like headbands or crowns. I used to do it often with my little friend.

According to wikipedia, this wild plant is named Gletang in Indonesian and in scientific language (Tridax procumbens), tridax daisy (Eng.), cadillo chisaca (Spanish), and herbe caille (French) are the most common types of plants found as weeds. Gletang is usually found in dry, sunny places.

Sponsors of Ayukyukyu2
empty
empty
empty

Gletang is usually found in places that are not wet, get a lot of sunlight or only slightly shaded, especially on sandy or rocky soil. In grass fields, dry rice fields, roadsides or railways, river banks, sand dunes, abandoned lands, and so on.

Originally from tropical America, then spread widely to India and Southeast Asia. Gletang can be used for animal feed, usually mixed with grasses.

The gletang flower is visited by various types of butterflies. This Gletang flower used to be when I was a child, I often used it as an object to make jewelry or accessories from this plant. Here are some pictures of Gletang flowers that I have made into toy crowns that can be used when playing games to become queens or fairies. how to make :

  • Each Gletang flower stalk is linked to each other and then wrapped in a cross manner.

  • do as long as possible if the headband is just a semicircle.

  • if the shape of the crown wrap as long as possible so that both ends can be brought together.

  • Tie both sides using ribbon or other fasteners according to taste

  • The crown or headband is complete

( Video making a crown made of weeds )

This is one of my childhood activities that I will always remember. How was your childhood, is there anything you can remember to this day?

13
$ 2.05
$ 1.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @TheGuy
$ 0.10 from @Alther
+ 8
Avatar for Ayukyukyu2
1 year ago

Comments

This is very beautiful and creative ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😀😀😀 it's my childhood memories

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I have this weed here my dear friend. Thanks for the name Gletang. I actually got it from a tourist destination and put it in my garden. Now its just spreading. Very thin stem with flowers.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thin and easy to break so when I wrapped it when making the crown I had to be careful because the flower stems were very fragile. In the language of my country Gletang

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The girls used to make crowns and boys used to make rings with these, haha.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's true and they married... Little bride 😁😁😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As a child I played with bent grass. The weed is a creeper, so we would use it as skipping rope, tie it into a necklace or bangle

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow, it's really cool to be able to shape it into a jumping rope... If the type of weed I pick is only suitable for toy hair decorations such as crowns or headbands

$ 0.00
1 year ago

we just tied the tips of the weed together and our jumping rope is ready

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We had that kind of plants at the back of our house maam. We played it. I cannot remember if we make it into a crown. It's beautiful ma'am, the crown made by those plants.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Beautiful because the shape of the plant can be shaped and very easy to make.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes my ma'am. So artistic and creative maam.

$ 0.00
1 year ago