Most Common Story Ideas In Every Shoujo Supernatural Romance Manga

0 30
Avatar for Ayane-chan
3 years ago
Topics: Ideas, Comics, Anime

In a month of taking a break from writing, most of the things that I did is reading manga, especially those Shoujo Supernatural Romance genres. I almost get addicted to it that I have done nothing productive. I overcome that laziness, writer's block, and binge-reading after all. That is all thanks to my goals that suddenly remembered which snaps me back to reality.

When the storyline is good, I can't help it. I need to finish it or I can't sleep. Talking about a good storyline, it's not just good that I can't help it but keep going when it is well-written and well-illustrated. Particularly when the author proudly presents the culture and tradition of their places in the manga, it hits me to get hooked immediately.

As I read that kind of genre in the manga, there are just some things that I noticed to be common in most of the shoujo supernatural storylines. I listed here what I noticed with them, I haven't research properly about Japanese culture so I'll just drop my thoughts.

Most Common Story Ideas I Have Found

  • A typical highschooler girl with a gift of sight to see spirits and demons.

Most of those manga that I have read with a girl main character were mostly highschoolers, particularly First-year students. It's too odd why would authors choose that particular age. I mean what about the emotional trauma that they would bear at that young age. When you can able to see supernatural beings but no one will believe you.

  • A girl's main character is forced to be a bride of a powerful demon or deity.

Manga like Kakuriyo no Yadomeshi and Black Bird does have this idea. Based on that manga, a girl who has the sight of seeing supernatural beings and unnatural phenomena possesses higher spiritual energy which can boost their powers if they embrace them. Some manga also stated that an Ayakashi or Yokai marrying a human girl can promote their status or rankings in the supernatural society.

  • Embracing a human girl with higher spiritual power will purify impurities or gives incredible power.

I learned about this concept on S-rated type of manga but with a good storyline and illustrations, it is still worth reading. An example of this is Mitsuyokon Tsukumogami no Yomegoryou and Black Bird wherein embracing a human girl with high spiritual power can erase impurities they obtain while using their powers in battles. The procedure also can give that deity or demon an incredible strength which makes them undefeated in every battle with any Yokai.

  • Tengu, Kitsune, Oni, Nue, and Dragon are always in every shoujo supernatural storyline.

I always hear about these Yokai but the most popular is Kitsune (fox demon). Maybe some of you already know about Kamisama Hajimashite and InuxBoku Secret Service since these are popular because of having anime adaptations. Dragons, Tengu, Oni, and Nue are also present in every Supernatural manga. It makes me think if this group of Yokai is that strong to be included in every story. I'm not sure if Yokai has rankings or social classes in Japan's folklore but anime and manga are always showing it.

  • Most of the girl main characters are such a klutz.

I hate this kind of character's personality especially if it's always the main character. Like, why does the girl always have to be so naive and clumsy? They are already in high school or some characters are already working adults or college students. Where is your common sense girl? When your knight in shining armor demon partner told you not to do that, then don't do it because he knows the demon world more than you.

Though, since it is a part of character development and one of the reasons to make the story interesting, it can't be helped. It's still irritating, though. I always skim that part if it comes to that. I'm the one embarrassed by what she is doing even if she is just a character in the manga.

  • All the boys in the yokai world are handsome.

"Demons are made to be beautiful so that they can easily deceive humans and angels are made to be monstrous-like so that they can scare demons."

I can't remember where I have read that idea but it makes sense why all the demons in manga and anime are beautiful in their human form. Aside from that, of course, to attract more readers.

The Last Thing To Consider

All of those ideas I wrote are just my observations as I read shoujo supernatural romance manga. Our perspectives may vary and I respect it. However, whoever of you here has observed the same phenomena, kindly let me know in the comments. But, the most important thing is we enjoy reading our favorite manga.

2
$ 0.32
$ 0.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Ayane-chan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ayane-chan
3 years ago
Topics: Ideas, Comics, Anime

Comments