Impulsive Actions That Must Be Change

0 18
Avatar for Ayane-chan
3 years ago

Have you ever done some things in an impulsive way that you shouldn't have then it caused you trouble later on? Have you ever done any things without thinking then it becomes your biggest regret? Have you ever tried to decide on some things immediately without thinking about them rationally?

Well, this is embarrassing to admit but I did all of that. And yes, mostly on a whim.

When it is already a habit, it's hard to get out of it. Being impulsive on some things is the one that I hated myself with. It's embarrassing when a task failed because of my irrational thinking about doing it. Plus, it becomes even more embarrassing when I am being scolded and blamed for what I did.

I need a change! This is what I'm thinking right now. I used to be lectured like: Cure it while it is still a mild disease. Save yourself before it's too late. But when I'm cornered with the same circumstances again, it is like I never heard any of it and I act like a naive little kid.

Embarrassing Actions I Have Done; Need to change! Need Immediate Action!

Here are some situations that I have through trouble because of my irrational thinking and impulsive actions;

  1. Being a loose-tongue.

Situation #1

My boss asked me if the repairman have already arrived. I immediately answered "NO" without checking, even if I'm not sure about that. Little did I know, my boss called them to verify my statement, and turn out that I was wrong. It appears that they are already there at the back of the house that I just don't notice. I received a 30-minutes lecture from my boss after that. I'm just thankful that it was just the two of us when my boss confronted me or else I will be embarrassed in front of my co-workers.

Situation #2

My boss told me to watch over the MedTech that was collecting blood samples for Blood Works examinations then report when the MedTech is about to leave so that we can give some treats as a courtesy of appreciation. Yes, I watched over but I just only glance at the door from time to time. My boss wonders why it took so long for me to report and asked if that MedTech left already. I instantly answered "Not Yet" with a lot of confidence. Out of my awareness, that MedTech got out of the other door in which I'm not looking. Then again, I got reprimanded by my boss and had a lot of lectures on how to get rid of my habit.

  1. Being an impulsive buyer.

Situation #1

My co-workers are looking online for AirPods. They found a sale for 200 Pesos each. Then, since one of them has a Free Delivery Voucher, they persuaded me to buy it also. I look at the design and like it, then agreed on it, delightfully. I forgot that I have Earphones which are still perfectly working. When the delivery comes and I had received the package, I still haven't used it since I have earphones. It is also kind of a hassle since the battery life can't sustain much longer for the whole day and you have to charge it. I just waste my money on things that aren't essential.

Situation #2

Just today, I bought a lip gloss. The seller is my friend and then so gave me 3 colors of choices. My friend is busy so she left me those lip glosses. She told me that she will give me a discount if I buy all of those three but at first I only intended to buy one. Though after hearing those deals, I just grab my wallet, pulls out some cash, and hand it over to her. I didn't even think of how I could use up all of those three since the Expiry Date is 2022.

  1. Being so blunt.

Situation #1

I'm not a morning person so I do not always have a good mood after waking up. My Uncle always greets me, sarcastically. He knew I'm moody so he loves teasing me. One morning, he greets me again in a sarcastic tone. The way he said it, makes me feel annoyed. Then out of my whim, I almost yelled at him saying, "You're so annoying. Don't ever talk to me again, you old fart!". He stood there speechless, after a few seconds, he left without saying a word. I know he was just joking but I just blurted it in the spur of the moment. It took days for him to talk to me as usual even I apologize afterward.

Reflections

Impulsive actions do not always bring good results. Perhaps, it depends on each situation but for me, it has no good. I have realized that if I don't want to make any mistakes in the future and to improve my reliability, I should invest time and effort to omit those worst impulses. "Think before you act." These are the words that my mother always reminding but it is like an air brushing through my ears and then leaves no trace afterward. But now, it all makes sense.

2
$ 0.81
$ 0.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Ayane-chan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ayane-chan
3 years ago

Comments