Checking Things Out

8 40
Avatar for Ayane-chan
2 years ago

After that flash of sales days ago, it occurs to me that I was too impulsive at that moment. Days before that, I already allocated a budget just for that, and I said that I'll just spend Php 1,000. After receiving three parcels this morning, I suddenly realized that I have spent too much. I haven't calculated how much it was exactly but my guts are already telling me that I have spent beyond my allocated budget. I spray those parcels with alcohol first, then unwrapped them. I put them in my cabinet, then open my phone and start listing the items that I had bought on a spreadsheet.

It was almost double of the amount I set.

After I saw the total costs of all the items that I have bought, I leaned my back on the sofa, thinking that I really messed up. The total costs had me woke up to my senses more than the black coffee that I usually drink. Well, whatever. Anyway, I still have to use those things and I'll still benefit from it. The other items will be given to my parents and siblings, so it's totally fine. After all, there is nothing I can do about it anymore. Still, the thought that I have overspend from my allotted budget is taunting me. So, I just tried to shake it off by talking to some friends @DennMarc, @immaryandmerry, and my best friend in real life.

Hey, did you two get shocked, too? Just your impulsive buyer friend here can't easily sign off and break the habit. LOLs.

I should really work hard this month to gain the money back that I have overspent. I remember that I have to take my child to have a G6PD Confirmatory Test at the hospital when I got back. I started counting my money then, just making sure that I still have spared cash for that. I don't know exactly how much would be the price of that laboratory test but since the only hospital that is conducting that kind of test is a private hospital, I should already expect that they will charge a higher price. No matter how much the price is, I'll just be bear with it since there are no other hospitals in our area that are offering that kind of laboratory test. I tried searching the internet and at their website but I can't find the list of prices of their services. I reached out to a friend that is studying at a college incorporated with that hospital, still, nada. I guess I also have to do it myself when I get back.

After that, I called my Mom to check on our rice fields. Since Typhoon Odette passed and ruined the crops of most of the fields in our place, the rice grains, ("binhi" in the local dialect, but I don't know the right term for it in English, so just let it be rice grains. ^^) that are ought to be sowed for the next crop were also damaged. We can't also buy some in the neighboring fields because theirs were also ruined. We seek help from the cooperatives and the Department of Agriculture but we didn't get anything. Luckily, a field nearby still has remaining rice stalks to be planted and we immediately bought that just so we can crop this season.

It hasn't covered all of the areas of our fields but at least, we have something to harvest and eat in the next three months. I suggested that they should check on some agricultural stores at the town proper if they can find some, and not just to rely on our neighboring fields or in the useless cooperatives. My Mom said that she will try to check next week. That was settled, then. Another thing is our bags of fertilizers. I have her checked that also. She said we are still lacking two bags of it for our sugarcanes. That would be also added to the things that I should save up for. I'm just glad that we don't need it now, or else I would really cry seeing my wallets have zero balances again.

Checked, but totally wrong.

Promo sales are temptations for real. I have a weak heart after seeing those affordable prices of the things that I like. That was my first time shopping on online shopping apps, and I learned a good lesson after that. Track your expenses and tighten your grip with your money. Too bad that I have watched Chinkee Tan's video about it the day after the sale. He said that if you like something, don't buy it instantly. Leave it there and come back at it after 30 days. If you still like the item when you come back, then that's meant for you. Such a good tip, if only I have known that the day before.


Thanks for reading!

  • Images edited from Canva

  • You can also find me at;

Twitter|Instagram|Telegram|Torum|Noise.cash

9
$ 5.40
$ 5.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @immaryandmerry
$ 0.05 from @ExpertWritter
+ 2
Sponsors of Ayane-chan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ayane-chan
2 years ago

Comments

Ako rin nagtatrack ako ng savings and expenses hehe. Minsan may pag ka impulsive rin ako e haha! Kaya maganda talaga na nagtatrack ng gastos para hindi sobra sa savings, baka mamulubi naman ako hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako muntikan, buti na lang naalala ko pa. Higpit sinturon na rin ako sa wallet ko ngayon, baka maubos ko gastos pati pambili ko nang ticket.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

itawa nalang ang gastos kesa iyak hahaha. sulitin nalang ang mga pinamili hahaha

that's a nice tip tho. will apply that next time din para iwas gastos haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nauna kasi yung gastos bago malaman yung tip eh. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahsha sakin maaapply ko pa, nasa cart palang e haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am really sorry for the loss and also rice is the right English for the dialect

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wag ka mav alala haha kasi ako din naranasan ko din yan. Hahaha 😆 nakabudget pero napasobra noon hahaha

Yung mga topic nila na track ylur expenses talaga ang nagpagising sakin. Gusto ko din na nga itrack mga nagastos ko ayaw ko na talaga mapasobra pa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Go na sa spreadsheet, Marengs. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago