A Letter of Longing: A Teacher's Impact Amidst Family Turmoil

0 36
Avatar for Athaliah
10 months ago

Hey, my read.cash family! Just got home from work, and boy, I am so tired! Just kidding. But I wanted to share something with you all. Earlier, I had the pleasure of meeting one of my student's mothers, and we had such a fun talk. It felt like chatting with a close friend.

Anyway, our conversation reminded me of a letter I received from my student during Mother's Day. It made me feel a bit sad because it seems like the child who wrote it is going through a tough time with a broken family. She revealed that the her mom is having an affair with someone the child dislikes. Despite all that, I always remind the student to still love, respect, and treat her mom as her mother, because without her, she wouldn't exist.

Reading that letter left me at a loss for words. I didn't know how to react. But I'm grateful that despite everything, the student sees me as more than a teacher—a mother figure. It saddened me because I don't want her to feel that way. I don't want to replace her relationship with her biological mom. However, it's heartwarming to know that she feels that connection with me. I love my students and treat them like my own, but I would never try to take them away from their real moms.

I hope that children who are experiencing the challenges of growing up in broken families, caused by issues like love affairs, will maintain their respect for their parents. I pray that these children will not be led astray and choose a negative path due to the circumstances they face. It is my sincere hope that educators, like myself, can step in as their second parents, offering guidance, love, care, and teaching them valuable lessons that will lead them towards success, preventing them from engaging in rebellious behavior. Let us embrace these children as if they were our own and provide the support they need.

Athaliah 💚

5
$ 0.16
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Athaliah
10 months ago

Comments