Memories of Murder

10 26
Avatar for Ashutosh.S
3 years ago
Sponsors of Ashutosh.S
empty
empty
empty

Hi guys how are you? I hope you are fine and doing well. I'm @Ashutosh.S back with another article. Today I'll be talking about the Korean movie ' Memories of murder'.

Watched this movie quite a long time ago and this is another master piece by bong-joon-ho, besides Okja and Parasite. It's not your daily crime thriller movie. Why? Because there are tens of prime suspects, but they still don't find out about the murderer and the movie ends with the file being closed. You can compare it with David Fincher's Zodiac. Both are based on true events. That's another great movie I'll write about later.

Plot

The story is about 4 detectives. Due to the mysterious murders of 10 women in one of the provinces of Korea ( I don't remember the name now) between 1986 and 1991, those 3 detectives call another detective from another city in hope to catch the serial killer.

The Korean ' Zodiac' shows us the incapability, bigotry, corruption and the anger that comes after failing to catch a convicted after so failing at so many attempts in the police department. The plan of the criminal isn't glorified here, like the other crime movies. Those movies talk more about how he executed the plan so smoothly and how he planned it. This movie is more about the police being late to the crime scene, no knowledge about how to handle situations like this, etc.

My take

It's really an art movie, to be honest. No one expected thet the director will handle this topic so flawlessly, because of his last movie, which wasn't a failure, but it was a black comedy ( completely different genre).

I enjoyed this movie a lot. There were some points where I thought I don't where this case is going, but so did the detectives. They had no idea whatsoever about after what they are going, which makes the ending even more perfect. The background score is so good that you think that this is the murder where he'll be catched, but he runs off successfully

I don't know the name of actors, but they did a good job. You can feel their helplessness after so many failed attempts. You'll even justify the outrage and the havoc they cause in the restaurant.

The movie was praised by Quentin Tarantino. Why? It includes a lot of cruelty and gore, which apparently bong-joon-ho likes a lot too. There are scenes where they'll be removing murdering objects out of the dead body's vagina and and there are scenes with lot of blood to. Definitely not for the light hearted.

The movie isn't completely on a serious tone. You can see dark humour regularly throughout the movie.

Ending

This is one of the movies where you must specify about the ending. The murders that takes place at the exact moment when the song is aired on radio and when the rain starts, ends in the same way too. The last murder happens when the sad song plays on the radio as well as it starts to rain. But still they can't catch him.

Then the next scene takes place a few years later. Now the detective is a buisnessman, who happens to be in that area where all those murders took place. A little girl asks the detective about what he's doing here? He replies I was here some years ago, doing some work. The little girl replies, there was another man here a few minutes ago . He had a plain face.

Now as they camera focuses back to the detective, the director breaks the fourth wall as in he knew now who's the killer. But it could be both ways. It could also mean that the detective realises that it could be every other man in while of Korea or it could definitely not be the one who was the prime suspect all along.

Conclusion

If you love crime thrillers, this is the one for you. It'll leave restless at the end, that's for sure.

I'll rate it 8.8 out of 10. Definitely worth a watch.

This was my review of the movie. If you liked it, like, comment and subscribe. Please do give feedback. It's so good to hear from the audience as well . Thanks in advance. Until Tomorrow, stay safe. ❤️

7
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Ashutosh.S
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ashutosh.S
3 years ago

Comments

Usefull article. Moreover it's can learn us something. Keep goin. Stay home stay safe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You too dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hoped for the memories of a real murder. The first I had to face is your block with sponsorship, next to the "hi...". Any idea of how you promote you to the outside world. This is so not attractive. I wrote about it in my article CPS and if you read it you know why I will no longer follow you. Good luck 🍀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sure man. No problem. I understand. Can you please state the name of your article where I can read it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Here you are dear.

https://read.cash/@wakeupkitty/dying-a5266327

I wish you a great day 🍀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't understand where I went wrong. Sure I added sponsorship block but that doesn't mean I'm asking for every reader to sponsor me. Only those would sponsor me who is interested in these kind of articles. And I'm sorry about the "hi....." Part. I'm gonna exclude it from next articles. Thanks for the suggestion

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If I read a title or click on an article I like to read the article. Not have to scroll through "Hi this is", etc and sponsorships. It's not professional and to me it's not a good read. I look to read that story, in this case the review not all that info I am not interested in.

If you cannot understand that there's no way I can explain it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ok I understand your point

$ 0.00
3 years ago