Magical trip to... Pekin?

10 44
Avatar for ArteFM
Written by
2 years ago

Thursday, October 28th

Welcome once again to one of my stories, nice and kind people.

🧡Thank you for the support you have given me. Today I am super happy🧡

Let's start with the story...

A few days ago I was talking with my partner about the trips we've taken and the times we've eaten out (all this before Covid).

I remembered the first and only time we have gone camping.

We had never camped before, so we didn't know what to bring. We asked the friend who invited us and he just said "buy a kilo of cheese"

We took overalls, towels, lots of clothes, sheets, the tent, a kilo of cheese and bread. We didn't buy repellent, nor fever, headache or allergy pills, I didn't think it was necessary. Big mistake, always go prepared.

The only thing I knew was that my brother-in-law, my couple and my friend would be there. I didn't really know where we were going, only that we were going to camp near a river by "Pekin".

I didn't know where that place was, what it looked like, let alone how to get there. I just wanted to be part of that adventure. I brought plenty of cash in case we needed it, it was money for the bus fare to the meeting point and the entrance to the place.

My couple and I went first to my brother-in-law's house to go together, he had everything ready, the tent, the clothes, all his stuff. Before leaving we called our friend and he told us that he was already close to the meeting point, so we hurried to leave. We waited for a long time for a bus to go to the meeting point.

We arrived at the place, it was a bakery, and we started looking for our friend, he was not there, but it was quite crowded despite the time and place (very few people go to that bakery).

Our friend was late in arriving, we greeted him and realized that all the people who were in the bakery were also going on the trip, but there were still people who had not yet arrived


When the 16 people were there, we got into a truck. It took us an hour to get to the site, or so we thought, there was still a long way to go, but it was on foot, there were no paved roads, just nature.

We walked to the site for 30 minutes or maybe more. We passed many, many bridges, we skipped stones to cross the river. The "last challenge" was climbing a high stone wall to get to the house hahaha.

It was a fairly simple house, but we weren't going to sleep there, we slept outside in our tents.

We rested from the walk, we were talking a lot. There were many musicians and photographers in the group. We did not know the people we were with, but they knew each other, it was not the first time they traveled there.

I didn't take a lot of photos because I was focused on enjoying nature, but I remember everything I saw. We walked trying not to get lost hahaha.

We bathed in the river that was near the house, we just had to go down the stone wall very carefully because it was slippery.

Soon it began to get dark and we made a bonfire. Around the campfire we began to play and sing. Our dinner was bread and cheese and orange juice.

When night fell, we changed the activity, stopped the music, and began to tell horror stories. They all talked about "paranormal" things that had happened to them or talked about horror movies. We laughed, we were scared, but we had a great time. Then we went to sleep in our tents.

I had never shared so much with strangers, it was weird and nice, I would love to do it again when Covid stops being so dangerous.


In the morning we had a breakfast of arepas stuffed with cheese and meat. We went for a walk around, our destination was a waterfall, but we still did not know anything, we only knew that we were going to walk a lot. We walked for 1 hour, our guides were 8 and 9 year old kids, who joked all the time  and acted like they were lost, they did not make me distrust them, they just gave me a lot of laughter. They are the best guides I have ever had hahaha.

We went over many bridges where only one person could pass at a time, they were quite dangerous, but we continued our adventure. I was very scared, they were very high and I'm afraid of heights.

Then we were on a path where we had to be totally stuck to the mountain and where we had to walk one foot behind the other, the only way not to fall was to hold on to a rusty pipe that was over there, but the pipe was not safe, it could break at any mo. We were almost 3 meters above the river, so my fear of heights had to be calmed, I had to be quite relaxed to cross that difficult challenge hahaha.

We walked a lot, jumped a lot of rocks, got pretty tired. In spite of everything, we enjoyed a lot, the landscape is really beautiful, we are surrounded by a lot of vegetation, plants and the river. The weather is very pleasant.

We arrived at a "small" waterfall. I thought we were going to stay there, how wrong I was, we rested for about 10 minutes, we took a bath and then we went up to that waterfall. It was quite risky, all the rocks were very slippery, you had to climb very steep, you could slip and hurt yourself on the rocks.

We walked a lot more and kept going up.  Finally we came to a super waterfall, it was the waterfall we were going to go to, we were there for a while and then the guys who had been there more than once started climbing that waterfall. I think they had too much adrenaline and I had too little hahaha. That waterfall was about 12 meters, I'm not very good with measurements, all measurements are approximate.

Because of the height of the waterfall they had to be much more careful than before and help each other a lot more, because they could fall. I didn't go up this super waterfall because my knee hurt a lot (I have joint problems), I stayed below with other people who didn't want to or couldn't go up either.

My couple stayed with me, but I know he really wanted to go. I told him he could go, but to be careful. My couple tried to climb alone very carefully without slipping. Here is the evidence of how he was climbing alone hahaha.

In the end everything went well

I don't have pictures of that waterfall, my couple gave me his camera to keep so he wouldn't get wet going up to the waterfall.

It was very cold and we were very tired, but the scenery was wonderful. I don't know how many hours passed before I saw the guys coming down. I started to get ready for the return trip, which was somewhat quicker, I feel it took us longer to go to the waterfall than it did to get back to camp. Before nightfall, we were back at camp.

We re-lit the campfire and made lots of wood-fired arepas while the guys created a relaxed atmosphere with their music. Our friend is a musician so in that house he had piano, guitars, drums, maracas, etc... So the music always accompanied us.

We had dinner and did the same as the day before, we sat around the campfire to sing, tell stories and horror experiences.

The next day ended our magical trip to Pekin, where I would like to return at some point.

But... There is something that happened at night and I have remembered it at this moment since we are close to Halloween... Even though we were going to sleep and there was no one around, there were children's voices, laughing, shouting, talking, hitting the tents and running from one side to the other. In the mornings the stones had marks of small feet and the moment you saw them again they had no more marks. Unfortunately I don't have any pictures of this strange event. We don't know what really happened, but these types of events or unexplained beings are known as "the haunted".

Many stories tell that when you go to the countryside or to the river "the haunted" come out. There are many stories about these beliefs, they say that they are beings in human form that take children or young people and disappear by drowning them in the rivers and that the body of the missing person is never found. Many people who live in rural areas claim to have seen them or say they have had some experience with these beings. It is also said that it is bad to be alone in a river or to sleep nearby because you can be carried away by the haunted ones...

What do you think about this strange event? Have you ever heard about these beings?

In Venezuela there are many myths and legends about goblins, enchanted beings, apparitions, ghosts... The most popular ones are the llorona, the sayona and the silbón.

You can find information about these Venezuelan spirits in @CoquiCoin post

https://read.cash/@CoquiCoin/of-screams-and-whistles-c7f9614d

Note: On the way to Pekin my couple was stung by a wasp on his arm. His arm started to swell a lot and became very hot (he is not allergic, so it seemed strange to us). I got really scared, it's the first time something like that has happened to him. He started feeling dizzy and stopped moving his arm, luckily someone was carrying allergy pills, and within 10 minutes he was better. His arm was back to normal after a short time, but it was quite a scare. Since that day we always carry headache, fever and allergy pills. 

If you want to go camping or go somewhere you don't know on vacation, always carry insect repellent, headache, allergy and motion sickness pills. Remember to always carry all kinds of first aid items, they are very important.

 If you want to remember your trip in photographs, carry plenty of batteries in your camera.

Sponsors of ArteFM
empty
empty
empty

Thanks so much to @RosheiGanda for being my first sponsor, I was so happy to hear this news, I am really very very happy

You can follow his articles, comment and enjoy them.

Thank you very much to all of you dear readers for reaching the end of my article.

I hope you liked my story about the magical trip I had to Pekin and the paranormal experience I lived hahaha.





Thanks to all who joined me in this adventure.

See you in the next article! 🧡

All content is original

The information obtained from the web is indicated

The photos were taken by me

8
$ 1.90
$ 1.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.48 from @Theblackdoll
$ 0.10 from @CoquiCoin
+ 4
Avatar for ArteFM
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

You explained your experience so well with so many pics.. I really loved reading and looking at them and felt like I was being there... I heard from many people that river beds are not that safe at nights as it is believed that creatures roam around water bodies at night... but I'm glad you are okay now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks so much for your comment, yes, I'm pretty good now, it was a strange experience, but it was fun camping. Next time I will be more careful not to stay alone in the river or in the tent.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great adventure, very risky, glad you enjoyed it, I don't like those night terror stories, I can't imagine that experience when you get out of the tent to see who is screaming and running around and you don't find anyone, or these enchanted ones.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really enjoyed the adventure despite the dangers. I don't like those stories either, but those are things that happen. I wouldn't leave the tent

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have reminded me of my forays when I was young. Some years ago. You had a spectacular run. As long as you stay in the Venezuelan countryside and tell night stories about ghosts and the like, you will have these kinds of presences at night. You call them and they come.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha what a horror, I loved the trip. I would love to go camping again, but I don't want to experience ghosts again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It seems you had a nice excursion. And a bit creepy the experience with the haunted.

Luckily, the wasp bite was just a scare. I am allergic to wasp stings. And you're right, you can't go hiking without allergy medicines and basic medications. Saludos!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cheers CoquiCoin, yes it was a good trip, I would like to do it again, but next time I will go more prepared and be more aware of the wasps.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, that was a wonderful trip you had.

My pleasure friend. Nice meeting you in this platform. ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I have many memories of that trip, thanks friend for your support and your comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago