Thai-style eggplant and okra with ground pork

49 32
Avatar for Arif.12
3 years ago

[bad iframe src]

One dish we regularly cook at home is stuffed eggplant. Tortang talong, as we call it in Tagalog, has the singular merit of being both a vegetable and meat dish, thus containing most of the nutrients required for a complete meal.

However, it calls for the separate step of grilling and peeling the eggplant, apart from cooking the ground pork separately, then encapsulating the pork in the eggplant with the help of beaten eggs and perhaps a sprinkling of flour. Afterward, the whole thing has to be fried in hot oil. For a dish that’s supposed to be simple, this can get rather tricky.

Recently, while watching YouTube, I came upon an eggplant dish made by Thai chef Pailin Chongchitnant in her website Hot Thai Kitchen (or Pai’s Kitchen). As with many Thai dishes, it was made spicy with the use of chili paste and a whole long chili pounded to a paste with garlic. But it looked very doable and delicious, without the need for grilling the eggplant separately.

I wasted no time trying the recipe—and putting my own spin on it. I made the dish less spicy and added one of my own favorite vegetables—okra. My husband liked it, and hence it’s now part of my arsenal of recipes at home.

One of the ingredients used by Pai is Thai chili paste. On one of my very infrequent trips to the supermarket, I couldn’t find it. I tried the online shops, and luckily I found bottled Thai chili paste in Shopee. I quickly ordered it and within a few days, it was delivered right to our doorstep.

Here’s the easy eggplant and okra recipe, inspired by Pai’s Kitchen

14
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Arif.12
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Arif.12
3 years ago

Comments

Wonderful writing and amazing photograpy dear.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

💝💓

$ 0.00
3 years ago

💘💘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Pork? Ugh

$ 0.00
3 years ago

🙄🙄🙄🙄

$ 0.00
3 years ago

wow.. greag article dear..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thnks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

subscribe done back plz

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Delicious Liked your article Check my new article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks a lot. Sure

$ 0.00
3 years ago

healthy dish bro

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like this dish is one of my favorite Filipino dishes

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Woow...obviously theres food are good

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow,,like it,,view my post dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sure

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks a lot

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What a lovely dish 🤤🤤 It looks so delicious I want to try it, you can cook that too dear? Yummy 😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sorry dear..we are muslim cant eat pork meat.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hmm..dear i will try one day

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'll this on home but i dont put the orka i dont eat that eheh.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No matter.. U can cook it without okra

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You can make this dish without okra

$ 0.00
3 years ago

great article i like it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks brother

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very good article dear✌✌,i like it❤❤👈

$ 0.00
3 years ago

💝🥰❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thnks a lot dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Welcome dear❤❤👈

$ 0.00
3 years ago

💘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

But i dont eat pork. Dear.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thnks.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like this

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I want to eat this bro

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sure brother. U can make ot on ur home

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah bro

$ 0.00
3 years ago