Proof that we can never learn everything inside the school

0 29
Avatar for Argent
Written by
1 year ago

It's been a while since my last visit here in read.cash due to many reasons but the very first among them is that I'm still deployed in the fields, specifically in an accounting firm for my on-the-job training and so far, this is the only time I've got to write something I learned in the past few days. It's not new to all my readers about my recent appointments due to the update I've made a few weeks since I started my training. It is safe to say that this article may prove to be the 2nd part of that article I've made in prior weeks. Here, I will share what I've learned about real office work scenarios compared to school papers only.

For your updates, It's been 26 days since my first training day. While many might think that a mere on-the-job trainee would only make some assistance to those who are employed which I don't honestly blame because of some truthful instances, however, the firm where I am deployed is different, they treat you as a regular employee which is advantageous.

The first lesson I learned in the firm is how to distinguish and file all sorts of forms, more particularly tax forms which honestly barely even taught in school.

Now, you all probably thinking about how difficult it is to compute taxes given the numerous laws we have. In school, it's too confusing due to fluctuating or overlapping laws governing taxes, maybe that's one of the reasons why many students fail tax subjects. However, in actual offices, the computation of taxes is not that so complicated, well, I personally vouch for that because I did experience computing a client's taxes starting from regular rates, special rates, and so on and it's not something you need to cry on after all the tax codes the clients have used are provided at the back of the documents, the only thing left for you to deal with is to compute and analyze if that client's income is subject to any kind of taxes and penalties, but in many cases, the clients usually submit their documents fully computed and that you only need to check for accuracy.

Another thing, since it is usual that all documents of the clients are fully prepared monthly, quarterly, semi-annual, and annually, you only have one task, and that is to prepare a summary report of all accumulated documents with complete information which will then be used to compute for the actual charges including penalties and soon be settled in the nearest internal revenue office branch. By the way, I was assigned to be the authorized personnel of the firm starting from registering new clients up to settling their bills and charges in BIR, hooray for me! soon enough, the firm will compensate every client's settlement I'll make in BIR, take note, I'm still an on-the-job trainee and not their regular employee.

Also, the firm let us experience summarizing and auditing financial statements, reviewing for accuracy, settling client's payments with astonishing amounts, and dealing with day-to-day clients- by the way they let us deal with them alone after teaching us once. I also have this experience in which they let me settle payments for the first time without anyone accompanying me, they just gave the instructions, and viola! there you go, thankfully I managed.

So, that's it so far for my experiences, I honestly don't think those kinds of things are being taught in school which honestly enlightened me a bit about what result should I expect from my current thesis. It is safe to say that for now, my experience is proof of the present gap that influence skills and expectation mismatch among accounting employer and graduates.

0
$ 2.90
$ 2.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Argent
Written by
1 year ago

Comments