The Bermuda Triangle's First Cases

0 16

You might have recognized it as one of the most mysterious places in the world where ships and planes have mysteriously disappeared, but how did the Bermuda Triangle also known as the Devil’s Triangle started?

I have been surfing the internet and I read many news and articles regarding the Bermuda Triangle. There were reports saying that those who have gone through the triangle and survived cannot remember a thing regarding their voyage. Though personally, I have never been there or even near that location, I still believe that it was an ordinary place. But since I don’t want to make assumptions, I researched and researched on what could possibly happen way back that lead to this location to be known as a dangerous place.

With the coordinates of 25° North and 71° West, we will go back to the history where the Bermuda Triangle all began. According to many articles, the first ever mysterious case happened in 1492 when Christopher Columbus sailed through the Bermuda Triangle and claimed that he saw, what he said to be, a “bursting flame of fire struck the sea”. Columbus is known for his completion of four voyages across the Atlantic Ocean. As I read through many articles regarding the sighting of Columbus, if it is really real, that flame must have been a meteor who at then on is responsible for all the disappearances that happened. The year was 1492, and I think by that time people already have a slight knowledge about what’s going on in the outer space. But I also realized that if that flame was really a meteor, it would have cause a major damage, not just in the sea but also to nearby islands. I’ve been looking into many reports but I can’t find any. Maybe because it happened many, many years ago and I find it hard to believe that it actually happened. Although I have faith in Columbus, I still see it as an impossible thing to happen.

Columbus was not the first recorded disappearance, but rather it happened in a man named Joshua Slocum. Born in 1884, the British-American sailor became famous as the first person to sail alone despite not knowing how to swim. He was fond of the sea and started to join the crew of a merchant vessel at the age of 16. His famous book Sailing Alone Around is all about his first solo circumnavigation on his oyster sloop called the Spray. It talked about his sail with dangerous sea adventures and triumphs. November 14, 1909, he sailed the sea for the West Indies going to South America and was never found. He was declared legally dead in 1924. I think sailing alone can be a proud moment but not in all events. Imagine having no one by your side when you need someone. Though I think he wants to accomplish the fact of sailing alone to maybe prove something, I still think it’s not right to go to a risky adventure having no one beside you. But even though I think he sailed alone, he might have alerted someone, if he had the equipment.

The next recorded incident happened in 1918. A 542-foot Navy cargo ship known as the USS Cyclops covering over 300 men sank in between Barbados and Chesapeake Bay. Despite being one of four Proteus-class colliers in the United States Navy, the ship had never sent a distress signal even though it has all the equipment to do so. In this case, it is totally different from the first incident. This time, it carries hundreds of men and I think was even operated by both the men on board and monitored by the navy seals. In this news, I think I can take back what I said about Slocum. These men in that giant boat had the equipment to send a signal but they didn’t. And by that I think there is something really strange going on in that area. I think any kind of technology, when near that triangle, breaks. Because, of course, if you are in a dangerous place, the first thing you will do, even though you’re in a panic, is either to run or call for help or do both. By the looks of it, they obviously think that they were going to pass that area so alerting someone is a must.

What do you think about these first cases?

2
$ 0.00
Sponsors of AnonymousMaggie
empty
empty
empty

Comments