When I started this article I didn't know what it would be about!

4 58
Avatar for AnonSunamun
1 year ago

Now it is finished, I still don't.

For a moment, just now, I had the dumbest notion I have had in a long while. I was about to make the final conclusion, in one sentence, the opening line for this article. Whatever I did that for though, it had the effect I was hoping for and jumpstarted my writer's blocked writing engine into writing again. One sentence is usually all it takes, no matter what that sentence is.

Sock it to the writer's block!

Or at least that is how it works for me. I haven't got a clue if others experience it the same way I do. Today, though, it is a lifesaver to get past the block. There's a star wars fanfiction story I suddenly seem to have a deadline on.

Hey, don't miss out on awesome content! Check out these sponsors, you'll regret it if you don't!

Sponsors of AnonSunamun
empty
empty
empty

Awesome opportunity!

Which, don't get me wrong, is actually a good thing. I've been approached by a rather well-known and read Star Wars news outlet I shall call them, as they prefer the greater world does not know they sometimes reach out to independent writers for content.

Life-Goal.

For me, it's one step closer to my goal as a writer, at least as a fiction writer, which is to have my name in either the opening or end credits of a canon publication for either Star Wars or Star Trek.

And I am not even picky. If those credits say:

Guy who scratched his balls - Anonsunamun

I would feel my life to be complete. Of course "written by" would be something to be much more proud of but I'll take anything at this point.

More than one goal!

It's not the only goal I have in life, of course, though I've never had many. Another one is to do Route 66 in a Winnebago. Preferably with my Son or an outstanding woman (or both). That would be so exceptional. It would also take me as long as it takes other people to get fed up with traveling around the world.

One other life goal that's worth mentioning is the one I've held longest. It's probably because it is also the vaguest of all of them.

I want to be remembered.

Yeah, I know right? Stupid as sock but no less true. I've always been a history lover, and it has always fascinated me how some people are still being talked about thousands of years after they died.

Enmebaragesi was king almost 6000 years ago, but his name is still known, and his deeds are learned by historians in Sumerian, Akkadian, and Babylonian history. He is known for making the land of Elam submit, but also because he's the first King on the Sumerian King List for which evidence from other sources exists.

Or Khnum-aa whose children, two half brothers, became the best-known human remains among Egyptologists. Their names were Khnum-nakht and Nakht-ankh and they lived around 1800BC.

I often wonder if my name or one of my nicknames will ever be mentioned by anyone 1000 years from now. Looking at my life, the answer is invariably a resounding NO.

My life philosophy, or my life's outlook…

I don't know how to put it correctly, just wasn't compatible with building up a legacy or fame. In fact, my view on life directly opposes the notion. In my core of core convictions, the life we get to have is the only one we get.

That means our lives are too precious to waste on worrying and working and living to accomplish something that we'll not live to experience. That energy is better used to make this life, right here, right now, joy and pleasure to live.

Lived like this since I was 16 years old.

I firmly believe that in our lives, we should have one overriding purpose in all we do, which is to enjoy ourselves and feel as much pleasure and happiness as we can. It's one reason I think it is important that the job you do to make a living is also something you like to do.

I've had 30 years of career but you better believe that I was happy and enjoyed almost every second of my job. That's why I had no problem with 80 or 90 or more hours a week.

But the last past years...

Over the past three years, I've doubted that philosophy more and more, as the lockdowns and other Corona shit condemned us, or at least me, to loneliness. It felt like something was building up to a crescendo of misery to crown the mountains of misery that were poured out over my life over 18 years.

Enlightenment re-achieved!

But last Saturday I could finally go to a big Hardcore event again, and to celebrate my birthday dancing all night to the most outstanding beats and sounds that exist, pumping out of speakers that totaled over 200.000 watts of power. There were some bass kicks that I felt, not just in my stomach and on my skin, but that made my bone marrow vibrate! Ah man, I wish there were words powerful enough to describe how much joy I felt, how happy I was, what a pleasure that night has given me. But there aren't.

The lights came on, the music stopped.

The point, though, is that by Sunday morning when the music stopped and the lights came on, I knew that I'd been right all along. And with that knowledge, known to be fact now, I know that even though I might not leave much of a legacy other than my son, I know I've enjoyed life more than most that have walked this planet, and I'm proud of that. I'm satisfied if that turns out to be the best my life has achieved.

The best advice for achieving greatness and fame.

But all of what I wrote above here wasn't actually the thing I wanted to write about. What I wanted to write about was...well...I wanted to give advice to the youngens of today. The ones who are still in the relatively early part of their lives.

Because these days the pressure to "become somebody" or to "Achieve great things" is greater than ever. So will the disapproval and judgment if one doesn't be equally greater than ever?

R.L.O.O.L.R.P.G. anyone?

Fortunately, I can give you the exploit for the Real Life On and Off-Line Role Playing Game we call our lives, which almost guarantees you'll live to become somebody and achieve great things.

You need to have ambition. You need to set goals and do everything, always, to achieve those goals. Your ambition should make you enjoy what it takes to achieve it.

I wasn't ambitious at all, enjoying my life as it was for years. I didn't need more money or more possessions. I was happy.

Well, we all know how that ended.

So final thought?

*Ambition, if you haven't got any, get it or you are doomed to mediocrity at best.*

Thank you for reading this.

Stay safe and stay happy!

@AnonSunamun

10
$ 4.22
$ 4.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
+ 4
Sponsors of AnonSunamun
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for AnonSunamun
1 year ago

Comments

It's true celebrities died thousands of years ago but we read their books and learn from their lives. If you find your happiness in all the work, it is good to do the work. In fact, it is a matter of stress to achieve something great in the present life, but with strong morale and hard work, everything is possible.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

More success in your journey here 🤗

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Thanks foe this R.L.O.O.L.R.P.G...learned it just now 😁

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Life goal is important learn to be independent to yourself. Strive for your success.

$ 0.00
1 year ago