The Colours Of My Dreams (Poems #7)

0 20
Avatar for An_gelina
2 years ago

The Colours Of My Dreams

As I lay me down to sleep,

I pray my dreams will creep up on me and be vividly real,

To show me things,

to reveal the brightest colours I know,

For in that sleeping state I go to a world

never monochrome,

How I hate my life and home.

My reality's a dull grey at work,

That makes me feel such a jerk for

hanging on for year on year,

Giving them blood, sweat, tear and yet

never moving up or on,

All the passion for it has gone,

It's all kinds of Shades Of Grey but not

even in that playful way.

In my friendships it's so clinical,

Kinda like when my bin is full,

I can't be bothered to empty stuff for it

seems too hard and tough,

So instead of dropping dead weight I

hover reluctantly and I hesitate,

It ain't so black 'n white you know

Letting the dead wood finally go.

But in my dreams oh the release,

it's like a glorious sleeping disease filling

my vision with rich colour,

Making them sing and be fuller,

Giving them energy and power and

making me love every hour,

Sleep's release for my active mind,

My escapist bolt hole you will find.

Eyes closed I see yellow and red,

Fills my active imagination in bed,

Lights like fireflies are still swirling so

pretty they have my toes curling,

I can be with who I want and see

whatever I wish where I like to be,

There I'm not buried under the soil all

falling heavily in on me with toil.

Colour me in my beautiful blanket,

I couldn't even begin to then plan it as it

just happens so right magically,

My vivid dreams on a colour spree,

Shooting all with their criminal lie for I

know it's all in my mind's eye,

They're fantasies I learn will feed me,

As I live in my dreams far more really.

2
$ 0.31
$ 0.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for An_gelina
2 years ago

Comments