The Unexpected Generosity

23 43
Avatar for Amy05
Written by
2 years ago

Generosity shows in different ways, we may not expecting it to receive but, we will just jump in surprise if it happens in unexpected way.

Yesterday night, I received a message from my messenger account while writing an article that I published yesterday also. That time, I am so exhausted and I just expressed my feelings through writing that's why it was the theme of my previous article.

Since I am so tired, receiving that message made me tired even more. My former classmate in high school who happens to lived on the same barangay where I'm living chatted me, asking if I can encode and layout his resume and print right after finishing the soft copy. He was asking me that time if I can do it right away but, I just said that I can't do it immediately given the fact that it was already late (I think, that was about 11:00 pm), so I said that I will just work on his request the next day which is today.

He sent me the details of his resume, as well as the supposed layout he wanted. He keeps on messaging me but, I still entertained his request given the fact that it was really my job since my family owns a printing business wherein I am the one assigned to print for the customers.

Going back, that guy was actually kind, and I can't just disregard his request since he is our customer, my former classmate/friend, and a very responsible father to his child. He is currently working in Manila to earn a decent amount of money to sustain his family's needs, so me, despite the tiredness, I promised him that I will accomplish encoding and printing his resume today. To clear things up, that resume will be used in other purposes, so don't be confused if he is already working but still asking me to print his resume.

As a student who is always attending online class during weekdays and Saturday, I haven't finish it immediately in the morning. But, I am glad that my instructor scheduled to discuss in our first subject just gave as a reinforcement activity about Subject-Verb Agreement, which I finished immediately since I am already familiar with the rules and everything seems basic, so after that, I worked on my customer's resume.

I encode it all, but, I keep on asking from time to time to my customer especially because he wanted all the details to be included in one letter size coupon, but, it seems impossible since he provided several details.

To cut the story short, he just instructed me to omit some details that are less important, and that made me finish it on time and I printed it right away for the hard copy.

After accomplishing it all, I thought his wife (the one he assigned to pick the hard copy in our house) will get it right after, but, I was wrong since it's already evening, and no one showed up. I was about to chat him, but, his message popped up in my messenger app. He asked me the total fees and I replied him "3 pesos each copy," since he asked for 4 copies, I came up with the total of 12 pesos.

He was surprised to hear the fees as it seems to be very affordable compared to other printing shops, but I just answered him that the fees is only for the printing process and I am not asking for my own fees for encoding. I don't want to ask for high fees from my customer especially because he was not different to me since we knew each other for a long time. He was not in favor with how I computed the fees he was about to pay, that's so low and may not be justifiable enough especially for the service I provided. I said, "it's okay," and he just replied "thank you" which I reacted "❀️" on it.

And now, before starting to write this article, he chatted me again, informing me that his sister will be the one to pick up the printed copies on Saturday and he even said that I don't have to give change for the money and I will just have to accept it wholeheartedly which is 100 pesos. That's too much already, the fee is only 12 pesos, and he's paying for 100 pesos, there should be a change to that which is 88 pesos, but he clearly stated that I should accept it all since I exerted an effort in doing his request even if I am busy with so many things. It's a big amount already for me, and as much as I wanted to argue with him, I just said "thank you very much" since he was already not accepting any replies of me about refusing to receive such amount.

CLOSING THOUGHTS

I wasn't expecting him to be that generous because I know that he is also struggling in working for his family. He is not selfish and he acknowledged the efforts of whoever he asked to do something. Instead of asking for lower fees as a sign of practicality when it comes to paying for something, he even decided to make it higher than the supposed total payment.

This will forever marked in my life as having this job in our printing business. His generosity is one of a kind and he deserves to be applauded for that.


Author's Note:

Just like that, this month (September) will end and tomorrow (October) will welcome us. I am so happy with everything happened this month, whether the good and bad things that made us all inspired and motivated to move forward. Aside from that, I am glad to say that I achieved my goals this month and that includes writing one article per day, so this September, I wrote a total of 30 articles including this one. May we all have better days ahead as we welcome October tomorrow.

I want to express my gratitude for those who are consistently supporting me everytime I'm publishing my works. To all of my old and new readers, thank you very much for always leaning your time in reading my articles. And to my sponsors, I am so grateful for having you all, I hope you are all doing fine and happy.

May God bless you always! πŸ˜‡β€οΈ

Advance Merry Christmas! πŸŽ„πŸŽ…


Date Published: September 30, 2021

Lead Image and Gif: Originally made by me using Canva

10
$ 4.06
$ 3.88 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Expelliarmus30
$ 0.03 from @gwapojohn
+ 5
Sponsors of Amy05
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Amy05
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

WOw😱it so rare to find student like you for having hard time for your study. Just keep going and all will be paid offπŸ™πŸ‘Œ

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you, I will surely keep going and try my best to achieve my goals. Looking forward to all of it to be paid off.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes just continue doing to strive your goals. Strive it with faith and for sure you will have it..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana po ay yung iba tao ay ganyan din po mag isip. Yung tipo po na kino-consider po nila yung pagod ng iba. Mabait po sya at kayo din po dahil hindi nyo po sinama yung pagod nyo sa mga fees po.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sana nga ay mas mangibabaw pa ang kabutihan sa mundo, na hindi sa lahat ng bagay, puro selfishness lang ang pinapairal at marunong mag-appreciate sa efforts ng ibang tao. Let's spread kindness always.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama po. Yan lang po talaga ang kailangan ng mundo ang kabutihan para maging maayos na po ang lahat. Correct po ipalaganap natin lagi ang kabutihan. 😊 β™₯️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Generosity will always beget generosity too. You are so kind to do his resume for him so I guess it's his willingness to give back the kindness

$ 0.02
2 years ago

And that's what makes me feel flattered, as he appreciated the efforts I've exerted. But, even if there's no money involved, I will still be happy that I've helped someone even in a simple way. Anyway, thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People who have less knows the efforts of others. That's why sis ganun siya. And I believe he would be more bless.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You're right po, they know how to value and appreciate simple acts from someone. Sure po yan, kung sino man ang may magandang kalooban, for sure God will do everything to shower them with grace or blessings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed I believe that as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good people do exist in this world. You help others and that's why you have got what you deserved.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Good people are everywhere and they are just out there spreading kindness, and I'm so glad that I've encountered one. We should all be kind always.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It will really not cost us anything to be kind. And kung sino pa talaga yung hindi masyadong privilege in life, sila pa yung mapagbigay. πŸ’—

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Nakakahanga nga po yung ganung act, and tama po kayo, kung sino pa yung hindi gaanong mayaman, sila pa yung mas nakaka-appreciate ng efforts ng ibang tao and hindi sila nagdadalawang isip na magbigay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana talaga we can all be kind in our own way. πŸ’—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bait naman niya, kung sino pa yung hindi masyadong pinagpala sa buhay sila pa ang yung may mga magandang loob. Salute din po ako sayo kahit gabi na at may class kayo ginawan mo pa din siya ng resume. Sana marami ang taong kagaya niyo, mabait at maunawain.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww, thank you po. Super bait nga po niyang customer ko na yan, as for me, trabaho ko rin po kasing magbigay ng magandang serbisyo sa mga customers sa printing business namin, so baka, ganun din po marahil ang gagawin ng ibang tao kung nasa parehas na posisyon kami. Maraming salamat po ulit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome, God bless!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Akala ko magrereklamo siya sa bayad hindi pala heheh..buti napagsasabay mo yung business niyo at yung pag-aaral mo. Congrats kumpleto article mo ngayong month hehe ako kase 10 days or more na wala akong article hehe..sana nextmonth may article ako per day hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Akala ko nga rin tatawad pa eh, but unexpectedly, mas tinaasan pa nila yung ibabayad nila sakin, super generous talaga. Anyway, thank you, pero ngayong October baka hindi muna ako makapagsulat ng 1 article per day, kasi nagsisimula ulit maging busy for midterm. Goodluck din sa'yo, for sure you can achieve your goals too kasi alam kong responsible ka talaga. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago