Let's Talk About Motivations: Extrinsic vs Intrinsic

19 34
Avatar for Amy05
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Motivations, Success

Motivations are great driving force for us to strive more in doing or achieving something we want in our lives.

There are times that we feel like we can't do something but, when reinforcement occurs, that's the time when our doubts started to fade away and our vision towards our goals becomes clearer than ever.

When I was in 1st year college, there was a topic in one of my subjects in professional education that talked about the types of motivation. There are actually several types discussed by the presenter and my instructor but, simplifying those, there are two general types that I will be sharing with you today.

I know, some of you are already familiar with this but, for the sake of those who aren't familiar yet or those who wants to learn more about it, here are the types of motivation I am talking about.

1. Extrinsic Motivation

Extrinsic motivation is driven by external forces. Meaning, this occur outside ourselves particularly with someone's intervention and doesn't really came from within our minds and hearts. These are the motivations that are very common in kids wherein we can use it to encourage them in doing something.

Let's say for instance, we can ask a child to write his/her name in a piece of paper but, when he/she is not in the mood, there's a possibility that he/she will disobey us. So, as a strategy, we can use extrinsic motivation to make them act and do what we want them to do. For example, we will give them some rewards like buying them toys, ice cream, money and etc.

Aside from kids, this motivation is also applicable in older ages. Let's say for instance, I have my friend whose not into studying before but, after the deal he made with his parents, he became motivated to study harder for the rewards when he graduated and reached his goals. The rewards offered to him at the end, is all about money and material things. His parents promised him to give huge amount of money and buy whatever things he wants to. They are well-off family, so it's kinda reasonable for them to have a deal like that which I can't relate to. Hahaha

2. Intrinsic Motivation

Opposite of extrinsic motivation, intrinsic motivation came from within a person. These type of motivation doesn't have any human intervention and doesn't necessarily associated with promises and rewards given by other people. It comes from within ourselves meaning, it's our own will and initiative to do something because we created our own motivation that will help us to be more encouraged and confident to achieve our goals.

For example, my parents didn't promise me to give expensive things when I graduated in college but, I still strive to finish my studies because I have this goal of being successful in my chosen profession for me to have a better life in the future and for me to give back to my parents, realizing the efforts and sacrifices they made for me to be successful.

I know, most of you are driven with instrinsic motivation too, especially because I can clearly observe how everyone of you works for your dreams even if you aren't being commanded to do so, just your own will. Some users here have their goals every month and they are writing monthly reports and achievements which I admire fully.

Which of the two is more effective?

These two are both effective depending on the person utilizing it. There are some people who feel motivated more when rewards are presented given by someone like their parents, friends, boss, and among others. There are some people too, who prefer motivation coming from within themselves.

On the other hand, in my own opinion and experience, intrinsic motivation is more effective on me as I grow older. Yes, when I was a kid, I was more on driven with extrinsic motivation but now, I realized that my own will to do something is effective than being dictated by other people around me. Even if my parents, friends, and colleagues will not give or reward me something, I will still strive in achieving my goals because that's what I want to pursue.

I believe, when motivation comes from within it cannot be easily broke no matter what happens.

CLOSING THOUGHTS

Motivation plays a very important role in our lives. It makes us feel alive and confident to pursue what we want and it's one of the reasons too why we can't easily give up. It matters a lot especially in achieving our goals. If someone's not motivated in life, I do believe that there's a lesser chance for him/her to succeed.

We have to think and feel about what we really want to achieve, and try our best to dig deeper and create motivations that will drive us to make our dreams come true like a magic.


Author's Note:

I want to express my gratitude for those who are consistently supporting me everytime I'm publishing my works. To all of my old and new readers, thank you very much for always leaning your time in reading my articles. And to my sponsors, I am so grateful for having you all, I hope you are all doing fine and happy.

May God bless you always! ๐Ÿ˜‡โค๏ธ

Advance Merry Christmas! ๐ŸŽ„๐ŸŽ…


Date Published: September 23, 2021

Lead Image and Gif: Originally made by me using Canva

9
$ 4.68
$ 4.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @JLoberiza
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 6
Sponsors of Amy05
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Amy05
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Motivations, Success

Comments

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about motivation, it's true that if motivation comes from within it cannot be easily broke no matter what happens. Because, you will do what all better than your best just to strive and get it, specially when you are motivated because of your family...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Intrinsic motivation lasts longer than extrinsic. Intrinsic came from our own selves which means the drive or the will to do something comes within us and not from the outside nor rewards.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

And it's more satisfying if we reach our goals through that inner motivation. Yes, it will last longer and it can't be easily influenced by others so, they can't take that away from us, unlike extrinsic motivations wherein if someone changed his/her mind in giving us the rewards, the motivation will be gone as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes that's it, Amy. That's also why I am doing things because of my will and not because of something else

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will be going to choose the reality over the others LOL. Motivation by what we see is better. Striving to be out of the poverty is what every day motivates me.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I like your thoughts. Sometimes or most of the time, we strive harder when we see motivations around. And yeah, getting out of poverty is one of my motivations as well to work harder and smarter.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our motivation serves as our pusher to strive more and harder. As for me, the motivation we get from ourselves is the best of all.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's right, motivation matters a lot especially if it comes within us and no one can take that away from us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess extrinsic motivation works well for kids. And intrinsic motivation develops as a person matures...

And... I think the most successful people are those who are highly motivated internally.

Nice post

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's exactly my thoughts as well when it comes to those successful people. Motivation comes from within will not fade easily, and it's very strong and effective in driving us to reach our goals in life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just getting to know the type of motivation, I must say that I grabbed a lot of things from what you stated here. The majority of kids are being captured with extrinsic motivation, and that is to build them make them back better person, but at times goes one it might fade.

An intrinsic will keep on burning in us even when we are surrounded with negativity motivatoin is just like a fuel that will keep on driving us till we get to the right destination.

Thanks for sharing this.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

As we grow older, we realized that Intrinsic motivation becomes more effective because just like what you've said it's like a fuel which drives us to the right destination we're supposedly heading. Thank you as well for reading. โ˜บ๏ธโค๏ธ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Motivation is like our inspiration to strive harder...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly, it drives us towards the right path of success.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Classifications of motivation. That's a great work done by you. You can see the differences going through the content. Well said dear.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks for the compliment, dear. ๐Ÿ’—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Motivation is the thing you will get nowhere but you will have to generate it within yourself.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True, there are lots of motivations around but, it's our choice to grab and generate it within ourselves.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes, sis kaya fighting lng!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago