5 Types of Rest: The Rests We Need to Be Fully Alive Again

9 30
Avatar for Amy05
Written by
1 year ago

From a long day of working hard, we all need time to rest or take a break from all the stress we've been through.

Lately, I feel like I'm draining most of my energy, not just physically but holistically, and I know that most of you might be feeling the same way. There are time that we just want to rest after working continuously throughout the day yet when the night comes, we can't rest fully since our mind is still filled with thoughts that keep us awake.

That's why, we badly need rest not just physically but in terms of other aspects as well. As I've gone through some readings in Deepstash, I got to learn ideas about some of the important rests that we need to consider in order to fully recharge ourselves. These are:

PHYSICAL REST

This is the type of rest that we're all familiar with. After a long day, our body longs for a nap, full sleep and other active physical rests such as meditation, yoga, and among others.

We need this type of rest in order to bring back our physical strength and not gets weak when we're about to continue our job for the next hour or day. Aside from that, physical rest will help us get rid of possible sickness such as weak muscles, damaged bones, and etc.

MENTAL REST

Of course, we also need to calm our mind by taking a break from stressful or negative thoughts. We need to fill our mind with positivity and get rid of something that might lead us to overthinking.

Just like what I've said earlier, even if we want to sleep already (a form of physical rest) if our mental state is still unstable we won't have the chance to rest at all. Negative thoughts will keep us awake and we won't have energy later on.

EMOTIONAL REST

Just like the previous one, we also need to calm our emotions/feelings in order to rest fully. Cut the ties between those things that make our emotion unstable. If we got frustrated with something, let's try our best to divert our attention to more valuable ones.

Though it's not easy to do, let's still do our best to rest emotionally by keeping ourselves away from emotionally-triggering moments/situations and by finding some motivations that will lift our emotions up.

SOCIAL REST

As an introvert, this is what I'm always longing for after draining my energy with socializing stuff. Yes, interaction is a must but we also need to rest from stressful socialization. Let's give ourselves a time to rest alone and reflect from our past actions and behaviors.

Though, if you're an extrovert and being alone makes you uncomfortable, then I respect your choice. What I just want to point out here is that social rest is a must as well because aside from it will give us chance to reflect from our past actions, we will also learn how to be independent by learning how to be at peace without other people's help.

SPIRITUAL REST

Aside from resting physically, mentally, emotionally, and socially, we also need to consider spiritual rest such as praying or connecting ourselves to God.

With all our stress, problems, doubts, and fears, to be with God's holy presence makes us fully alive again. Praying to Him isn't only about asking for a blessing. We pray because we want to thank Him for all the blessings and strengths He has given to us. With that, we can rest fully knowing that God is within our mind and heart, guiding us in all our endeavors in life.


CLOSING THOUGHTS

Lack of Rest will prevent us to do better so we really have to consider taking a break not just in terms of physical aspect but also when it comes to mental, emotional, social, and spiritual aspects.

Resting is okay and will never be a sign of weakness. We just have to take a break for a while and continue again once we're fully recharge.


Author's Note:

First of all, I want to say thank you for leaning your time to read this article. I hope, you gained valuable knowledge from it that may help you in whatever aspect you have there.

Second, thank you for those who are supporting me in my journey here. From my readers, sponsors, and friends, thank you for always being there.

Lastly, I hope we will all have a prosperous day everyday, and a life full of blessings from above. Godbless us all. ❤️


Date Published: June 29, 2022

Lead Image: Unsplash

GIF: Originally edited in Canva

4
$ 0.30
$ 0.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @BCH_LOVER
Sponsors of Amy05
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Amy05
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Most of us only get a chance to have physical rest and we opt to forget another kind of rest. Ako di ko po talaga magagawa Yung mental rest Kase puro overthink po ako eh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This kind of rest is what we need right now. Lately medyo pagod and nakakadrain po talaga and honestly, more on physical rest lang nagagawa ko. Hayst,I think I also need to practice some kind of rest

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Totoo po yan. Mostly sa atin, physical rest lang ang nagagawa which is not enough. Kaya we need to practice other rests din para talagang fully recharged katawan natin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I guess, this types of rest is what I really need right now. Been so busy lately that I felt like my body is so tired.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Same po. Medyo drained din po ako lately, and I badly need to rest din. Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same, drain na drain yung energy ko lately tsaka medyo stress mentally kaya need ko ng rest. Need natin ng pahinga para makapag grind ulit tayo ng maayos

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tama po kayo. Madalas po kasi if drained tayo, masyado tayong preoccupied na makapag-grind. Kaya need po natin ng pahinga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

All the kinds of rest you've started above are very important, I remember the period when I was heartbroken, I really wasn't myself throughout that period, so I met with a psychologist who suggested I go on emotional break. And it was really helpful

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I hope you're okay now. Taking a break is really important for us to be at peace again after going through difficult times.

$ 0.00
1 year ago