What are you passing through?

1 24
Avatar for Amnaaa
Written by
2 years ago

WHAT ARE YOU PASSING THROUGH?

There was this old woman I knew. She had three legs(walking stick), was blind and could not do anything on her own. Despite been supplied with everything money could buy to sustain her in her condition, she got tired. She wished she could see again, walk again and carry out her daily activities by herself. If wishes were horses, beggars would ride. None of her dreams came to accomplishment, her condition deteriorated beyond treatment, she died.

There was this other woman whom we always help with farm work. She had an only son who deserted her and went to the city without bringing returns to appease the old woman. She was partially deaf and speaking to her meant dissipating a lot of energy if she must hear you. She became very old, with no one to care for her needs. Eventually, she became blind. Old age, partial deafness plus blindness. It became that bad. She died.

There was this old man I came across on my way to the market sometime back in 2020. Sitting naked right ahead of me beside the road, I slowed down my movement, walking calculatingly, perhaps considering him to be a mad man, waiting to see his reaction towards me. Since that was the only way I had to follow, I walked on fully prepared for what he would do. As I walked closer, all I initially thought was wrong. This man had his right leg decayed to the bone from the thigh down to the knee. My eyes turned away at the sight of that as though under a reflex action. Who would feed him? Who would have the courage to care for his health? Where was the family? I kept asking myself with no single answer coming up. I never saw him again.

What are you passing through?

You have been given the privilege to see today, it is not a right. Whatever you are passing through, remember someone is watching over you. Remember that the good things you have are not given to you because you deserve them, it is because of the love your creator has for you. Waking up this morning wasn't your decision, it was God's own decision to fulfil his promises for your life through his unmerited favour upon you.

Have you no course to appreciate your maker for all he has been doing in your life? God loves you. You are not better than those who are suffering from one situation or the other. A lot of people died without falling sick, the accidents and many more you can think of. The sudden death of people around you keeps shocking you but here you are, strong and healthy. God loves you. He needs no money from you, but you just have to appreciate him. Say something to your Creator today.

DISCIPLINE, THE FRAME OF REFERENCE

Growing up as a child taught me hard lessons about defaulting to the laid down rules. Being deprived of certain pleasures was not awesome as I usually felt dejected. Barely did I learn I was been streamlined to fit in for greater pleasures ahead.

Virtually every one of us passes through a little segment of discipline as enforced compliance or systematic method of obtaining obedience.

Discipline in its nature is not awesome in most cases as it denies us some things. Yes, that is how it goes. It goes beyond doing as you wish, but rather doing as the rule demands. When I was a child, I had this feeling that our father hated us. This came as a result of his persistent correction in the acts of beating. On the other hand, my cousins had the power to do and undo, they had the freedom to do whatever they wanted.

As it stands now, I can boldly say that we are now enjoying those things they enjoyed and we are morally upright. Their case is nothing to write home about.

Do not overlook any form of misbehaviour among your young ones. Dare to correct and reposition them on the right track.

Don't say; nobody is a child. No! Is not everyone we see is the adult we see in the physical, they are children on the inside. They need a frame of discipline to enable them to grow into adults. It is not by physically correcting them, but the way you talk to them backing up your discussion with reasons is a simple way of instilling discipline.

https://cdn.pixabay.com/photo/2016/04/20/03/27/girl-1340384_640.jpg

2
$ 0.08
$ 0.08 from @LucyStephanie
Avatar for Amnaaa
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Ah yes, we must learn to be grateful for what we have and help those we can help. Life may not seem good but it is way better than others if we compare it to the truly unfortunate ones.

$ 0.00
2 years ago