Something you don't know about me

1 9
Avatar for Amnaaa
Written by
3 years ago

SOMETHING YOU DON'T KNOW ABOUT ME

As an undergraduate, I wasn't good with spelling and writing. It was very difficult to articulate my thoughts into writing. Trust me, It was awful.

And that made me scared of writing and speaking.  My Igbo accent was always visible in my speech.

Sometimes my friends and roommates often laughed at me. Though I always tried to defend myself until I stopped trying to defend myself but to join them to laugh instead.

But let me shock you.

Just a year after graduation, I have learned so much that all these lapses have been filled, and I have improved tremendously.

I can confidently create good content and also communicate effectively and efficiently. A lot has happened to me and I'm very proud of the improvements. Even though I'm not yet at the place I want to be, I am taking the necessary steps.

So you see, it's a gradual process, but you just have to start.

HOW TO POSITION YOURSELF FOR OPPORTUNITIES

As a young beautiful girl, the only thing I love doing was to snap pictures, update my profile, of course, there will be comments and post on websites at the end of the day, all I achieve is meeting new friends.

I loved the attention and admiration I got but trust me it wasn't receiving credit alerts.

I love the likes and comments just like every other girl.  I follow every trend on social media and its numerous challenge. I was never concerned about positioning myself for better opportunities.

I was never Intentional about my personal growth and development.

Until last year when the lockdown was announced.

I decided to learn something online. That was when I saw a " *Graphics Design Class* " thank God I took that bold step even though it took me time before I was able to design with my smartphone.

I have been able to learn other skills and also other opportunities just because I took that class.

Sometimes the only thing we need is information.

Note: you're not doing certain things because you have not gotten the right information.

Positioning yourself is not about writing a "Mind-blowing Resume". You need to learn a skill and the moment you put it out there, opportunities will come knocking.

Stop wasting your data online looking at how many people commented on your fine pictures and how many likes you've got. Who cares about how many likes and comments you have. No company will employ you based on that.

WHY YOUR DON'T GET REPLIES FROM PEOPLE

This wasn't what I planned to post today but I believe a whole lot of young people need this.

When I started on this space, I faced this problem.

I wanted to connect with great minds and to learn from them, unfortunately, in all the messages I sent to them, I never get any reply.

I know many young people have experienced this.

So I'm here to help you, and tell you how you can get anyone attention.

One thing you should know is that these people are busy, they have deals they properly sealing online and they don't have time to start answering your Almighty "HI and HELLO" messages.

You can never get someone's attention with "HELLO or HI" some persons even go as far as sending "Hello beautiful". As if they are tossing a secondary school girl.

These are wrong ways to approach someone online and you will never get their attention

So how do you go about it? When you want to connect with someone the first thing you should do is :

* Check the person's profile, get to know what he/she is into, it is someone that has a certain belief, standard, personality, or principles.

Looking at the profile will tell you who the person is and that will guide you on how to send a DM. It's only a schoolgirl that is just online to chat that will your "Hi, Hello, beautiful, pretty and all that".

* Secondly, you don't send a greeting and start waiting for the person to respond. Eg. Good morning then you start waiting for the person to respond to your greeting.

When you want to connect to someone through the inbox, use what the person is doing online to get his/her attention. I learned a whole lot from me(depends on what it is) I would like to connect with you so I can learn more.

With this, you will get a reply.

If it's an inquiry you want to make, then you go straight to the point.

I'm not saying everything should be formal but get the person's attention first before you start building an informal relationship. You don't just go into someone DM with " hello, hi, how are you, what is your name, where are you from, what do you do".

I believe you learned something

So tell me, how long did it take someone to reply to your message.

MISCONCEPTION ABOUT ENTREPRENEUR

I had a conversation with a young lady who told me that she would have loved to do a lot of things, but she just doesn't want to be an entrepreneur because of the risk and stress it involves.

I was shocked and then I  realized that I was once like her.

The dictionary didn't give us the full definition of an entrepreneur. It defines an entrepreneur as someone who sets up and runs his/her businesses.

What a half-truth and that's why many people are scared of unleashing their inner abilities and potentials because they don't want to be an entrepreneur.

Well, to me entrepreneurship is a MINDSET that we develop over time. As we grow, learn, and get to know something, our mind is then developed.

Even as a working-class individual, as long as you keep adding value to your organization, then you're an entrepreneur because it's only that entrepreneurial mindset that will push you to do things in your place of work.

Do you think people that are entrepreneurs don't have bosses or people who they work for?

And so, you decided to become an entrepreneur by sacking your boss because a motivational speaker told you to sack your boss to become an entrepreneur.

Hell NO! Entrepreneurs are people who continue to add value to their world. They keep bringing up solutions to problems. You can be working and still be adding value to people around you, thereby creating different sources of income.

Don't sack your boss because you want to be an entrepreneur and stop saying you don't want to be an entrepreneur because you don't want to run a business.

Think of what to do to add value to your world and see how it will pay off for good.

https://cdn.pixabay.com/photo/2018/03/12/12/32/woman-3219507_1280.jpg

4
$ 2.61
$ 2.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Amnaaa
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

I enjoyed this article and I must say information is the key to understanding all and taking yourself out of ignorance. We need to focus on something to add values to ourselves. Develop yourself first before finding that awareness. Everyone is busy and do not have time for casual greeting of a sort. Learn to approach them and let them know what you can offer or get from them. Thanks for sharing.

$ 0.02
3 years ago