Room beside

0 32
Avatar for Alther
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Shortstory

"Tobi, please save these boxes to the room next to you." mother orders. "Who knows it will be useful,"

I immediately brought a pile of cardboard folds to the room next to me. At that time our family just moved in, so we had to organize a lot of things. Fortunately, our new house is very big and has two floors, so we don't have to be cramped anymore like in the old house.

When I entered the room next to my room, a large window was immediately displayed there without a curtain. I can see the forest view from there very clearly. The treetops waved as if inviting me to go there. But that's what I wanted. I mostly like camping or exploring unfamiliar forests. And fortunately, father allowed me to camp in the forest.

The afternoon went on. My older sister, Ms. Dona, helped my father and mother constantly, until dusk came to pick us up. After closing all the curtains and cleaning ourselves, we immediately had dinner together in the dining room.

The clock was 10 PM when I hurried into bed. The rock music that came from my sister's room was torturing me at that time. Even though the room is downstairs, the music still reaches my ears.

I really can't sleep.

Until finally a voice came from the room next to me. A sound that was quite loud, and made the floor of my room vibrate. I immediately got up and listened carefully. It was the sound of the window slamming. No more mistake. But who slammed it?

And at that moment, the rock music from my sister's room stopped at once. There was silence. But before long, I heard the sound of footsteps running up the stairs and past my room. After that the sound of his footsteps could not be heard again. I thought it was Kak Dona who was running. Maybe he also heard the window slam loudly, then immediately ran toward the room next to me. Finally I got out of my room.

"Brother? Are you there? " I asked, knocking on the door to the next room.

No answer. Out of curiosity, I opened the door. It turned out that there was absolutely no one inside, and the large window was still closed and locked. How strange, I thought.

Suddenly there was a girl's voice asking for help!

"Please ... Help me ..."

I was really shocked. "Who is that?!" I said

"Help me … "

I turned to and fro, looking for the origin of the voice. But I didn't find it. And even though I was lying in my room, the creepy voice continued to haunt me all night. I was really scared and couldn't sleep.

"Is it true?" said Kak Dona. "Even though I left my rock cassette on until midnight."

"Impossible. I actually heard that the rock music in my brother's room died after the sound of the window slamming. Then came the sound of footsteps running up the stairs, ”I explained. At that time we were having breakfast I told everything to my brother, father and mother.

Mother only smiled at my words. "Maybe you just dreamed,"

"You're not used to this house, so ... well your hallucinations are starting to play around and bother you." added father. "If you are used to it, it certainly won't be like that,"

I complained to myself. Why do they never trust me? Whereas for Ms. Dona, everything she told was always responded to and trusted. Me and him are only 3 years apart. I'm in 8th grade junior high school, while he's in 2nd grade high school But my friends say that older people are more trusted.

"Oh yes, tonight, your uncle will come to stay here." Father said breaking my reverie. "He will come with Arine. Let them choose the room they want to occupy, "

Arine. Yes. Who doesn't know him. The child is the same age as me, but has advantages. She is smart, spoiled and beautiful. His wealthy parents raised him with great affection. Everything he wanted was always fulfilled. In front of my parents or other people, she is a cute girl who is full of courtesy. But in front of me, he is an arrogant and cunning boy. “Why choose? Let them sleep in the room next to me. " I said annoyed.

Dad looks at me. "Tobi, listen to dad. Your uncle found this mansion. Your uncle asked the owner of this house to cut the selling price so it wouldn't be too expensive. And your uncle also paid half of it. " Father was silent for a while, watching me closely. “They are our special guests. So take care of your attitude when they come. If you do something bad, Father determines the punishment. Understand?"

And in the evening they did come. Father and mother prepared all this carefully. Luxurious meals were served at the large, long dining table. All rooms are mopped, and Ms. Dona is wearing her best clothes.

Unfortunately, Arine chose my room to be occupied.

I had to sleep in that creepy room with only one mattress, a thin blanket and a hard pillow. It sucks. Arine just smiled smugly with her waist as she chose my room and saw me frown because of it.

Night fell. As usual, I couldn't sleep. I didn't turn off the light, and I let the blanket wrap around my nose. I stay awake. It felt like time was spinning so fast. 9 o'clock, 10 o'clock, 11 o'clock. And I still can't sleep. My ears are tight. But at that moment there was absolutely no sound. An hour passed. No, not an hour. But it's 11 past 59 minutes 55 seconds. I continued to watch the wall clock and counted the seconds. 56, 57, 58, 59… And just then, the clock chimes in the living room chimed loudly. It surprised me a little. I really can't believe it. This is the first time in my life I don't sleep until 12 at night.

Suddenly something happened.

My room lights instantly went out, and I was terrified. I ran to the door and tried to open it. But can not. Locked! Even though the door has no lock at all. I kept pushing it open and banging on the door.

"Please!" I shouted in panic. "Help me! PLEASE!"

Around me was completely dark, black, and only a small amount of light came in through the large window there. I kept banging on the door. Thoughts of spirits or ghosts floated up in my mind.

I paused for a moment and caught my breath. Strangely, Uncle and Arine who slept next to the room didn't hear me at all. Father, mother or Ms. Dona did not come over to me, even though I screamed very loudly.

When it was silent for a few seconds, suddenly the lights were back on. I gasped in surprise. But strangely, the lights in the room were very faded and yellow. Whereas previously the lights were bright white. I was still facing the door, walking slowly backwards. Dust and cobwebs adorn every corner of the walls, wrapping around the cabinets and utensils that were there. The floor I stepped on was dirty and gritty. Very weird. I felt like I was in the past.

Still amazed, I turned to face the large window. Suddenly there was something that almost knocked my heart out. There was something that nearly broke my veins, making my legs shake violently with it. My mouth opened wide, my eyes widened. I was struck by lightning.

Yes. There, in the window, a hanging figure of a girl my age hovered with a rope wrapped around her neck. He's facing me. The girl was wearing a negligee up to her knees. Her entire body was pale white, her shoulder-length black hair hung over part of her face. But I could clearly see his eyes were wide wide as if they were about to pop out.

His mouth opened slightly, and blood flowed gently through his nose and mouth. Her legs were hanging and moving a little when there was a strong wind.

I screamed out loud. This is not my house. This is not that room.

I brought this leg running to the door and forced my hand to open the door. But the door remains locked. I'm panicking. So panicked.

"FATHER! MOTHER! HELP ME!!"

"Help me … "

In the corner of the room, Lyssa pressed her knees together, lowered her head, and cried again. It had been more than a week since he had been locked up in an empty room without anyone accompanying anyone. Only two torches were hanging on the wall, illuminating the room a little. Moonlight seeped in through the large window behind him.

There have been many victims. And those who experience must always be girls. And now, Lyssa is also elected. At first she didn't really understand it, but when a group of unknown men offered candy and dolls, Lyssa was persuaded and obeyed the men's orders. Lyssa was taken to a place far away from her house. He was ordered to enter a cell which was full of bars like a prison. There, lots of girls his age were sitting hunched over. Their faces were very pitiful, as if no hope would save them from the horror. They were all very thin and sunken.

And this was the beginning of the catastrophe for Lyssa. That beautiful girl had to endure a very, very painful torment. She couldn't meet her parents even though in the distance, Lyssa's parents were very panicked knowing that their child was missing. Police car sirens were heard everywhere. Meanwhile the newspapers kept broadcasting the news; "Child Abduction Continues".

One by one the children in the room were summoned and sold abroad. Lyssa didn't know about that. What he knew was that the child who was summoned would be taken to a very far place, and there would be made slaves and subject to constant torture.

And now to be precise on February 29th, Lyssa was the last one in the cell. The silence of the night was very gripping and tormenting him. She has worn a knee-length negligee for a week. He was also shivering with cold. The strong wind continued to blow until his thin bones.

Previously, Lyssa and several other children had tried to escape. They painstakingly opened the large, padlocked and chained windows. But one time they succeeded. They could open the window, but when they looked down, only the dirty river and forest could be seen. Not to mention that it was several meters high, and the children were too scared to jump down. At that instant, the wind outside blew so hard that it slammed the large window. The sound was very loud like an earthquake. One of the men who was below immediately ran up the stairs and scolded the children.

Suddenly Lyssa thought, what should she do so she won't be like the other kids. How can he get away from it all. He was very angry. Angry at him. Supposedly, a 10 year old child should be able to take care of himself. He regretted why he didn't think carefully about his parents' advice. And also the other kids. They are all very stupid and stupid.

That night, Lyssa went on a rampage alone. He was crying, kicking the walls, jumping up and down, grumbling to himself, and screaming like a madman. Suddenly he saw a pinch of rope in the corner of the room. Her crying suddenly stopped. He thought he could do something with that rope. Certainly. Lyssa smiled, and burst out laughing. He kept laughing as he walked to take the rope. Then he looked at the rusty nails that hung above the large window. Lyssa's laughter exploded again.

The poor girl took a wooden chair and kept it by the window. After climbing it, he tied the rope to the nails very tightly. Then at the other end, he makes a loop rope knot like a circle. Then he turned and tucked the rope around his neck. He also let himself hang on the window, letting his life escape from his tiny body.

The incident then continued to occur every 4 years in February. And the building where the child was sold has been cleaned and turned into a magnificent house. But the large window remained neatly attached to the wall, leaving no trace of a child's wound.

And every time a 10-year-old girl is in the building on February 29th, she will feel the same suffering as Lyssa's.

I gasped in surprise. My breath was wheezing, sweat streaming down my forehead. I looked around me. I'm still sitting on the mat, with the thin blanket and hard pillows. The light in the room was still bright white, and there was absolutely no dust or cobwebs in it. The floor is also clean, not sandy. I breathe freely. Is this all just a dream? All I remember, was the last time I was banging on the door and calling my mom and dad.

I dig back into my mind In my dream, I saw Lyssa's suffering. I saw how the girl looked.

And I understand.

The voice of the child asking for help last night must have been Lyssa's voice when she was locked up in the cell. The sound of the window slamming loudly was none other than when Lyssa tried to run away and open the window, suddenly a strong wind came slamming it. Then the sound of the man's feet must be the sound of a man's footsteps running towards the cell. And the cell I live in now. The incident was repeated and happened to the girl. Thankfully. I'm not a girl.

"But ... Wait."

Whenever a 10-year-old girl is in the building on February 29, she will feel the same suffering Lyssa has experienced.

"Girl.

10 years.

Perhaps …"

And when I looked back, in the window there was already a girl I recognized very well.

"ARINE !!!"

4
$ 7.40
$ 7.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @turuncu
Sponsors of Alther
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Alther
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Shortstory

Comments