Life Is Not A Fairytale!

6 22
Avatar for AltheaFayre
2 years ago

When I was young, I used to think that I am a Princess. Someday I will meet my Prince charming and he will marry me and we will live happily ever after.

As I grow up, I realized that being a Princess and having a Prince charming is only in fairytales. There is no such thing as ever after. Real life is a total opposite of fairytales.

The reality hits me. Yes, because the truth is, life is hard. Not all love stories ends in happy ever after, not all battles are won and not all dreams come true. In fairytales everything is perfect, but life is indeed not perfect.

I remember when I was in High school and my father is a tricycle driver, we are very poor. I can still remember his sad face every time his tricycle got broken. It breaks my heart too. From then on, I started to dream big for my family especially for my father.

We live near the mountains and the number one source of income is farming. We don't have a piece of land. All we had is our small house and my father's tricycle. Everyday we struggled for food. He can't even send us to school but he really did his best so my sister and I can reach college and we both graduated a two year vocational course.

I must say that the world is really tough on us because we can't find a job after we graduated. My sister decided to work abroad as a domestic helper and I went to Manila as well to find some suitable work but I always failed maybe because my course was just vocational and they preferred a four year course graduate.

My first job is actually a sales assistant of a children's book company and it gave me a chance to travel a lot of places here in the Philippines but then the salary is very disappointing because it is a commission basis. If you can't sell anything in a day then you'll go home nothing. I survived that job for more than a year and I decided to go back home.

I collected my thoughts and finally decided to find my luck abroad. I was young back then, no experienced and so naive but my dreams really makes me driven. At that time I raised all my plans and dreams to the Lord.

Working abroad, my sister and I bought a piece of land for our family, we built a comfortable home and a small sundry store or sari-sari store for my mother to manage. My father's tricycle had broken so we bought him a new one. And after how many years my sister and I bought a "Multicab" for my father. He is very happy at that moment.


Now, I can say that our life is not as hard as before. We are slowly building our dreams, yes dreams really do come true if you worked hard for it. Work hard for your dreams because life is not a fairy tale.

With my experiences in life, I realized that fairytales are made by humans because that's what we want life's to be, "Perfect". Reality is made by God. We live in reality because that's what God wants us to be, to experience hardships so we can value prosperity.

We live in reality because God wants us to trust Him with all our heart, mind, body and soul.

6
$ 0.29
$ 0.10 from @Roojoroojay
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.05 from @Caroline17
+ 3
Avatar for AltheaFayre
2 years ago

Comments

That's inspiring! It is really up to us how we want our life to be. We can't always be down. We should work hard for our dreams and you are doing it. Congrats!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow buti ka pa naka-travel abroad dahil sa work. Nice. Asenso tlga pag nasa sales... Pero for me pag naka-quota lang hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mahirap talaga sa sales eh lalo na po pag commission base. Pag wala kang benta wala din

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True. Hirap tapos masarap lang pag nakabenta. hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup dear its a life and as a human being we can't spent it as a fairytale, its very good thing that you did a lot of struggle in your life and now you are settled, many many best wishes for you your writing skill is good hope so rusty will notice you soon😘❤️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for appreciating. I will always try to do my best to improved.

$ 0.00
2 years ago