3 Miles at 2 a.m. — Glittering Stars, Ambient Tunes

11 75
Avatar for AlternativeJapan
8 months ago

I've been binge drinking in moderation. If there is such a thing.

Drinking almost every night for the past two weeks to be able to fall asleep, numb the sting, relax some sore muscles, ease health issues — mute the rage. And largely, to laugh, enjoy music and comedy videos— finally able to forget a second about the teeth-bared wolves at the door. Always circling my perimeter demanding new payments for this or that "tax" or surcharge.

But I just couldn't tonight. I tried to do nothing and it felt more painful then going running. Which is pretty much always a better high — it just takes more work.

Working nights sucks. But goddamnit. I have things to do. Namely, running the Niigata City Marathon in October. Gonna take a little more than ciggies and whisky highballs to get me ready. No offense, ciggies and whisky highballs. You have your place and I love you, too. After finishing 3 miles at a better pace than I thought I would, I did allow myself to sip on an Autumn-themed Kirin tallboy from the convenience store.

It was alright. Nice and sweet like the smell of the wet, red, brown, and yellow leaves that will soon be decaying with that damp cinnamon/dirt aroma on the running path. But still nothing really special all told. Autumn beers in August. Everything is going too fucking fast. But at least August gives us some killer stars for all the ridiculous heat, and to help us say goodbye to the passing summer.

Anyhow, here are some ambient tracks that fit the night run very well. I hope you'll check them out and enjoy listening.

mata ne.

5
$ 2.26
$ 2.00 from @Pantera
$ 0.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @drumsticks
+ 3
Avatar for AlternativeJapan
8 months ago

Comments

Take care, and do not depend too much on cigarettes and alcohol. Find other things, sometimes doing some exercise helps a lot.

$ 0.50
8 months ago

Yes, I exercise like a madman :)

$ 0.00
8 months ago

Very well done!

$ 0.00
7 months ago

Take care man. Bless you with peace and joy that surpasses understanding! ~~

$ 0.00
8 months ago

Maybe I'm an idiot, but I see no automatic way to test those tunes above?

$ 0.00
8 months ago

My ex pulled another stunt, and she's taken me back to court yet again. For that reason I'm completely dry again. She is trying to suggest I'm an alcoholic, so I'm not going to give her the chance to use any drinking at all against me. Still, it sucks. I enjoy the release and happiness it brings.

I could never run like you do. Back in Charlottesville, VA, I would have a couple "Orange Smash" drinks, and then I'd go running. The alcohol definitely helps with running. It is funny though that no one really talks about that little "hack." haha Pain? What's that when you're a little buzzed, right?!

$ 1.01
8 months ago

Dammit, man. I am sorry to hear this. I was going to message you the other day to see how things are going. Sucking people dry via the vampiric legal "system" is beyond disgusting. I can't imagine the heartbreak/frustration you must be dealing with. You start to stand up, and they got the whack-a-mole hammer always at the ready, don't they. I've got my own situation going on, though not nearly as serious in some senses, it's still a similar kinda shit financially and an endless supply of stress from people threatening your secure existence and trying to suck you dry.

But you and me weren't meant to be moles in the game. So I can't give up.

On another note, it is really great to see you here!

Regarding your comment below: no, there's no links as this site alternately will and will not allow me to post links for whatever buggy reason. People just have to search them out, as Luddite as it may seem.

$ 0.00
8 months ago

Yes, I saw an email notification from your blog that sent me here. I had an account, but I just hadn't used it in eons.

Yeah, she is using the family law courts as a weapon to attack me. She uses lies every time to take me back to court, family law allows it indefinitely, and she has infinite funds to afford it. I do not. It is economic warfare, and it is abuse. The courts are enabling the abuse.

The people involved are terribly biased too. The judge is well known for being an activist against men. She was telling my children in chambers about how she lost her daughter's custody in a divorce and how she used the courts to get her back. Gee, bias confirmed!

Attorneys around this area know she's a wreck, and they've been trying for years to stop her from getting reelected. She keeps getting reelected anyway. The system does NOT work, and she's yet another example of it. :(

$ 0.10
8 months ago

I'll message you. The evil knows no bounds.

$ 0.00
8 months ago

What's your situation? They are trying to charge your taxes or something? If I ever get out of from under this financial mess, I'd love to help more in the future. So far this divorce as destroyed 15 years of wealth building. I've spent nearly 300K now. 50k of it is now debt on loans and credit cards. I'm screwed. :( This has ruined any chances of a decent retirement. Hey, the attorneys are happy as bigs in shit though!!! ha ha /cry

$ 0.00
8 months ago

Damnit man. I'm so sorry. Just hearing that makes my stomach sink.

I've just messaged you on TG, by the way. Lemme know if you got it and we can connect on Session.

$ 0.00
8 months ago