What if I send Bitcoin Cash to a Wrong Address

0 40
Avatar for Alpher
Written by
3 years ago

"Sending Bitcoin cash to the wrong address is the digital equivalent of dropping cash out of your wallet or pocket and having a random person pick it up almost instantly. No way to find the person and no legal recourse to ask for it to be returned back to you."

I told two friends about Bitcoin cash, how it works and how to earn to it on read.cash and noise.cash. They asked for my proof of earning and withdrawal before they will be convinced that it is not a scam and will decide to join (I can’t blame them, we have encountered a lot of scam projects that made promises they didn’t fulfill). At that moment, I just joined read.cash and yet to earn any tip. Yesterday I got some tips and didn’t waste to tell them about it. I asked them to download and install bitcoin.com wallet, then I sent them $1 each (I could have sent more, but I have only earned $6). I didn’t just send them the $1 to their bitcoin.com wallet, I showed them how to purchase mobile phone airtime from alfa.top, and they were really impressed. And now, both friends have joined the community.

While I sent the $1 worth of BCH to them after $1 was successfully sent to one friend, I forgot to copy the BCH address of the other friend, and the second $1 ended up in the same wallet (of the first friend). We waited several minutes in vain for the second friend to receive the $1. I was surprised because the transaction takes only a second or more to land in the recipient’s wallet. Then I decided to check the transaction details and realized I sent it to the same BCH address, which we confirmed from the first friend’s wallet, he had $2. I had to send $1 from his wallet to the second guy before they each bought airtime with the $1.

I couldn’t help but think: What if I sent the BCH to a wrong wallet other than my friend’s? can the transaction be reversed?

The simple answer is NO!

All Bitcoin cash transactions which have already been broadcast to the network are irreversible (there is no way to reverse that which has already been sent). So there is a need to confirm transaction details before sending.

Sending Bitcoin Cash (BCH)

Follow the following steps to send Bitcoin Cash from your bitcoin.com Wallet:

1.       Launch the Bitcoin.com wallet app and tap on the “SEND” button located towards the top of the Home screen.

2.       Select the asset you want to send (e.g. Bitcoin cash)

3.       Copy and paste the recipient’s BCH wallet address into the space provided. Or if you’re in person, you can simply scan the receiver's wallet QR code with your device.

4.       Choose the wallet you want to send Bitcoin cash from.

5.       Enter the amount you want to send and tap on ‘Continue’.

6.       Carefully double-check that the details of the transaction (amount and address) is accurate, if you are happy with the details, Slide to send. Please double-check that the amount and address you are about to send BCH to is accurate; if everything is correct just swipe to send

 Please note that because transactions on the bitcoin (BTC/BCH) network cannot be reversed it is always recommended that you copy and paste bitcoin addresses rather than typing them, and always double-check that the address you pasted is correct.

You can also send Bitcoin cash (BCH)  by email, SMS, WhatsApp, or through 3rd party chat and social apps. Check the article below

 

How to Receive Bitcoin Cash

Take the following steps to receive Bitcoin cash on bitcoin.com:

  1. Launch the Bitcoin.com wallet app and tap on "Receive" located towards the top of the Home screen.

  2. Choose the asset (BCH) and the wallet you want to receive the Bitcoin cash to. Ensure you select a Bitcoin cash wallet if you are receiving Bitcoin Cash.

  3. The chosen BCH wallet will generate an address. Copy the address by tapping the QR code.

  4. Provide the copied address to the sender, or if you’re in person, the sender can simply scan your wallet QR code with their device.

 

9
$ 3.32
$ 3.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Alpher
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Alpher
Written by
3 years ago

Comments