Follow your dreams

When I was 3 years old, my mother took me to the ballet show "Krcko Oraščić" (The Nutcracker). Although I don't really remember that, because I was very young, I still know that I fell in love with ballet costumes and ballet flats in which you stand on your toes. We often went to ballet performances and I watched ballerinas with great enthusiasm and desire to become one of them. I remember one trip to the theater when my mom asked me, "Do you want to go behind the scenes and see the ballerinas up close?" of course I wanted to. We passed by the scenery and the ballerinas passed by me and warmed up for the performance. I imperceptibly had to touch each costume and deliberately stood next to them just to touch them. I was so happy. In September of the same year, I went to ballet school. It wasn’t exactly how I imagined I would look like them right away on the first day. I finished elementary ballet school and enrolled in high school. I got a role in the play "The Nutcracker", the most beautiful Christmas I remember. I didn't have a childhood like the other kids in the neighborhood. I couldn't go out and play after class, but I went to exercises and trained. But I never regretted it because I did what I wanted. I had a strong motivation to become like that ballerina I watched with enthusiasm when I was 3 years old. Now I'm 22, I'm finishing my master's studies at the Academy for Artistic Play. I play ballet performances for children in the theater and after the program come little girls who want to be like me. I love it when they come to touch the costume or tell me how they will go to ballet classes too. It's so nice to be a role model to someone. That ballerina will never know that she was my role model and that because of her I became what I am today. Maybe I will never know if I was someone's motivation or inspiration. I am happy that I am doing what I love and that despite all the difficulties, bloody fingers and fatigue, I have not given up on my dream.

0
$
User's avatar
@Alisa posted 3 years ago

Comments