My Life

0 4
Avatar for Akane
Written by
2 years ago

LIFE CAN BE ATTRIBUTED to a lot of metaphors. It's a Ferris wheel ride bringing us challenges to face as we go up or down in the cycle of time. It is a road trip in an undetermined destination where we, as passengers, are clueless to whether we reach our destinations. There are times that it is a piece of cake we just have to enjoy while it last.

Often would I say that it is very easy to live-you just need to be guided with the rules provided-that includes studying, working hard, pursuing goals, and making the people around you happy. I never thought that as I grow older, I will unfold more associations to life that go beyond roads and Ferris wheels, things that are far more complicated than what I have known.

I always look up to many aspiring people who have reached their dreams. Even young people my age are popular, successful and are working for the job that they want. I guess I have to wait, that's life. I am still at school, studying hard, going for the medals and certificates, and being the best that I can be for my parents. I love seeing them proud as we walked on the stage though I become a little scared that I have to be consistent to please them.I have been following what they want for years now because I believe that when I go beyond the path they have built for me, I might get lost and tripped my way out of my future.

When I entered high school, I shed some skin to change some parts of me. I wanted to do things that I was not able to do before and so I joined different clubs, tried to get my academic standing higher and made new friends. It was a liberating experience having them all on my own platter-the good,the bad and their consequences. This stage taught me that life is,a repetition- of establishing routines and heeding on them as you set the goals you can reach. This, I have to say, I got used and I started living with this pattern.

To tell you the truth, I was at first, very grateful.I joined contest, I got lost, I won. I started having real friends I could share my problems with. I work harder as I forced myself to be the best inside the classroom. I was still not satisfied that I am way up there and that my parents are proud of me, giving me everything I want in exchange for another achievement. Until the detours came and broke my very pattern, I experienced failing and falling in the abyss of defeat. I began disappointing a lot of people-myself included.

It is this desire for my greater good that brought me here. I realized that I had defined my life with what I can achieve to please all those around me. I have been making people happy believing that it would also make me one. I realized that there is no passion in living for the expectations my parents or anyone had on me. It was neither the small victories in my studies. There is no life in constantly pressuring myself to be consistent with what I have plotted, with what I have believe is enough to make me happy.

But to be honest, I am not regretful of the things I did-of changing, heeding on to routines, and wanting more for myself. This may sound cliché but through these, I have learned to trust my phase and enjoy my own process. This is making sense now. We learned through the metaphors of life-of its roads, Ferris wheels and other surprises. And as long as we live, life will find its way for us-so we can figure them out.

I hope you got what I meant and looking forward on curvy roads that I will face tomorrow and to the next day. Wear your smile always guys.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Akane
Written by
2 years ago

Comments