Why Healthy Communication is Must in a Relationship

0 27
Avatar for Aishashah
3 years ago
Topics: Relationship

For the past few months, my boyfriend and I had a toxic relationship. There were long lists of communication gaps leading to a series of incidents of misunderstandings. I have always believed myself to be an open and optimistic person, but I was wrong. Remember! anything can happen in a relationship. One should be ready to face all unexpected situations. I can't say I experienced all, however, I got the taste of being in a relation. And the only key I found to sustain this, is healthy communication.

When we talk about healthy communication, let me provide its definition of my understanding; A communication irrespective of the distance between two persons or the amount of time spent while communicating, if they are convincing, I call this as healthy communication.

We don't need late-night chats or video calls. Neither we need to be together (physically) to have a good relationship. If you are having hectic days with a packed schedule, just text them that you won't be available for a few days. Inform them that you will meet them during night time. Explain your situation, I am sure that most of your partner will understand you and accept it, but make sure you talk to them by evening or during bedtimes. ( if you have promised earlier).

Most importantly, never wait for her or him to text you first. This is a bad habit for any relationships. If they chat only when you initiate any chats and this happens for multiple times, enquire them about it. Maybe they have other reasons. Enquiring them will only help you to give you a better understanding of the other person. Otherwise, if both of you waits for each other to initiate conversation, it will only create more gaps. This is one of the signs of poor relationship which may not last longer than expected.

If such ignorance and clash of egos prolong, the promises of being "Together Forever" will be just mere words. The only way to fulfil both of your promises is by communicating and understanding each other's shortcomings.

When we say healthy communication, it is not about the quantity. Quality communication solves numerous problems such as clearing confusions/doubts, developing a better understanding and accepting each other's flaws.

As I mentioned in the beginning, my relation wasn't going well. I felt ignored, jilted, or sometimes triggering thoughts like maybe she lost interest, maybe she found someone better, and other negative thoughts lingered.

Still then, I didn't give up on our relationship. I tried my best to let him confess and finally, he did. I realized I was not convinced in the first place. I came to know that he hardly gets time to spend with me as he is busy with his works. His hectic days force to create a larger gap in our daily conversation. I was finally convinced! I wish the same for all those people struggling hard to understand their relationships. For a better understanding, just Communicate and work towards improving your relationship. Take this challenge as an opportunity!

Happy New Year To All My Friends Especially @Omar And Have A Blessed Day!!

Sponsors of Aishashah
empty
empty
empty

4
$ 0.20
$ 0.20 from @Omar
Sponsors of Aishashah
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Aishashah
3 years ago
Topics: Relationship

Comments