My Father is a Construction Worker.

15 1795
Avatar for Aiah_05
2 years ago

Are you proud of what job your parents have? Did you felt shame when someone mock you because of your parents job? How will you defend you parents when someone laugh at them? Will you fe disappointed or be grateful despite of their job?

***

The teacher gave us an assignment last week and we're going to share it today in our class.

"Class, are you done with the assignment I gave you last week?" Ma'am Shane asked us.

"Yes, Ma'am!" We responded.

"What was your assignment again?"

Dianne raise her hand.

"Yes, Dianne?"

"It was all about our father's work with picture of them working." Dianne answered.

"Okay, very good! So, let's start!" Ma'am Shane said so lively and clap her hands. It seems like she's excited to know what are our father's job.

"We'll start here in the first row. Okay, Janine, you will be the first one." Janine stood up and went to the front. She smiled at us before she start talking.

"My daddy is an engineer. He's working now in Hong Kong and will have his vacation every last week of the month and went again there with in the first week of the month." She continue to explain while holding a picture of his father wearing his uniform.

Next to her was Charlene , then Joven and so on and so forth.

"My daddy is a policeman."

"My daddy is an architect."

"My daddy is a seaman."

And I heard any kind of work of their parents. I learned that their father are all professionals.

There are Business man, pilot, engineer again and many more. And it was my turn to say what my father's work is.

I am stood up slowly. I am trembleng while waking to the front. I face my classmates and look again to our teacher.

I sighed before I slowly race the picture I am holding. I show it to my classmates. When they saw the picture, they laugh out loud.

https://unsplash.com/photos/Esi7nknKxmw

"Hahahhahaha."

"Hahahah Oh my gee."

"So cheap! Hahaha."

"Class! Quite!" Ma'am Shane told them to stop and nod at me, a signal that saying I should continue. She smile at me and said "Go on, Lyka. It's okay."

When I saw here genuine smile, I felt comforted and felt encouraged by her smile. So I faced again my classmates. I am now ready to tell them that I am proud that my is a CONSTRUCTION WORKER.

https://unsplash.com/photos/A1g0oeX29ec

"My Tatay is a Construction Worker." I said to them smiling and they laugh again.

"Tatay? Hahaha!"

"Construction Worker? Hahhaha."

"Yes, you can laugh at me but don't laugh at my father's work." They stopped laughing when I said that words.

"I know that your fathers are not the same with my tatay. Your father are professionals while mine is not. We are poor,yes. But my father's work is not illegal and bad. It is a work with dignity. Construction workers are important in our society. Construction workers are making buildings strong foundations and making houses. Without construction workers, you don't have a house to live now. Being a construction worker, my father able to raise us, his children, and able to hive our daily needs. You might all think why I am in this prestigious school behind the fact that my father is a construction worker. I did my very best to enter this school as a scholar. And my father is the one who sustain my needs in this school. Awhile ago you laugh like you are all mighty, it doesn't mean that my father is a construction worker and we are just poor, you have the right to stepped us and laugh at us. You laugh with those criminals like those snatchers, just don't laugh with my Tatay because he's working in the legal way. I am proud of my father and I am not ashamed for him as a construction worker. In fact, even if he's not a professional, he works like one. Without him, I am not in here." I look at Ma'am Shane and said "That's all, Ma'am. Thank you." I smile while walking towards my sit while my classmates are looking at me.

Ma'am Shane smiled and clapped her hands and my classmates did the same.

"Very good, Lyka. You should be proud of your parents. You should not be ashamed of them because you're not in same level with the people around you." Ma'am Shane told us.

And because of that assignment, I got a perfect points because I was proud of my father. I am proud of him being a construction worker.

***

Reflection:

Same with the Lyka, my father is a construction worker. Ever since, I never felt shame that my father is a construction worker, instead I am so PROUD of him. He may be not a professional and no degree, for me my PAPA is a professional one. He don't have a certificate of accomplishment but he have lots of houses he made. Everytime I saw those houses, I can say that he is like a professional one when working. Who would have thought that a second high schooler person would able to estimate, plan and build a house. A concrete house. I am proud of him cause he is able to give us food in our table. He never let us hungry despite of our situation as a poor. He make his best for us. He is able to support our studies in his own way.

Someday, I will be able to buy him construction tools. For now, he have his tools which he had from his salary. Everytime he have work, he will see to it that he will buy a souvenir from his work. Now, he have his collection from his hard work.

I am so proud of my father for being a good construction worker. He is a known man in our town for having built lots of houses. Many engineers went to our house to have contact with him, but he wasn't signed any because he's afraid of living away from his family. Many engineers have said that they'll support him to go to abroad, but my father declined. He said that he can support our needs without going anywhere away from us. And true to his word, he did all his best for us.

I am proud of my father for being a CONSTRUCTION WOKRER.

How about you? Are you proud of your parents?

Cover photo from Unsplash

https://unsplash.com/photos/X1P1_EDNnok

6
$ 27.83
$ 27.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Zhyne06
$ 0.10 from @Bjorn
+ 3
Sponsors of Aiah_05
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Aiah_05
2 years ago

Comments

Thank you for providing this information. For private, residential, and public clients, Hollywood Marine Construction designs, builds, and maintains boat docks, seawalls, piers, decks, patios, and gazebos. dock builders miami offers one-of-a-kind constructions as well as a variety of modifications and extras to help you finish your dream project. They live in Hollywood, Florida, which is located approximately halfway between Miami and Fort Lauderdale.

$ 0.00
8 months ago

Cool

$ 0.00
10 months ago

A good Construction Worker must perform multiple tasks at construction sites that require extensive physical labor like lifting, climbing, and operating hand tools. Although the worker might need to work more closely with the manager, Remodeling contractors are crucial allies in your quest to improve your home. Only some homeowners have the time, experience, or ability to do it themselves. That's where the remodeling contractor, sarasota home builders, steps in to organize your home remodel and see it completed successfully.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Most of us often need construction or repair help in our houses, that's why we always need to choose the right company for this. Before using any service, I prefer to read the reviews like coast to coast carports company feedbacks at https://coast-to-coast-carports.pissedconsumer.com/review.html, I need to make sure that a certain company is reliable.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sarap siguro ding marinig ng future kid ko "My Dad is a Farmer" hehe.. And "Im proud of what he is" yayakapin ko din siya ng mahigpin kapag nagkataon ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Papa ko din dati e farmer . Bale kung wala nagpapagawa ng bahay nagtatrabaho sya sa palayan kung may nagpapatanim. ☺️

Oo naman, magiging proud ang anak mo sayo pagka pinakita ko kung pano ka nagsikap para may makain sila ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So do I... My tatay is a steelman until now. And I'm very proud of it... The issue is are tatay doing such a good and decent job.. Unlike the others their gambling, etc.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're right. My papa also don't have vices that's why I am proud of him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My father is also a carpenter. But for me, he's the best professional of all without degree. Carpenters are smart. They know how to estimate , plan and build. I remember my father ask me to multiply numbers, nakooo kumuha talaga ko ng calculator. Tapos ayun, sya mano mano lng na kino-compute. Yun bang iniisip lng nya. Samantalang ako na nakapag aral ng high school, d kaya magmultiply ng 3 digit numbers mentally. Kaya subra proud din ako sa papa kasi dahil sa pagiging carpentero nya kami binubuhay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same po pala sila ni papa. Mabilis mag compute hahhaa Nasa kanila po siguro yun. Kasi d ba kahit d sila nag aral pero natuto sila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My Father is a carpenter. They're just the same with construction worker I think. When I was in High School, my father was the one who made our school canteen and T.L.E Cookery Room. He was famous in our school for his well-built buildings. His dream was to be an engineer but he didn't manage to finish is degree because of financial problems. He is a great worker, and I'm proud of him. Not until he suffered from mild stroke, I think 3 yrs ago. He became a completely different person which made us mad at him because of his undignified actions.

But, I'm still hoping he will be the same father just like the first time I know him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sad. I hope he will be fine and back to what he is before. Maybe because he undergone with medication that's why he had changes .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We are also thinking that maybe the mild stroke had affected his brain. 🥺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I was in grade school that was the session in classroom that i want to remove. My classmates were rich kid and I belong to those kids who went to class with sleepers.

So when we are asked about the occupation of our parents, i skip the class. I was young and naïve but i don't regret being born poor. I am proud of my parents.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We're the same.. since elementary to high school, I wasn't able to have new shoes. We, my siblings always got to school with slippers. And also, we didn't experienced to have new bags. But still we're proud of our parents ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago