Communication: A Barrier Between Parents And their Teenage Children.

0 17
Avatar for Adobe01
2 years ago
Date; Thursday 10th March 2022

How are you guys doing here today? Hope you guys are safe and kicking? So this morning I woke up with no idea on what to write in my article today. Is like since when I started here at read.cash my ideas on blogging and content writing just went poof! 🙃😛😂. Then I remembered the article of @GarrethGrey07 that I read yesterday about her being a mother and how her young boy knows her weakness and knows how to get things from her. And boom an idea came, on ways parents can have real communication with their teenage children.

Sponsors of Adobe01
empty
empty
empty

Being A Teenager.

We all remember what it was like being a teenager, the changes, the attraction, the feelings, the "I want to distance myself because am a big boy/girl now". You remember when you just want to be alone or with just your peers who you think understands you. The lack of communication you have with your parents even when you are dying to talk to them, just you saying in your head that they won't understand forgetting that they were once teenagers too.

So this article is for teenagers and their parents on how to have a productive conversation with themselves without having to argue all the time.

Communication

If you are a parent then you can relate that all you want is to have a genuine Communication with your children. And genuine communication takes place when you and your children share a two way exchange of deep thoughts and feelings. And this communication becomes especially more challenging when the child becomes a teenager.

Is like when they were younger you had a backstage ticket to their lives, you know what they like, and who they do Things, but immediately they become teenagers now the best hope you have as a parent is to seat out there with the audience and sometimes is not even the a very good seat you will be having in the audience. And when this happens is not that your teenage kids are pushing you away that is when they need communication the most.

Parents.

So now what can parents do to have a productive conversation with their children.

  • Adopt to Your Teenage Child's Timetable.

It won't be easy but parents need to try as much as you can to adopt to your child's timetable. My Dad was a night Owl and mostly the best conversation we had was when everyone was sleeping and very late at night just the two of us talking.

  • Parents Need to fight Distractions.

Yes you have bills to pay, a family to take care of and so many other things around. One of the things that pushes a child away is a parent who thinks he or she can multitask while their child is trying to have a conversation with them. No matter how trivial the matter maybe to you try as much as you can to give them your full attention

A Poem for My Conclusion.

"If I had a time machine, I will definitely go back in time to days when I shun or didn't want to talk to my parents, and just put the machine on repeat so I can talk with them over and over again because, sure damn I have a lot of things I want to tell them and just talk with them"

Written By; Me

Thanks for reading. And I want to say a big thank you to @Talecharm for the sponsorship I really appreciate Ma'am.

All Pictures Were Taken by Me

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Adobe01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Adobe01
2 years ago

Comments