University of Ibadan Crisis

5 33
Avatar for Abhay
Written by
2 years ago

University of Ibadan was hot today, when I say hot I mean hot.

Election process

Today Is the University of Ibadan students union (UISU) election.

Different bodies have been campaigning for the fast few weeks.

For the post of UISU president, There were just two contestants Mascot and Richard.

These two parties are like APC and PDP. They both claimed they have the qualities of being the president.

UI'SU President elect

Election crisis

Election Timeline: 8:00am - 3:00pm

Mode of election: Online

Only accredited voters can vote. We were accredited by filling an online form before the election.

Today an email was sent to the accredited voters. In the mail was a personal User ID, password and voting link.

We were to register through the link sent to our mail by imputing the User Id and password.

To my surprise I heard students email were being hacked. Some set of people decided to rig the election. Majority of the students began to voice out that they were not able to vote, but they received confirmation email that they have voted, without their consent.

Those that got their mail hacked were asked to rush down to the Senate chamber to re-vote legally.

Corruption in a tertiary institution. Like the saying goes " A horse follows the one before him in a race". Naija citizens can relate to what I'm talking about here.

This night the results of the election cane out.

SU Presidential election results

  • Mascot- 2128. ✔️

  • Richard- 1255

  • Richard- 148

Therefore S.U electoral committee declared Mascot as the winner.

MTN Network issue

Earlier this morning MTN users received an SMS staying

Sunday's promises to be exciting on the MTN Network. Charge your phones and get ready!

I was happy when I saw the SMS, and I was looking forward to seeing what the surprise is.

Around 2:00pm today most of the MTN users began to have network issues. Either it is on Emergency call or no service.

Screenshot of MTN no service at 2:55pm
Screenshot Of MTN emergency calls only at 3:29pm

I had an online test from 6:00pm to 6:10pm.

The link of the online test didn't go through not until 6:08pm (2 minutes to the closing of the test link). I quickly filled out the required places and chose the answers as fast as I could. I submitted at exactly 6:10pm.

A test that was supposed to be for 10 minutes was done in 2 minutes. It was after I posted of the MTN network issue on WhatsApp I realized I wasn't the only one affected. Some were not able to do the test at all.

The crisis of the rigged election and MTN network issue was the talk of the campus.

But thank God MTN network is back, and it is working well. We hope they compensate us with the surprise tomorrow.

Thanks for reading 🙏❤️

8
$ 3.07
$ 2.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.02 from @Greatwolfman
+ 3
Sponsors of Abhay
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Abhay
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Mtn is mad o, I also experienced the same network issues earlier today. They better compensate us very well for their lousy service

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It affected all MTN users Nation wide, but who can you blame, I doubt the school will be redo the election on that basis. I guess it was meant to be. Congratulations to the winner.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think there was an election at school and you had a hacking problem on the virtual platform you were going to use to vote. The only thing that stuck in my mind was the sentence about horses. Really amazing. In my country, a term about sheep is used when describing such situations. You know, when they go somewhere, they all follow each other. If one jumps off a cliff, the others jump after it :))

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow, I like this one you said about sheep also, though they mean same thing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Although countries and cultures are different, people are always the same. So, the animals in the sayings are different, but the story is the same.

$ 0.00
2 years ago