Some varieties of litchi.

3 58
Avatar for ABIR31
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Short Story

Lying down last night, I thought I would write at least one article a day from now. Although I want to write, I can't write due to lack of time. But now I want to write at least one article every day no matter what. I don't know what will happen in the future. That's why I woke up this morning and decided to write an article.

You may know that we have a lot of plants in our house. So I decided to write an article about plants in a few days and write the description of each tree in phases. We have the most mango trees in our house. Then the litchi. Then there are several trees one by one. I will write in another article about mango tree . Today I will write about litchi tree.

Litchi is a summer fruit. It is juicy and tastes very sweet. Small in size and thorny. It is green when it is small. When it matures it turns red. There may not be people in the world who do not know litchi. It is very popular in our country. That is why our country's scientists does a lot of research on it. Researchers have been able to invent several varieties of litchi. Of these, China 3 litchi is the most famous. It is big in size and very juicy. The most notable feature of China Three Litchi is that its seed is very small. That is why the fleshy part of this litchi is more. So it gained popularity among the people very quickly. Moreover, it is much testy and juicy.

A few years ago I saw many big litchi trees. Nowadays such a large litchi tree is not seen. Because now everyone plants grafting litchi trees. Fruits come from the following year of planting. So people now plant grafting trees instead of planting seedlings. We have a local variety of litchi tree. But the tree was in a shady place. That is why litchi was very rare

So we thought we would plant an improved variety of litchi tree. That is why we select China 3 litchi.

We planted the tree in front of our house. My father brought the tree from the largest grafting center in South Asia . it is very pure grafting . For those who don't know, let me know, the largest grafting center in South Asia is in my country Bangladesh. It is located in Bangladesh Agricultural University, Mymensingh Division .

After planting tree it was also falling in shady places day by day. Because there was many trees around it . The trees was growing. So now the sun does not fall on the tree at the end of the day . Even then I get a lot of litchi every year.

Once we went to visit our grandmother's house. After going there, I saw an improved variety of litchi tree. Uncle planted that tree. I did grafting on that tree. Because I liked the tree very much . The litchis of that tree was very big. Lots of sweets and seed was too small . Grafting is the process of removing some skin from the stalks and tying them in a jute sack with dung. This is the easiest method of grafting. Then I told grandfather to keep wet jute sack with water every day. In this way the roots grow within a month of soaking. Then I cut the place where the roots grow in a few steps and bury them for a while in a place where there is always sap in the soil. When the roots hold the soil well, we picked it up with the soil and planted it in our house. This tree is of very high quality. Although it is China Three breed.

After some months my Dad brought another litchi tree from our local nursery. This tree we planted in front of our house. The trees was getting bigger day by day. Once the tree bear fruit. However, the problem was that the litchi of this tree bursts when it grows big. We had used a variety of medications to prevent rupture. But nothing worked. Although the litchi of this tree would have been much larger.

Since we have several litchi trees in our house, we decided to pick a litchi tree and plant another one there. So we want to uproot the last tree that we planted, that is, the litchi that would have burst, and plant another tree. Then one day my father told me to give it to someone rather than cut down such a big tree. Then we gave that tree to our uncle next to our house . Growing such a big tree was not an easy task at all. Uncle hired a laborer to pick up the trees.

After picking the tree, the biggest problem became how to take the tree to uncle's house Then I suddenly thought I would take it by vehicle. We have a local special house that has to be driven by two wheels and push. People use this vehicle to carry various goods over short distances. Someone had this vehicle next to our house. We brought it from there and through a few people we finally brought the tree to uncle's house.

We've been looking for different uncommon trees on YouTube for quite some time. I finally got it and decided we would plant wood litchi there.

The wood litchi looks like a litchi but it has no thorns like a litchi. The sleeves are exactly like litchi. But it is sweeter than litchi. So there is a good demand for it in the market. There is a wood litchi tree about 20 kilometers away from our house. Since we will plant it in front of the house, we go there and check the tree to verify it well. At the same time I took opinions about the tree from the people around. Everyone said good. So we made the final decision. Make a hole for planting and give organic manure. Then I planted the tree with carefully. Now let's see when we can eat the fruit of this tree. This tree is a tree planted from seed. Not grafting. So you have to wait several years to get the results. If the results are good then waiting doesn’t matter .

4
$ 0.00
Avatar for ABIR31
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Short Story

Comments

Planting between grafted and from seed provides best possible option, early fruits from grafted ones thou short-lived but those planted from seeds provides longivity. Like, while the grafted ones thrives and bears, the ones from seed grows eventually bears as the grafted ones fades away.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is true that grafted trees survive less. However, grafted trees are the best You don't have to wait long for the fruit to be planted. Those who live in the city but are very fond of gardening can easily do roof gardening with grafted trees.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

well i just thought of suggesting a short and long term plan. I'm at my prime while it will take so long to wait for the fruit for those planted from seeds or I may not live to enjoy the fruits,-perhaps my grandchildren will, the grafted ones provides fulfillment of the waiting. I dont want to plant on short-term despite of course the great benefits to me but I also wanted my grandchildren or the next generation to enjoy it so, i also would like to plant trees from seeds. :-)

$ 0.00
2 years ago