How to cook Goan-style Mackerel Fry!

1 14
Avatar for AAR1975
3 years ago

Goa is a tiny state on the western coast of India, and is known as the Ibiza of east, due to its pristine beaches. Local Goans just love their seafood, especially mackerels. This is how I love to fry my mackerel:

I just wash the mackerel and use whole mackerel with head discarded to make masala - rava (semolina) - fried whole mackerel. I also make slits on the mackerel.

It is very simple to cook: I make a paste by mixing together rawa (semolina), ginger-garlic paste, red chili powder, turmeric powder and fresh lemon juice. I coat the mackerel in the paste and refrigerate for about one hour. I heat coconut oil in the frying pan, and fry the fish pouring some coconut oil over it as it starts to sizzle, also turning the fish both sides in the pan.

Mackerel besides being tasty, is also known for its health benefits a s it is a good source of omega-3 fatty acids and also contains some amount of vitamin D. It is also a healthy source of protein.

5
$ 0.00
Avatar for AAR1975
3 years ago

Comments

I love fried mackerel with steamed rice and pickles. Glad to know it was rich in omega-3 fatty acids :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago