Accidents Happen To Give You Lesson

5 25
Avatar for zzhie29
3 years ago

Hope everyone's fine. It's Zzhie again here, greeting you a nice day. If you haven't read my previous articles I suggest you do so. I will link my 3rd article right here, please check it out. Also please consider subscribing to my ID. Hope you can find a lesson here on my stories as you read along and enjoy reading.

It was around 8 pm that night when I got the message that my husband has gotten in an accident. I can't help myself but to cry, I suddenly burst out into tears. Why? How? Why us? We are so young to have such an experience like this. Without hesitating went out of the room and called my brother and my uncle.

"My husband got in an accident. The police just answered his phone when I called him. They are at *." I said while I was crying

"What? Okay, we'll go there now so you stay right here."-my uncle already picking up his jacket.

"Don't worry about him. Just pray." - my brother.

They went out after that and I just heard the car leaves. When they left, I cried again and again. I keep blaming myself for what has happened to him. If I was just so good and answered all my calls earlier if I just prevailed my pride maybe this would not have happened. Maybe if I didn't get mad at him and just let him slide, maybe we're not facing this right now. 

I took all the courage that I have and called his parents. 

"Hello? Adam had an accident. Uncle and brother just left to look after him." - I said while crying.

"What? My God, please help us. Okay, we're going there right now, let's us pray that he's wound is not serious" -Mom

"His leg is broken. The police said he can't stand." 

"My God. We're going there right now. Let's all stay brave, praying is all that we can do," -she said and I can hear that she also started to cry. "Let me call your uncle first." then the call ended.

After the call ended, I started to pity how our life was. We got married when we're just 18, now that we're 19 an accident happened? So what's next? How am I to live happily if this journey starts so badly?

Because I am so scared to tell my parents the news, I didn't call nor text them. What came to my mind is that, will my parents blame me for this? That I am not a good wife so this happened? I was alone in the house, I don't have someone to talk to or to lift my soul so I just prayed to cry.

Please, God, I ask you for your love and protection to my husband. I ask you to please even though this happened, give us strength and hope. I am so sorry that I didn't do my responsibilities as his wife. I am so sorry that my anger took control of my actions. Please Lord please God be with us as we face this new struggle. Please Lord protect also his family coming here, please turn them away from disgrace. I also ask you to give them enough patience and understanding.

That was the only words that came out from my mouth. I just prayed and prayed even though I know that I can't come up with a good prayer. 

I didn't notice the time and it was already 11 pm. I kept waiting for someone to arrive to keep me motivated but no one came. How I wish my parents were here to keep me calm and to give me courage. I can't sleep because I was thinking about my husband's situation. I just kept on praying. Then I heard my phone ringing and when I looked at it it was my father. It's like 100 horses were racing in my heart. I don't know why but I just thought that he'd ask what did I do or asked me a lot of questions. I was so nervous when I answered the phone.

"What happened? Where are you? Are you okay?" he said

"I am okay. I am here left out at home," I said

"Thank God you're not hurt. Why? What happened? Did you two argue?"

"I asked him to get medicine and fruits but he didn't. He met his old friend and they end up having a little fun, they have a little shot. I didn't pick up my phone when he called because I am angry at him and I just wanted him to come home. I lock myself in the house and hid under the bed so my uncle couldn't see me. But he's not coming, I intentionally didn't bring my phone with me so I couldn't answer his calls." I started crying again

"But why didn't get to bring your phone with you?"

"I am so mad at him because he didn't even consider that I am sick and I need his help so I left it out. I just called him when I went out of the bed and he said he was going to come home so I waited for him. but I kept waiting but he took so long so I called him and that is how I got the message from the police who answered his phone that he had gotten in an accident."- I explained

"but has he always do that to you? going out and drinking?

"Yes. He always goes out and drinks then come home late at night. He said that I should just be thankful because he doesn't hit me even when he's drunk."

"Oh? did you tell that to his parents?" he asked

"no, I didn't. " I replied

"Then you should explain it like that to them so that they will not think so harsh about you. That their son is always going out just to drink. Just don't feel so down. Just pray and believe in the power of prayer. We will visit you there on Monday" he said.

"Okay, I will"

"Don't overthink it. Take asleep for now and visit him tomorrow. Don't worry too much." he said.

.........

Sunday morning.

I woke up when I heard someone unlocking the door. It was my uncle and his wife and they were talking about my husband's situation so I listened to them attentively.

"His left leg broke. His left leg bone was already divided into pieces and the doctor said his leg is damaged too much because of the heavy impact. It will take a long time of healing especially because they need the muscle to go back to its normal view before putting up the titanium inside. " he said.

"Hopefully, with the help of God, it will not take a year of healing. Let' just pray for faster healing" his wife replied

Again, I cried. Why does it have to be us? We're too young to have this kind of struggle, but still, I will put my trust in your hands, Lord. so please help us pass the struggle that you gave us.

I opened my phone and I got a lot of messages asking what happened. But I didn't answer them because it just makes me weaker if I explain a little further. Because it was Sunday we met with my cousins, they asked me what happened but I just cried. They also cried when I began to cry.

"It's okay. don't overthink it. You can do this." she said. By the way, she was 17 years old and I'm 19.

"All of his family are here, but I don't. It's only me here. I don't know if I can explain it to them clearly, I am not sure if they would understand me. How I wish I have my parents here or even just one member of my family" I said as I began to pity myself again.

After the mass, our church member asked me what happened. I just said a little misunderstanding.

The Pastor who blessed us when we got married also said "You missed your part, you didn't pray when he leaves your house. Isn't it that as a couple you have to ask for God's guidance and protection whenever someone leaves the house? "

Yeah, I got it. Yes, he's right. I didn't pray. Maybe that's why it happened.

"But let us just pray for faster healing. You are still so blessed because as young as you are as a couple, you already faced your first struggle. All you have to do right now is to take good care of your husband" he continued.

All of them agreed. I should not lose hope. I should stand tall by his side because he needs me. Even though it's hard, I should not let this problem shut us down.

So after the mass, while we're eating with my brother and his wife, they're telling stories about the incident last night. I just stay quiet because I don't have stories to tell. I was just listening to them.

"That's also a problem in his part. He couldn't resist drinking he should have just walked away whenever someone is calling him for a drink" brother

"Whenever I'm here, I don't see him around because he's at the bar. I rarely eat with him. That is the problem when you're addicted to alcohol, so it's better not to try. " He continued.

While listening I saw a drop of blood in front of me. I just wiped it up. Then I can feel like I have to blow my nose. When I was about to blow it I noticed that there is blood in my hand. Little did I know I was having a nosebleed. They saw me walking fast towards the restroom.

"That's good. Just let it out. That can help you loosen up and can help your temperature go down" I just heard him say.

Maybe because of my fever and stress about last night that's why I am experiencing this I said in my mind. This is my very first time to experience nosebleed.

After we're done eating, my uncle came from the hospital to pick us up. I picked a pair of my husband's clothes and also a pair of mine then we went to the hospital right away. While going to the hospital all of us are quite, no one's talking.

......

At the hospital.....

I feel like I just wanted to stay in the car. I don't know but I was not ready to see his family. I am really scared. Are they blaming what just happened to me? Will they able to understand my side if I explain? Even though I'm not comfortable stepping out of the car, I still did. When I first saw them at the parking lot they looked so bothered, stressed, tired, and sleepy.

His mom leads us the way to his room. It was my first time going to the hospital, so I was just so amazed at how big and wide it is. When we went inside all I see is a lot of people of different ages. Some are in the bed, some are just in the hallway.

When we went inside his room. All of them looked at me, his parents, his siblings, and the other patient too. I look terrified.

I hid at his brothers back because I don't want him to see me, and I am not ready to see him too. All I can see is him, eating and his mother is helping him. His left foot is elevated and his wearing the hospital gown. His left foot is covered I can't see what happened to his feet. We are all quite until his sister requested if we can see his foot. When they lift the cover-up, I wanted to cry.

All I can see is there is a lot of metal stuck on his foot. I wiped my tear and trying to keep myself from crying. I know that hurts a lot. But he has to endure the pain. We are all quite again after a while and just staring at his feet. His mom asked for his clothes and I gave it to her, she's sitting beside Adam but I didn't look Adam in the eye. I am so scared, nervous, and just wanted to cry. I wanted to leave the room because watching his foot stuck in metal hurts me a lot. I just wanted to vanish or kill myself because of conscience but I didn't do it.

My husband needs me. I should stay strong and don't let my feeling take over my mind I said on my mind.

Because his family didn't sleep all night they have to go home too and take a nap so as his wife I have to look after him. It feels so awkward when they all left and just the two of us alone. I keep staring at my phone because I don't want to look at him. None of us are talking. I don't want to start the conversation because I don't want to cry so I waited for him to talk first.

"Are you okay? He asked

"Hmm. How about you?"

"I am okay...." he said

A moment of silence again.

"I'm sorry," he said in a soft voice.

"Sorry for what? " I asked. I wanted to cry when I hear his sorry. I really do but I can't since someone is watching us from the other bed. I just wiped my tears. And now I can see him trying his best not to cry.

"I'm sorry I was so stubborn. I'm sorry I didn't get back to you as soon as possible. I'm sorry that I drank again. Im sorry to make you suffer like this." he said wiping his tears using his gown.

"I'm sorry too because I get mad at you and didn't even answer your call. I am sorry that I don't have enough patience. I know I'm wrong, please forgive me..." I said as I hid my face of my clothes because I can't stop my tears from falling.

"I forgave you, coz you are my wife and I love you. Will you please forgive me too?"

"Of course I forgave you, what matters is we know our mistakes. I love you" I said as we hold each other hand tightly.

Being a married person takes a lot of effort and understanding. If you are a short-tempered person, you have to have more patience to understand your partner. You have to adapt to each other to have that perfect relationship goal. Let God be the center of your relationship as they say.

Knowing God is a blessing for me. He heard my prayers and He helps us no matter what. I am very blessed to have a family and have in-laws who believe that God knows everything. You just have to trust him and believe in his power. I really want to say thank you for my parents for growing me up like this and for letting them engraved in my heart that when a problem comes, just seek the help of God. He is always right beside us and helps us, only if we call Him.

"God won't give you a trial in life which he knew you can't carry."

I wanted to add pictures but my husband doesn't want to, so sorry. ✌️😅

Thank you for reading. I will end it here for now. I am going to make another one about our journey to the hospital and the ups and downs while he is recovering. Have a great day. Adios!

4
$ 0.00
Avatar for zzhie29
3 years ago

Comments

The trials you go through are not bigger than you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

As a saying goes, "God gives the toughest battles to his strongest warriors" :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Totally agree. Thanks for reading. :) :) :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope that u will live long with your hasbent

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago