Preventing my cats from pxxping in the garden

0 54
Avatar for zulfrontado
1 month ago
Topics: Cat, Garden, Life, Blog, Writing, ...

Hello, dear friend of Read Cash!

Having cats is a blessing, but when you have a garden and they are small, they love to do things to our plants that we don't want.

Especially because they look for loose soil to do their business. In my case, I usually move my plants and the soil so that they are better. So there is always loose soil available that they use without my permission.

This has been a headache for me, because cat feces contain ammonia, something that damages plants, preventing them from developing properly. In turn, ammonia prevents plants from bearing fruit.

It happened to me last year. My tomato plants did not bear fruit, and died from the ammonia. I couldn't stop my cats from doing their business in the garden. The same thing also happened with several plants.

From that moment, I decided to start investigating, to avoid this problem.

Scolding them worked only temporarily. So I had to look for a definitive solution.


Branches with spikes.

I found a video on YouTube of a gardener who, like me, has cats at home.

His definitive solution was to use rose stems in the place where the cat deposits its feces. The cat will not approach this because it will not be exposed to harm.

Cats are very intelligent animals, so they avoid unnecessary danger, just like quills.

After watching the video I applied it at home. I didn't have rose stems, because I haven't managed to grow them yet. But, it did have branches from the lemon trees that we had pruned a few months ago.

It is a material with resistance, and quite notable spikes. I was able to cut some, but not all because it could hurt me.

And place them in specific places.

To my surprise, it worked.


Wooden boards.

I saw that there were no longer small clumps of cat feces in my garden. But, in the places where the spikes were not, they were.

I couldn't find anything to do anymore. Until an interesting idea came.

Cover the soil around the plants with wooden boards.

And it worked.

There was no land to dig. Plus the wood decomposes, adding natural nutrients to the soil. And it lasts a long time.

An important fact is that the wood must have time outdoors, in the sun and rain, before being used on our plants. This is because it has components that can be harmful when it is freshly extracted from the trees.


This does not work

I have tried other methods, but they have not worked for me, so I am going to tell you about some that are not very effective. However, you can try them if you want. Because every cat is different.

  • Merjurjes of orange, garlic, and aromatic plants. They had an effect for a few hours, and then it stopped working. In addition to this, it requires constantly making these merjurjes, which can be tedious.

  • Scold them. It is a little complicated sometimes for them to understand the reason why you are scolding them. On the other hand, this can affect your mood.

  • Place leaves. It doesn't work, they mistake it for dirt suitable for pooping.


These have been my tried and tested methods. If you know someone else, you can share it in the comments, so we can all learn from each other.


Cover made in Canva by me based on my photographs. Text and photos by me.


The funds raised in Read Cash will be used to sterilize my cats Gatina and Carrot. I am carrying out a support campaign, you can read it in the following post:

Love of cats: Let's sterilize Gatina and Carrot, join the campaing

5
$ 0.10
$ 0.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Unity
Avatar for zulfrontado
1 month ago
Topics: Cat, Garden, Life, Blog, Writing, ...

Comments