Dragon Flower: New Flowers, New Beginnings

2 46
Avatar for zulfrontado
7 months ago

Hello dear Read Cash friend!

Last night while watering the plants I realized that my little cats had broken one of the arms of this curious plant. Remove it from its place and place it in a higher one. They are small cats, they usually play, run and explore, so you have to look for simple solutions: Place her in the highest place in the garage.

I thought about planting the broken part of the plant in the morning. However, I had not realized what an interesting find I would find in the morning.

A flower. Her first flower. A beautiful flower in a burgundy tone. One of my favorite colors. With its rough appearance, as if it were the skin of some reptile. I thought it was different from all the flowers I have had in my garden in my life, and very pretty.

This plant started as a small green stem, which came as a gift from my mother along with another plant. Its existence was not noticeable, until I saw something different and discovered that there were two species of plants in the pot. I separated them to observe their growth.

For a while I thought that maybe it was always going to be like this, a green stalk. I liked it, until little brown bumps started appearing. I didn't touch them, I didn't know what they were about. Little by little, a green arm emerged from that brown lump. My plant started to look different, I liked it, I am happy to see these slight changes.

It continued to grow sideways with new arms. So far, two of them have fallen due to the cats' bodies rubbing against each other. When I planted the first one, it started growing quickly, so I didn't hesitate to plant the second one.

With all this history, I wanted to investigate the name of this plant. Yes, until now, I did not consider having a photo that Google Images could capture.

Plant Taxonomic Data

  • Kingdom: Plantae

  • Phylum or division: Tracheophyta

  • Class: Magnoliopsida

  • Order: Gentianales

  • Family: Asclepiadaceae

  • Gender: Huernia

  • Species: Huernia macrocarpa

  • Scientific name: Huernia macrocarpa Schweinf. former K. Schum

  • Scientific name reference: http://www.theplantlist.org/tpl1.1/record/kew-2854649

Information extracted from UNAM Open Data Portal University Collections

With one of my photographs I was able to identify the name, photos, and interesting facts. The huernia macrocarpa, also called dragon flower or fingers, is a plant native to the African continent, it is part of the succulents, and can measure up to 9 centimeters high, as well which is ideal for you, in case you like small plants.

According to the documents I found on Google, it does not adapt well to cold climates, because it requires sunlight. Which reminds me that a few years ago I had one, which I abused a little by watering it, so it rotted.

This makes me think that I should not do the same with this plant, as well as, I have to look for a place where it receives direct sunlight.

Barcelona, the city where I live, is an ideal place for her, due to the extreme hot climate. I have also observed that it has adapted well to the climate, which I consider very positive.

Another thing I saw along with the new flower is that the stem holding it is heavy due to the number of arms, so it will probably fall off at any moment. So I will take advantage of it to have a new plant.

The propagation or reproduction of this plant, as you will see, is by cuttings.

Apparently, I will need a slightly larger pot. Meanwhile I will take advantage of one of the two fallen arms to give to a friend.

Thank you for reading!



My community at Read Cash, I speak Spanish!


I love writing, and taking photographs, so here I leave you other places where I also write with a lot of love.

Blogs:

✒️Read Cash | ✒️Hive Blog | ✒️Blurt Blog


Vlogs (video platforms):

✒️Youtube | ✒️TikTok | ✒️Rumble


My newsletter in Telegram (Spanish)


My book (Spanish):

✒️My book on Wattpad: Crimson Skin


And here are my social networks:

✒️Fan page on Facebook | ✒️Instagram | ✒️Twitter

2
$ 0.10
$ 0.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for zulfrontado
7 months ago

Comments

Love it ❤️

$ 0.00
7 months ago

Thank you!❤️

$ 0.00
7 months ago