Twilight zone again?

7 38
Avatar for zolabundance2
6 months ago

There is a vivid memory that I once shared here. I refer to it as a 'Twilight Zone' moment. (Read: Time Lost)

Though it happened many years ago, it remains an unforgettable incident and each time I recall that story, I can see it clearly in my mind as it unfolded.

Late last week, I had another experience that would rate as a 'Twilight Zone' story.

On my drive to work, I always pray the Holy Rosary. It takes about 15 minutes to get to the office and I can complete an average of three mysteries in that time. (I pray the Latin version so can't zip through my Hail Mary's).

From the parking garage to the office is another few minutes walk so I try to get to the Glory Be... and Fatima Prayer before knocking.

Usually, I am alone in the elevator, which allows me to continue praying. This time, I had company, a guy who pushed the Penthouse button. I hit 12. With no stops in between, it's a quick ride.

Somewhere around the 6th or 7th floor, the elevator shakes a bit. It jolted me but I continued mentally reciting my prayers. There is usually a 'ding' when you get to your floor. I didn't hear any, but the doors slid open and I got off.

This is where it happened...

I am certain I saw the sign 12th floor as I stepped out of the elevator. I walk five steps and turn left; this long hallway is before me.

Then I noticed that the doors were different from the ones I always pass by as I walked to the end of the hallway (the office is the last door at the end).

Since I was still going through my Hail Marys, I did not pay attention to the numbers on the doors on each side of me. But in my head, something was not right. They were all different from the ones that I pass by.

I get to the end of the hallway and look down the fire escape to finish the fourth mystery before I knock on the door that was supposed to be our office. I remember frowning because it was a different color.

This strange lady opens the door, and I look inside and see it is totally different from our office!

I get jolted and apologize that I was at the wrong door. She didn't say anything nor look puzzled.

That's when it finally hit me that I was on the 14th floor!!!

I make my way back to the elevator and hurriedly take the stairs down.

Of course, it was baffling and scary. No one pushed the button for the 14th floor. There was only me and the other guy who was headed to the Penthouse.

Did it happen when the car shook as we passed the 6th floor?

It was spooky!!! Spookier still was my seemingly being in a trance that I never realized I was on a different floor even when I noticed everything was different.

Everything just snapped back to reality when that lady I did not know opened the door and I saw it was a totally different office.

How did that happen? Why didn't it register in my consciousness that I was on the wrong floor even when I was already looking at the doors and knew they were different?

Had I been concentrating too much on reciting the Rosary that's why I did not realize something was off?

Now, I get the shudders each time I board that same elevator because it brings back memories of being on the wrong floor.

Photos: Unsplash

3
$ 0.06
$ 0.05 from @Bjorn
$ 0.01 from @Pichi28
Sponsors of zolabundance2
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for zolabundance2
6 months ago

Comments

ooh that's a halloween story there...

$ 0.00
4 months ago

But it was not Halloween!!!! hahaha. I work too hard so my mind is not in the right space.

Nice to hear from you and thanks for the upvote.

$ 0.00
4 months ago

Ohhh definitely spooky that the elevator shook and dropped you off the wrong floor.

You know I listen to the Spanish rosary prayers just so I can be familiar with the language but until now I still have not memorized any words. haha. (I'm learning the language) I also play the Latin version when I'm at home.

$ 0.00
5 months ago

I find it more soothing when I recite the Rosary in Latin, and it makes me focus more on the prayers, maybe because it is in a language I am not used to speaking.

$ 0.00
5 months ago

Yeah it does sound nice.

$ 0.00
5 months ago

Speaking of the five mysteries of the rosary. I have been in time when i have to recite it because I had to. No, I didn't enter into the seminary nor to have a previledge to study in a catholic school. I was just born poor that my parents really believed in the mysteries of Jesus Christ to save us. I was a little boy back then.

Moving on with your topic, I have experienced it sometime in the past when I was young and free. Somehow it makes me believe that there is an alternate reality or that we are living in a simulation. It's just that our mind is so limited that we can not comprehend why it happened and left us puzzled with no explanation of the event.

$ 0.01
6 months ago

First, thanks for the upvote! And for dropping by. I really appreciate it.

Is the Holy Rosary still significant in your life now? I find it calms me down, and it is my go-to when I am upset. But I do pray it, daily, as much as I can, if only to hold me steady and remember all that Christ had been through.

Perhaps, there is an alternate reality that we happen to jump into every now and then and should be open to those experiences, instead of being creeped out.

$ 0.00
5 months ago