The belting lesson

13 54
Avatar for zolabundance2
2 years ago

It was in the Bronze Age when people first started to wear belts. That would be around 3300 and 1200 BCE (before the common era).

It is uncertain if there were already belts made of leather at that time. Most were simply made of a cord or string, and was primarily utilitarian rather than for fashion.

Most obviously, the early belts were for the purpose of securing lower garments, and as is now, were tied at the waist.

Eventually, men found them useful to hold weapons or equipment. Women, on the other hand, discovered belts could accentuate their breasts when fastened below the torso. So that would have been the start of its being used for fashion.

During the dark ages and renaissance period, belts became a symbol of status when they started decorating them.

For a while, belts were replaced by suspenders. This was during the time when high-waist trousers were the style.

It was in the 1930s when belts made a comeback and it was also around this period when buckles and belt loops were introduced.

The wider belts, up to five inches, were coming into fashion. The 60s saw belts coming down from the waist to the hips. Width, color and materials became varied, including metal belts.

The leather belts took over between the 70s to the 90s. And they became thinner. From then on, utilitarian belts took on the appearance that is more familiar today, using leather or leatherette material and with buckles.

From Unsplash

The evolution of belts is quite interesting. And looking back, yes, it would have started from cords or strings.

So, why belts?

Dad has been gone for three years. While most of his stuff have been sorted out and given away, there are two belts still hanging in my parents' bathroom.

They're in the exact same place they've been since he suffered a stroke.

My father has always been a belt-wearing man. I mean, I've never seen him wear trousers without belt loops, ergo, he was always with a belt.

I remember a time when his girth expanded so he needed new belts. I think even when he didn't need to wear them because his pants were hardly slipping, he still did.

Habit, I guess. He's been used to wearing one ever since... So, that was always among the gift choices for his birthday or Christmas. I know he used to own three belts and would use them alternately to match his trousers.

The thing is he loves the ones he has and won't replace them until these are worn out and the leather cracked.

Belts for discipline

Now, because Dad always has belts, it goes without saying they came in handy for punishment.

Yes, I do recall having received lashings from Dad's belt a time or two. And while I forget the offense, I do remember my Dad only used his belt as a last recourse because what I did was really bad.

No, I don't think he whipped me hard enough to leave welts on the back of my thighs or butt. And no, because you never know when that punishment is going to be used so I can never stuff newspaper or cardboard on my behind to soften the blow.

I do know Dad or Mom didn't use belting lightly and that they would rather not. Maybe a slap on the hand or the butt or a really painful pinch was it to remind me and my sisters to behave or that what we did was wrong.

And while I've been on the receiving end of such forms of punishment, I never resented or hated my folks for doing that.

See, it really was just meant to teach a lesson and instill discipline. It was never because they didn't love me or just wanted to inflict pain.

Because of that, I think I turned out pretty well. I've never had disciplinary issues in school. I've never been in big fights with other children. And obedience was ingrained in me.

That's what such form of punishments are meant for. I now understand that they do help keep a child in line and helps them grow up to be disciplined, obedient and respectful.

Not to hurt kids

However, I am against using belts or sticks or wooden spoons and whatever household equipment is available to heavily whack a child with because of some wrong they committed.

All the kid will remember is the pain and agony and shame, especially if they ended up bruised or wounded because of the heavy-handed punishment inflicted on them. Any lesson meant to teach them would fly out the window!

But these days there are laws against spanking or even pinching kids when they do commit a wrongdoing. And kids can up and complain about their parents even with just a threat of spanking!

So what do we have? Children who can get away with bad behavior. Or children whose mental health is compromised because parents just resort to shouting and name-calling and criticizing instead of just one fast whack to tell a kid don't do it again.

Dad's old belts.

Proverbs 19:18 says: "Discipline your children while they are young enough to learn. If you don't, you are helping them destroy themselves."

Don't beat your kids black and blue to teach them a lesson. That is wrong. But make them see what they did was not right, not acceptable. If it takes a soft whack or a pinch, it shouldn't harm them. But the shame of doing wrong will stay and they'll hopefully avoid doing it again.

Children need to understand parental authority. Sometimes, if you can't make them behave or stop with a look, a quick whack can help. It's just sending them message.

I associate belts with my Dad. But not because I remember any belt lashing from him. I knew it made him feel just as bad using it on me. But it straightened me out. And I will always be grateful to him for that.

Lead image: Unsplash

6
$ 4.03
$ 3.85 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @MizLhaine
+ 2
Sponsors of zolabundance2
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for zolabundance2
2 years ago

Comments

I have never used a belt, not would use it in the future to discipline my kid. Why? Because I was raised that way. It had caused me so many anger issues and anxiety and led me to depression as I grew older. My dad was a good father, yet a "very" strict man. A pretty little mistake means belt on my legs until the belt breaks. I couldn't walk in pain, it's ridiculous. I advocate good strong discipline, especially for a child. I, however, also advocate that abuse not be tolerated in any form.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Breaking the belt? That's overdoing it. And I don't think it does any good for the child, except make them resent a parent.

Belting a child is really a last recourse for a very big offense. If you've done right raising your kids to know what not to do, or to be remorseful for the wrong they did, there would absolutely be no need to use that form of punishment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes po, as in I was crawling to death.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope you will get over this trauma. And I completely understand why you feel the way you do about punishing your child with this method.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Getting there. I have been seeing psychiatrists when I was a lil younger. But when I see ppl hurting ppl, it triggers. I only want love and peace hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can only begin to imagine how you feel when you witness such situations. Praying you will finally be healed soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, sis. I do appreciate it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can say that i have undergone an intense disciplinary action from my parents but not even once from my father. I never experienced be beaten by belt. It was my mother who took charge of disciplining us and my four siblings and it was more than just belting. A solid fire wood or (2x2).

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yikes, dos por dos! That'll really teach you. But try doing that to kids today and you'll likely end up in jail...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, did I get a lot of painful punishment with my father's belt. It bruised my legs. It didn't do him any good. It was childish things I did but he never explained to me why the fury of the belt. In my school I never misbehaved, I was always a model child in behavior. Maybe because of fear of my father's leash. But at home I was terrible with my siblings.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Belting usually came with words, before or after the lashing, just so we knew why it was being done. And the lessons stuck.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Proverbs 19:18 says: "Discipline your children while they are young enough to learn. If you don't, you are helping them destroy themselves." Plan to send that quote to my brother for him to discipline his kids and yes it is important that kids be disciplined as early as the parents can. i like that proverb that actually though my dad didn't use any lashing to discipline me back then :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sometimes, it's really not necessary to use spanking or belting to discipline children. Those who follow by example often realize their mistakes quickly and are repentant or remember to behave better. So, I guess, whatever your parents used on you worked and they didn't see the need to spank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago