Rambling when not feeling well

8 35
Avatar for zolabundance2
2 years ago
Topics: Home, Medical

Let me get this out of the way, not because it is a bother, but lest I forget to be grateful... @Pichi28 I am humbled by your continued generosity! And to all my sponsors, I hope I've properly acknowledged you!

What's worse than having the sniffles? Having a very bad canker sore (in Filipino it is called 'singaw') located under the tongue! As it is, excreting mucus is already terribly inconvenient, especially when you have to do it so often to prevent a buildup. But each time I do that means a tongue movement that will chafe the sore! Ouch! And double ouch!

While I'm no stranger to canker sores (I seem to have a habit of biting my tongue every so often, although it's been quite some time since I last did) this one is kinda severe. Perhaps 2 - 3 millimeters in diameter? Imagine that! If I can guesstimate its size, then it must be huge, right?

I do remember suddenly chomping on my tongue for no apparent reason, but I didn't expect the result to be this bad. So, eating has become quite excruciating and takes away the enjoyment of food. Between excretions and chewing, it is energy sapping.

Before I get suggestions to up my vitamin C intake and put something on the sore to soothe it, let me say I've already been doing that. 3,000 mg of Sodium Ascorbate (24 Alkaline C is very good), plus lemon and honey in warm water every day, and Hyssop Oil for application.

It is a bit tedious to apply the oil and soak the sore because of course there is the matter of oral fluids and water, which I have to rinse my mouth with each time I spit. I just finally managed to eat soggy Korean noodles (easier to swallow that way) for my breakfast at 2:30 PM because it was the only time my stomach was already grumbling and my mouth could take a bit of beating when I chew or swallow.

Here's hoping the sore will heal by tomorrow. And more hope that the mucus I seem to keep producing (it's really the shifting temperatures with mornings very, very cold) will finally stop.

It doesn't help that every day the number of COVID infections is jumping 30 to 50 percent more than the previous day because you begin to think what if I was infected with the dreaded virus. So, I've had to keep monitoring my oxygen level with a pulse oximeter just for good measure. And deep breathing does a lot of wonders, too.

Still, I am grateful and blessed. There is no chest congestion even with mucus production. And listening with a stethoscope, my lungs are clear (no wheezing or whistling).

Yes, six months of caring for my bed-ridden father taught me to listen to these kinds of stuff, at least on a very basic level. Doctors were kind enough to guide me then to know what I should and should not hear with auscultation.

I feel sad for healthcare staff manning hospitals. The facilities are becoming overwhelmed again with COVID patients. And many are already understaffed. I really hope that something will be done to ensure nurses, allied healthcare staff, and doctors get the remuneration they deserve for the service that they render.

Imagining hospitals with just a skeletal staff because everyone else quit is a nightmare. And for the healthcare personnel who choose to stay and continue looking after patients even at great risk and with a pittance for pay, I salute you.

I know, you'd rather that the powers that be see you as human beings with needs like everyone else, than heroes who put their life on the line but don't even receive salaries and benefits equal to the hard work you perform day-in and day-out. For now, I can only pray this happens before it is too late and the healthcare system collapses.

There are so many topics I want to write about, so many thoughts swirling in my head, but it must be the clogged nose that's slowing me down. Here's hoping I get better in a day or two.

For now, am praying for everyone's safety and well-being. It's been a tough two years, and we're not out of the woods yet. Let's get our acts together to really beat this invisible enemy.

Be safe everyone!

Images are Original

9
$ 8.26
$ 7.99 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pichi28
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 4
Sponsors of zolabundance2
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for zolabundance2
2 years ago
Topics: Home, Medical

Comments

Awts, singaw is such a bummer. I do not feel like eating when I have this hence, making me feel weak.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, it is a bummer. I am now able to eat, slowly and smaller portions. But it is still hurts!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haloo 👋👍 Wah. Do get well sis zola! Huhu.

Almost everyone I know have at least the sniffles. Ouch for the sore hope it gets healed soon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Get well!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ouch. That would surely hurt! Feel better, zola!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Such soars can be so uncomfortable. But what is the cause exactly?

Hey, I'm new on the platform.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I bit my tongue rather hard and instead of a wound, because of moisture from saliva, it turns into a sore.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aw,sorry. I think that could be a sort of bacteria infection.

$ 0.00
2 years ago