On your feet...Salute!

8 38
Avatar for zolabundance2
2 years ago

Got up at 6:00 AM and it was 10 o'clock by the time I was finally able to sit down. Yup, four hours on my feet. Wow! And my lower back is now stiff and aching, as are my legs and feet. Did I not sit down in that span of time? Probably a total of five minutes, in spurts.

I prepared tortang talong (eggplant omelet) and never thought to do anything sitting down. It was so much easier to move about and do what needs doing while standing up. If I sit, I'd have to push the chair away to get up or pull the seat in when I sit. Minor inconveniences, I know, but it was more practical given I was doing several tasks at the same time.

On the positive side, maybe I got in enough exercise just moving about. I did sweat a lot and since I worked outside, I got my dose of Vitamin D (the sun was right on my face before it finally disappeared among the clouds and rain fell).

Multi-tasking

Between grilling the eggplants, chopping carrots, potatoes, and onions to mix with the eggplant, and cooking probably took all of two hours total. In between, there were other chores that needed to be done, including hanging the laundry out to dry while the sun was out, and though mundane tasks still needed to be taken cared of.

I could have gotten a reprieve had I sat down to eat, but instead I opted to eat standing as I watched over the omelets cooking. Very bad habit, I know, and one I rarely do. But I wanted it over and done with, ready to be eaten by whomever.

So between all those tasks, I was up on my feet for several hours and now my legs are super tired.

Standing jobs

Which made me think of all those people whose occupations or jobs required them to be on their feet for very long stretches of time. Hospital workers, particularly nurses, factory workers, sales clerks, dishwashers, traffic enforcers, and street sweepers come to mind.

Back-breaking work

I guess it wouldn't be as tedious if a lot of moving around was involved. I'm thinking I could walk for two hours or more and my lower extremities might not feel as stiff as they do now. But just standing up for several hours straight can be a killer!

Even then I was walking here and there, although very short distances, but since it involved a lot of just standing up, that's when fatigue kicked in. (Maybe it had to do with age, too? *boink*)

Imagine someone working in a bakery, kneading tons of dough to be made into bread. Kneading is already back-breaking work, then couple that with standing in just one place. Of course, the baker can move about in the limited workspace, but soreness and stiffness will naturally set in when a body part is in one position for an extended period.

Menial work, small pay

Yes, the body adapts when doing the same thing over and over again, day in day out. So over time, the legs get used to the prolonged standing but I have no doubt it will still hurt or feel sore after several hours.

The sad part is that most of these people are only paid minimum wage. Some would probably just be contractual workers, not regular employees, so they have limited or no benefits and would likely be daily wage earners which means no work, no pay.

So why wouldn't they aspire for better jobs, ones that won't beat their bodies on a daily basis and pay better?

Would I mind working such jobs? As long as it's decent work and will be worth my while, why not? Besides, if I really needed a job because I was at the end of my rope and have bills to pay, what would be so bad taking on such kind of work.

And if there's anything I've learned over time when it comes to work, it's always best to give it my 100 percent, however menial or mundane the tasks I need to perform. I owe it to myself and whoever I am working for to give my best.

Learning on the job

At the same time, I take the opportunity to learn as much as I can about the business and all its aspects so I can step in to help when necessary.

I remember a conversation with my nephew who was getting ready for OJT in senior high. He said one of the guidelines to participant-employers was that they shouldn't be given menial tasks like making coffee, or photocopying because it wasn't going to add to their experience.

That had my eyebrows shooting to the roof. Apparently, schools don't see any value in performing menial tasks to require that it be stricken off the list of things a trainee can be asked to do.

I beg to disagree. By making and serving coffee to bosses, you can learn so many things, whether about the business, industry, or life in general. It's a matter of showing curiosity and interest and a little knowledge. You can actually progress from making coffee or doing messengerial work if you show initiative, resourcefulness, and willingness to learn.

Nurses on their feet the whole shift

Besides, it's always a humbling and enriching experience to work from the bottom and make your way to the top. Aside from having a grasp of all that goes on in a business, it gives you authority to ask an underling to do something, however menial, because you yourself can do that job. In other words, never ask someone to do something you yourself cannot do, unless it is something highly specialized or technical.

So, let me just take my hat off to every individual working a job that has them on their feet the whole day or most of the day, and say I am in awe of you. Just continue to strive to improve your circumstance and by God's grace something better will come along.

Images from Unsplash

6
$ 1.78
$ 1.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @emily2u
$ 0.03 from @MizLhaine
+ 2
Sponsors of zolabundance2
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for zolabundance2
2 years ago

Comments

I also admire those people who worked hard, standing for more than 8 hours, and they have a menial pay. My salute to them. By the way, I really like tortang talong.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I tried cooking the torta without the stem, and mixed in the grilled eggplant with the potatoes and carrots which I sauted first. So, it came out like a patty. Delicious!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also admire those people, it is strong to be on your feet all day... but my friend, a question, don't your feet swell if you are sitting all day?... that happens to me, my feet swell... it would be interesting if you did an article about it, I would like to read it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are very hard jobs that are paid quite badly. It is difficult to work all day in construction, or in a hospital treating people with covid to cite an example, and not be well rewarded, especially if we take into account that there are jobs that hardly contribute anything and the salary at the end of the month it is very high.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah yes, construction has even more challenges and rarely pays decent wages considering the risks and hazards of the job.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Came across your short post, so I searched through my notifications. Yes, I was alerted of you publishing a new post some 6 hours ago. I guess things are slow simply 'cos it's Sunday? But I noticed that Randy's not been kind to me lately.

Regarding your article, I have known of even heirs to large businesses were made to work from the bottom, not necessarily doing "menial" tasks, but working at the lower level to learn how the business works on a day-to-day basis, in order to understand how everything is being run. This is in preparation of them one day taking over the operations.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, it is a big help understanding the business from the bottom, not necessarily the menial, if you are children or heirs of the owner. And it is only right to learn how everything gets done if you will one day take over operations and have the responsibility of making the enterprise sustain or surpass its achievements. Thanks for dropping by!

And yeah, Rusty has been more absent in recent days.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah!!!! I keep calling Rusty Randy because I have been corrupted by someone who miscalled the robot in my comments one time! Now it's stuck in my mind, or perhaps fingers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago