On-the-job training: Best learning experience

0 30
Avatar for zolabundance2
2 years ago

At 18, I took a leave from school after completing my second year of college. My reason for stopping may sound flimsy but I think I really needed to do it then so I can do better moving forward. Somehow, my parents didn't throw a fit when I told them I wouldn't be enrolling for the semester.

So how would I occupy my time without studies to keep me busy? With house help around, there was little to do by way of chores. Fortunately, my mother had a small enterprise - bag-making. And the workshop was right within our premises.

First job

I could help with non-sensitive tasks. Besides, I liked hanging out with the workers, who were like family to us. It seemed like a good proposition. There was no need to commute, or dress up. And I had something to occupy my time productively.

There was also a standing order of several hundred convention satchels with a deadline in the next few weeks. There were only three other people working on the project, so I was a welcome hand.

My tasks consisted of applying rugby on little pieces of material that would be used for piping, the flaps, etc. I later progressed to hammering the pieces together, then helping get parts ready for sewing. It was tedious work, because it was manual intensive and the volume. But because of the company, I enjoyed it and learned plenty from the experience.

I was completely surprised when mom paid me for the labor once the order was completed. Can't remember how much, but it was a joyous occasion! Like earning my first paycheck. And I didn't even expect to get paid.

From that experience, I learned about diligence, teamwork, perfection, following instructions, and how to stay awake beyond midnight because of a deadline you had to meet.

Part-time work

There was no other big job order after that, and the workers were enough to complete whatever other small orders there were. In short, my help was not necessary.

Shortly thereafter, Mom surprised me when she said a friend, who was one of her suppliers of indigenous materials, needed a girl Friday. Would I be interested? The office was in far off Ermita, Manila. She needed a lot of odds and ends done and didn't have anyone to do it.

Among my many tasks was to write the labels of these products, and help seal them ready for distribution or sale.

The lady boss is a spinster, very strict, and with super high standards when it comes to work. You didn't have to be intelligent (that was a plus, however), but she was particular about having common sense and using it, as well as initiative and resourcefulness.

I guess I passed all her stringent requirements. Even better, she appreciated that I was fluent in English and could keep toe-to-toe with her. And I think what she liked most is that I wasn't afraid of her! Me, an 18-year-old, not afraid even when she raised her voice or went on a rant.

She was a meticulous person, very organized, extremely intelligent, and had so much passion for whatever it is she was doing or wanted to do, whether it was to create cakes, develop jams, write a book or search for the most unique of indigenous materials to be used for crafts.

And much of my work ethic, I later realized, came from watching and listening to her. It was getting an education outside of school, and I learned so much from my time spent with her.

Valuable mentor

It was also because of the opportunity she gave that I learned to somehow be financially independent. When I went back to school the next semester, I continued to work for her part-time on days I had no classes and Saturdays. So I was still receiving a salary from her. Somehow, it didn't seem right to ask my parents for allowance when I started attending classes again.

I am forever grateful to her for all that she taught me - about food, textile, organization, business, and life. In part, she helped mold me to be the worker I eventually became, as well as further developing my leadership skills.

Photo credit: Lead image: Lang Dulay Weaving Center T'Nalak House facebook page

2
$ 0.00
Sponsors of zolabundance2
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for zolabundance2
2 years ago

Comments