Back to writing 3

3 26
Avatar for zolabundance2
6 months ago

It feels like two years since I last posted anything here. (But it's only just one) How time flies.

Work happened. It has taken a lot of my energy. It's kept me busy. Writing some. Editing mostly. Producing podcasts. And a whole lot of other stuff that I didn't think I actually signed up for. But...

I am not complaining. After years of doing freelance work where I had no boss, no co-workers, and no office (and sometimes no tasks and no pay), I have jumped back to regular work life. Well, not totally regular.

If I weren't involved in a special project (which requires reporting to the office 3x a week), I would only be going in for Friday staff meetings. Most of the usual work is done online. But because there's extra work, I am only working from home on Tuesdays.

Sometimes it's good. More peaceful and no distractions. On the other hand, I get to vary what I do at home when I want to take a break from writing and reading.

I do enjoy recordings when we do it at the office studio. It breaks the monotony.

Surprisingly, I am doing a lot of mentoring and guidance. Obviously, most of the people at work are young... at least those who do the grunt work.

I am relieved that while they are aware I am more experienced, they do not hesitate to reach out for advice, whether work-related or personal. Even when I was younger, it has never been difficult for me to relate to people younger than me (including little kids) and those much older than myself.

The challenge is because I am in the 'middle' (age-wise), I have to balance when it comes to being accessible to the kids and seeing things from the point of view of the seniors. It gets tricky sometimes, advocating for the younger staff while making them see it from the elders' perspective.

A lot of the time, I work weekends too. Deadlines, deadlines, deadlines. And I always want to show the kids even when they're the ones assigned with tasks, they can easily reach me, for feedback, decisions, solutions...

It means a lot to them to know they're not 'abandoned'. Besides, I can't... abandon them, I mean. Making sure the final output gets published is my job.

My plate is still full. But maybe I can squeeze in a little time to drop by and share... whatever. It still is good to write something that isn't as structured as news or opinion.

And it would be nice to reconnect to friends here.

2
$ 0.03
$ 0.02 from @gertu13
$ 0.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of zolabundance2
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for zolabundance2
6 months ago

Comments

I don't write all the time but at least I come here once a week. Almost everyone left for Hive. I talk to some of them there. I'll see you around.

$ 0.00
6 months ago

Hive pays more? But I like BCH...

$ 0.00
6 months ago

Hive with time and experience pays more but I agree with you, I really enjoy being here and hearing from old friends. Good to see you here 😃

$ 0.00
6 months ago