A very special gift

4 27
Avatar for zolabundance2
2 years ago

My first introduction to author Og Mandino was through the book "The Gift of Acabar", which he co-wrote with Buddy Kaye. It was the first book I purchased on my own, at a bazaar, using money I saved up.

What drew me to the book? It escapes me now. Perhaps reading that the main character, Tulo, was a writer did. He was but a young boy, yet so full of wisdom. It was easy reading, the story quite simple, the message so profound.

Yes, it made me cry. Still does when I re-read it.

The greatest writing Tulo would leave is not actually his own words, but the ones dictated by the Star Acabar. It is a gift the star wanted to share with the world, and he used Tulo as an instrument.

The gift is a collection of life's simple lessons and is entitled CREDENDA. Many of them perhaps we already are aware of but just don't put into practice. I guess it's because the lessons of old are timeless, and remain relevant and valid today.

They struck me when I first read the book. But they took on a whole new meaning when I reviewed them when I was much, much older.

In the story, there were many conflicts, much like today, but the setting was a very small town. In the end, to settle such conflicts, someone had to make the greatest sacrifice. But not before completing a mission.

Yes, that mission was writing down the Credenda as shared by Star Acabar. And that sacrifice was giving up his life.

While fictional, especially the part about a star falling from the sky to help a young boy and his community, everything else is mostly real life. The setting of the story may be different, but a number of people could relate to Tulo and the circumstances he was faced with.

As good a writer as he was, Tulo had more real life concerns to handle so the writing had to take a back seat. Isn't that something most of us have to grapple with? Our being passionate about something, but because it won't put food on the table we have to forego them?

The first edition of the book. (Original photo)

And Tulo, despite the seemingly insurmountable challenges he faced, wanted to make a difference in this world. What he failed to realize early on was that his purpose in life didn't necessarily have to be something grand to have an impact that will be felt by a lot of people.

In the end, however, giving up his life turned out to be such a huge sacrifice and was the answer to his quest for purpose.

My takeaway from that beautiful story? Each of us has a special gift. And the best way to show our gratitude for such gift is to acknowledge it, and more importantly, to share it with the world. Who knows, we may be touching someone's life with it.

Let me leave you with some of the lessons found in Credenda. But if you can find a copy of that book, please read it. It will, if anything, inspire you even with just one thought.

On HUMILITY:

Avoid boasting. If you see anything in you that puffs you with pride, 
look close and you will find more than enough to make you humble.

FOCUS

Concentrate your energy. To be everywhere is to be nowhere. Be jealous of your time, since it is your greatest treasure.

TRUE PURPOSE

Turn away from the crowd and its fruitless pursuit of fame and gold. 
Never look back as you close your door to the sorry tumult of greed and ambition.
Wipe away your tears of failure and misfortune.
Lay aside your heavy load and rest until your heart is still. Be at peace.
Already it is later than you think, for your earthly life, at best, is only the blink
of an eye between two eternities.

When we can't seem to carry the weight of the world on our shoulders, let us remember all that weight is not always ours to bear. Let the lessons of Credenda live in our hearts, and perhaps, we can find true joy in our lives.

Lead image from Unsplash

5
$ 3.79
$ 3.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @wakeuplincs
$ 0.03 from @gertu13
+ 1
Sponsors of zolabundance2
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for zolabundance2
2 years ago

Comments

I haven't seen you for some time. Hope all is well. Best regards my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You haven't been receiving notifications? Thank you for dropping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No. I thought you weren't writing. I must have accidentally deleted your post. It happened to me. No wonder I repeated it. Sorry if I missed it. But it's good to see you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahhh... so that's why I haven't been seeing you, too. Good to see you again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago